We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Club Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$419
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bedford Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$245
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilbraham Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
278
174
73
24
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
278
174
73
24
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea saltseasalt restaurantslow elevatorwet barpenthouse suitepool barbeach servicepool sidepool stafflounge chairsacross the streetmodern hotelhotel restaurantthe jersey shoreoff seasonsummer monthsfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband & I spent 2 nights at Ocean Club. The property is well cared for, clean and has an overall "cool" feeling. When we arrived at noon, our room was not ready, but we were given our parking tag and were invited to use the amenities. After spending the afternoon by the pool we tried again to check in, however the computers were down. We travel often to Cape May and suggest to the management to check your guests in when they arrive, and ask them to return for the key pick up only. It seems that would be more efficient. Moving on from there, the room is inviting. There is a sitting room when you walk in and the bedroom has the most gorgeous ocean front view ever. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows.The balcony has comfortable chairs and is a great place to relax with a drink before dinner. Ocean Club is a nice addition to the Cape May Hotel scene.

Room Tip: Be sure to request the penthouse oceanfront. The view cannot be beat!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raree18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback! We will certainly incorporate your suggestions wherever possible. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel has been recently renovated and looks good. Rooms are spacious and clean. Bathrooms are a bit small, but are really not a bother unless one plans on spending substantial time in there.

Pool is great for children, as one end is roped off and shallow. The only thing to improve upon in the pool area is the amount of umbrellas- seemed like there were too few.

Staff is friendly, rooms are pleasant and the location is great. The only thing I found "off" in the room is how loud the water pipes are when above rooms use the shower/sink. It was actually abnormally loud.

I would return.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Audi_yes_BMW_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you are able to visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My wife and I have been spending a long weekend in June in Cape May the last five years, having visited numerous times in the past. While staying next door to the Ocean Club last year, we saw some of the final touches being applied to its renovations, and decided to consider giving it a go for this year's visit. SO glad we did!
The lobby's very stylish and modern, but also comfortable and welcoming. The ladies at the front desk welcomed us with smiles and kept us engaged with small talk whle getting us checked in.
Yes, the one elevator can be a little slow, but you're on vacation! At the beach! What's your hurry? We partially solved this problem by just taking the stairs down and saving the elevator for getting back up to the sixth floor.
Had a "Penthouse Floor Side-View King", and it was plenty big for the two of us, with gobs of storage! Between the drawers and the closet, there was enough space for two weeks' worth of "stuff". The bathroom is, as others have mentioned, a little small, but it's laid out comfortably, with a shelf under the sink for whatever you choose to leave in the loo. And the "side view"? Yes, we were, ineeed, on the side of the building, rather than the front, but we enjoyed a full-on open ocean view!
Only spent time at the pool one day, but the pool attendant was friendly and quick, as were the ladies taking food and drink orders. Friday night we stopped at Sea Salt's bar for a cocktail - It happened to be "Latin Night", so they had a really cool band playing. The bartender (Never did get her name) was clearly enjoying the music along with the guests, while perfectly managing the bar. She even knows how to make a GOOD dry Manhattan! After some activities with friends up in Wildwood Saturday night, we returned and visited Sea Salt, with a table in the dining room. Just got a couple apps and a couple rounds, but everything was very good. The service even seemd to have some old-fashioned restaurant training, as evidenced by the re-folded napkin when I returned to the table after I excused myself.
Yeah, it's weird they don't have coffeemakers in most of the rooms, but we picked up a cheapo at Walmart on our way down, bought some coffee and cream at Wawa on the way in to town, and we were all set. Good thing, too, because NOTHING in Cape May seems to open early! i'm usually up by 6 AM, and there's NOWHERE to go at that hour to buy a cuppa and a newspaper without getting in your car sans caffeine and driving to the aforementioned Wawa!
The last shout-out goes to ALL the staff, whether from housekeeping, maintenance, or administration, we ran in to in the halls and the lobby. Not one of them neglected to shoot us a mile and say hello!
The botom line is Ocean Club got it right. Not just in the physical renovations, but also in the people it hired, and the training it gave them! Although we like to try different places on each visit, we may need to break that tradition and return to Ocean Club next year!

Room Tip: Once again, "side view" rooms, particularly on the east side of the building, have awesome ocean views for less $ !
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BermudaBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback! We're so very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you are able to join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I called to make reservations by phone for a family vacation, the man on the phone was nice but when I got the conformation by email, he has booked for the wrong month. When I called to inform him of this he quickly corrected the mistake ,however the price I was quoted was no longer available it had increases $30 per night, I called the day before we left just to confirm our reservations, once again he had us down for the wrong number of guests. I was told check in was at 3, we were traveling 7 hours with a 2 year old and 4 year old so I wanted to make sure we arrived on time to get to the room to unpack,feed the kids, and go to the beach. Upon check in we were told our room wasn't quit ready yet, 45 minutes later with 2 screaming children we got our room. There were several other guests waiting in the lobby in the same situation. The ladies at the front desk were a little on the rude side and offered us nothing! It was so cold that day we couldn't go to the pool or the beach so we were stuck waiting in the lobby. We were also told check in is anytime after 3, so I guess technically they could check us into our room at 7 pm and still not have to accommodate us. This was our first trip to Cape May and we really like it but we will not be staying here again. Oh, and one last note, do not order frome the Sea Salt restaurant!! We ordered a steak and chicken dinner and a kids meal. It came to to $78 dollars that wouldn't be bad if the fries wern't hard as rocks and the chicken was dark meat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, Ocean Club Hotel Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

We are sorry if you were unsatisfied with your stay and/or meal. Please know we take all feedback seriously and use it to help improve upon the property.

Please note the price you were quoted originally was for a different month. The $30 per night perceived to be an increase was actually the rack rate for the time period you desired. We apologize if this was not made clear and for the misunderstanding about your dates.

Our check in is after 3pm and check out is noon. We endeavor to check guests in as close to 3pm as possible, however, as our check out is later than most hotels in Cape May, we sometimes need some additional time to prepare rooms. We apologize if you found your wait time to be excessive.

We are pleased you found Cape May to your liking and hope you return to the Ocean Club Hotel at some point to witness the fruits of your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Ocean Club Hotel is appropriately named as it felt more like a "Club" than the feel of a Hotel ! Just to qualify...I have vacationed to all but 2 Caribbean Islands though the years. Short on vacation time this year, Cape May was an easy drive and new place to explore for my "Girls" getaway with my 2 daughters in their 20's.

Upon arrival we first met "Topi" the Bartender at the " Tiki " bar alongside the beautiful heated pool. One laugh after another - his NY humor and smile became contagious which set the mood for the days to come! Ask him anything but be prepared for the TRUTH in response ! His delivery is hysterical!

Then we met Nick - the owner who was mingling among the crowd at the "Tiki Bar" to assess whether the services and amenities were meeting our needs during our stay! Where else can you go to experience that? He was genuinely concerned with the quality of every service that the hotel was providing! We actually told him to "lighten up" ! LOL He aims to please all !

Needless to say the service was NY style impeccable! From lunch service poolside/to daily maid service/ to my Dublin porter buddy who never missed a beat in carrying everything for us/
to the restaurant where my water glass never went below 1/2 full !

After a quick massage,some beach time across the street and a yoga class, we were anxious for a GOOD meal ! We had already eaten at some of the recommended quirky places in town that had this or that. The food was mediocre in those places. We were stumped where to get a savory delicate,memorable meal, until we met "Chef Lou" again at the "Tiki" bar during HIS time out to mingle among the guests! Of course he recommended his very own "Sea Salt " restaurant within the Ocean Club Hotel. He was a nice guy but we remained somewhat skeptical (a NJ thing) about this recommendation. Well, as it turned out, The Braised Lamb was fork tender and the savory sauce was mouth watering! My daughter with a very developed palate had the red snapper with a pea risotto that was uniquely incredible; the other plain eating daughter had the chicken that was prepared to make your savory glands crave more! SERIOUSLY, I thought that I was at "La Vie en Rose" restaurant in Marigot, St. Martin, BWI again. This restaurant will be difficult to be seated once discovered by anyone who appreciates a delicate treat with a European presentation - so make a reservation as soon as you arrive !

Needless to say, I plan on escaping to the "Ocean Club Hotel" in Cape May again and again. All the amenities are within arms reach / the hotel was spotless / the location was perfect / and the service was constantly attentive! I'll bet they all remember people by name - its' just the welcoming feel that overwhelms you upon arrival - like your going Home! Book well in advance and Enjoy! Tell Tobi and Nick - that "Gail said hi " to get them laughing ! LOL

Room Tip: Ocean Front Rooms -are always the best but at the "Ocean Club" you can also see from your terrace the "Veranda" (1 floor up from the TIKI Bar with bar/food service) -another spot to sit, talk read,people watch and relax; the majestic ocean; and the pool. I hear entertainment may be offered here in the near future! A jazz group at twilight would make it incredible!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GailTram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, Ocean Club Hotel Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback, Gail! We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will relay your praise to the parties you mention, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews