We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Robbinsville
2 reviews
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed week leading into Labor Day. King bed suite. Nice room, beautiful view ocean. Pool very nice but hard to get chairs mid day. Liked chairs and towels at beach. Lobby, pool, restaurant sleek modern design and good location. Didn't spend enough time in hall to care about lack of décor. Staff and housekeeping great during our stay. Overall expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: ocean front with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you are able to join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    160
    67
    24
    27
See reviews for
181
241
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
739 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Located across the beach on Beach Avenue,the sea view is perfect from the rooms.
Rooms are spacious and well appointed although bathroom is on the small side.
Excellent WiFi.
Ample free parking in the back.
Pleasant staff.
On our stay dolphins were seen right across from our beach chairs
Swimming pool is well heated but can get crowded and half of it is so shallow that one cannot swim.Unpleasant garbage odors at the open bar.
Beware that the pool is only open from 9AM to 7PM and that the chairs on the beach vanish at 5PM.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you are able to join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotels appearance is very deceiving from its website! The room smelled musky, the furniture was in poor shape, the sheets were stained and the ac system required your room key to be in it to work..very annoying. The bathroom is the size of a small closet and the toilet did'nt flush. The carpets were dirty in room and I cant describe how grotesque the halls were between the smelly stained carpeting and the paint chipped walls. I felt like I was in the ghetto! The food in this place is overpriced and disgusting. The location is too far away from town. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere..anywhere else not worth the money! Beyond dissapinted.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michele813381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
We appreciate constructive criticism from our guests as it allows us to improve upon our offerings. However, your review is disingenuous.

At check out you stated you had a wonderful stay and that the hotel was "beautiful." This attitude changed after you were informed that you would be unfortunately be charged $250 for smoking in your room. You then asked our front desk manager, "why would you want to change a five star review, which was what I was going to give you, to a one star by charging me? Are you really sure you want to end our trip this way?" The manager informed you that we cannot alter policies to court positive reviews and that the cigarette odor was so strong that the room needed to be treated. She also advised you that our smoking policy is listed on our website, your confirmation email, your registration card signed at check in, on a large sign at the front desk and on signs in your room.

We are sorry that our policy is not to your liking, but we respectfully disagree with the content of your review and can categorically state that it is false. Please note that most, if not all, hotels, in Cape May have similar smoking policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hanover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Club during the week leading up to Labor Day. As we usually stay at the Angel of the Sea when visiting Cape May, we decided to try something different and stay at the Ocean Club Hotel. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. We booked a king wet bar suite which was a nice size - the bed was super comfy. The suite was clean and neat. I do wish they had a larger tv in the bedroom. The bathroom on the other hand - clean but super small. Difficult to have 2 people in the bathroom at the same time. Loved the view from the balcony of the beach and pool.

A recommendation to the hotel - I agree with other reviewers - you need to do something with the look of the hotel from the parking lot and the hallways - very dated.

I would like to mention we had lunch by the pool and it was fairly priced and very tasty.

Overall, I highly recommend a stay here. We will be back to Cape May and returning to the Ocean Club Hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank catnjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for the Labor Day weekend. The hotel is very modern and well designed in the front. They probably ran out of money and the back of the hotel as well as the hallways look cheap and outdated. We stayed at the suite with living area and bedroom overlooking the beach. The rooms are small but very clean and well furnished.
The pool is decent size and the drink service is great.
The restaurant is very good but overpriced.
The beach is clean and staffed with people who bring you towels and even food from the restaurant.
Overall, a very good experience

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrShura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's like a caribbean resort in Cape May.

They have lounge chairs, fluffy towels, and umbrellas waiting for you at the waters edge.

They'll serve you lunch at the beach.

They have a world class chef at their restaurant, Sea Salt. Even if you stay somewhere else, EAT AT THE RESTAURANT.

The tiki bar and pool are cool and fun. Fluffy towels included. There's an upper deck, so comfy seating never runs out.

The staff is friendly, helpful, and super fast to meet any request.

The rooms rival any new Hyatt or Hilton, albeit with smaller bathrooms (but the new owners were stuck with the footprint of the old Atlas hotel, so let's not get picky.)

Now to Get Picky:

1) Ocean Club, if you could kindly bring out your delicious coffee earlier than 8AM, I would not have to wake up my husband making coffee in the room. Besides, have you tried taking an early morning walk on the beach with a ceramic mug full of coffee?

2) While the back hallways are immaculate, their Atlas origins persist. Some carpet and drapes would be nice when you get to it. Just a suggestion.

Thanks Ocean Club for a wonderful visit. You are my new go-to spot in Cape May.

Room Tip: The higher your floor, the better the view. Travelers without children might enjoy the child-free f...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the keyed AC. What a great idea. Love usage of energy efficient appliances and equipment.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njtraveler1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will use your feedback and suggestions to improve upon our property and services. Hope you join us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a 3 night stay on the 2nd Floor sundeck- the week before Labor day weekend 2013- Overall our stay was pleasant- The Sundeck exceeded my expectations as it offers an additional outdoor space with view of the pool and Ocean. Sea Salt restaurant offered a tasty high end menu that did not disappoint and the staff was pleasant. Had breakfast each morning and ordered from the tiki bar while on the beach- all very good...but VERY expensive.

Pro's:
-Excellent Beach location and view
-Clean Rooms (ADA rooms are larger)
-Rooms Did NOT have a MUSTY beach smell
-Beds comfortable
-A/C worked and didn't feel it was to loud as others had mentioned
-Entrance and Front of Hotel "UPDATED" and CHIC!
-Beach boys were EXCELLENT getting us chairs/Lunch and towels

Cons:
-Back Entrance/Parking area entrance looked old and dated
-Hallways and 1 Elevator OLD and Dated..avoided and took the stairs...YUCK!
-Rug in room was Stained & Old...should of been replaced with wood floors or tiles
-Hairdryer was a dud
-Having a ADA room the bathroom was huge, but dangerous as the shower water runs into the middle of the bathroom floor to an additional drain in the center. **Using the outlet in bathroom can result in electric shock - NO GFI OUTLET- NO CAUTION is given..VERY DANGEROUS.
-NO Vanity area
-Sundeck rooms Don't have a KEY access from the slider doors outside
-NO KEY Entry was Needed to enter hotel- security risk!

**NO LIFEGUARDS/ Lifeguard shortage- swim at your own risk! 3 Days at the beach week before labor day weekend 2013 and their was NO Lifeguards in the ENTIRE middle section of the beach- Was told of shortage. Being a Hotel guest relying on the beach chairs and umbrella's many families could NOT move closer to a life guarded area since it was SO far away.

Overall, was happy with our stay. A few updates and changes would be in the best interest of guests especially when paying over $500 a night.

Room Tip: Sun Deck meet my expectations.... Great space ADA bathrooms are LARGER
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivia005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you join us again soon. Please know that the hotel front desk is staffed 24hrs a day to serve as a security measure. In addition, we will be passing your comments and concerns about the lifeguards on to the town to have them addressed. Your feedback is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Property: Ocean Club Hotel
Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#15 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing