We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, and location make it worthwhile”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, and location make it worthwhile”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is our second stay at the Ocean Club Hotel. They have many good features such as a very nice pool, clean comfortable beds, views to die for, and location. It is just uneven. Inside the rooms is very nice, the halls are institutional feeling and most of the floors are uneven concrete. When you check in nobody welcomes you or gives you any info. They just take your card and ID. It would be nice to know if the chairs are available at the beach, the hours and so on. It would only take a minute. But they manage to charge your credit card for 300 dollars for you to draw against if you charge back to the room. I thought that that was why they keep a credit card on file.
The air conditioning is a nightmare. It isn't particularly cold and it bangs on and off all night long. Ours broke in the middle of the night and if was almost a relief to be free of the racket. This year there was a coffee maker in the room, a real improvement. The bathroom could use a shelf over the toilet, a towel ring above the right of the sink and a few hooks on the back of the door. When all is said and done we love Cape May and the good of the hotel outweighs the bad.

Room Tip: Third floor or above with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkathy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your review and for returning to the the Ocean Club Hotel. We work diligently to improve upon the property in any way that we can and rely on guest feedback to help us do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    162
    69
    24
    29
See reviews for
184
245
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Club from Labor day thru 9/9/2013. Our room 614, was a very clean and spacious King suite. The bed and bedding was way beyond expectations, along with a spectacular full ocean view and balcony with comfortable chairs (not plastic)! This is not a large hotel so you don't have to walk too far to get to the elevator, pool, restaurant, lobby or parking lot. The pool area is highlighted with a Tiki Bar and comfortable lounge chairs. The pool manager will provide one towel per person, so be sure to bring your own beach towel as the chair cushions tend to get hot! As with most hotels, there never seems to be enough seating to accommodate the guests. My suggestion is to have a sign made that any chair left unattended for 30 minutes will be considered abandoned. Then, like Disney, Omni, and Marriott, enforce the rule! Overall, this was one of our best vacations and look forward to coming back next year!

Room Tip: Sixth Floor - Adults Only!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njdevils08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We're so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback! We will utilize your suggestions and comments to improve upon our services. Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJJUDI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent 6 days in Mid August. If your group is just adults, stay on the 6th floor, adults only. We were in room 615, and loved the view of both the ocean, and the town. The room and bathroom is rather small - next time we'll opt for a suite . The room only does not offer a sofa, chair or table, altho the balcony was quiet and relaxing. We understand that the entire hotel has been very recently remodeled - we would suggest the carpeting be lifted and tile floors put down. That being said, the linens were first class, as were the suggestions we received from the desk staff regarding restaurants, activities, etc. The pool is great, and there is plenty of parking on site. We already have our next stay planned for next August.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJJUDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Nice hotel, good staff, attached to good restaurant, good bar menu, warm swimming pool. Room (king suite) had full ocean view, good bed, liked the towels, and having a balcony even small one is essential. Negatives: bathroom in room is small (nicely decorated) and has a very loud fan. A/C in room is also loud. Elevator is small and slow, but stairs are good.

Room Tip: Go for ocean view. Take a flashlight or nightlight to avoid turning on the bathroom fan/light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSK3some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsville
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed week leading into Labor Day. King bed suite. Nice room, beautiful view ocean. Pool very nice but hard to get chairs mid day. Liked chairs and towels at beach. Lobby, pool, restaurant sleek modern design and good location. Didn't spend enough time in hall to care about lack of décor. Staff and housekeeping great during our stay. Overall expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: ocean front with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you are able to join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
743 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Located across the beach on Beach Avenue,the sea view is perfect from the rooms.
Rooms are spacious and well appointed although bathroom is on the small side.
Excellent WiFi.
Ample free parking in the back.
Pleasant staff.
On our stay dolphins were seen right across from our beach chairs
Swimming pool is well heated but can get crowded and half of it is so shallow that one cannot swim.Unpleasant garbage odors at the open bar.
Beware that the pool is only open from 9AM to 7PM and that the chairs on the beach vanish at 5PM.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you are able to join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotels appearance is very deceiving from its website! The room smelled musky, the furniture was in poor shape, the sheets were stained and the ac system required your room key to be in it to work..very annoying. The bathroom is the size of a small closet and the toilet did'nt flush. The carpets were dirty in room and I cant describe how grotesque the halls were between the smelly stained carpeting and the paint chipped walls. I felt like I was in the ghetto! The food in this place is overpriced and disgusting. The location is too far away from town. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere..anywhere else not worth the money! Beyond dissapinted.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michele813381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
We appreciate constructive criticism from our guests as it allows us to improve upon our offerings. However, your review is disingenuous.

At check out you stated you had a wonderful stay and that the hotel was "beautiful." This attitude changed after you were informed that you would be unfortunately be charged $250 for smoking in your room. You then asked our front desk manager, "why would you want to change a five star review, which was what I was going to give you, to a one star by charging me? Are you really sure you want to end our trip this way?" The manager informed you that we cannot alter policies to court positive reviews and that the cigarette odor was so strong that the room needed to be treated. She also advised you that our smoking policy is listed on our website, your confirmation email, your registration card signed at check in, on a large sign at the front desk and on signs in your room.

We are sorry that our policy is not to your liking, but we respectfully disagree with the content of your review and can categorically state that it is false. Please note that most, if not all, hotels, in Cape May have similar smoking policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Property: Ocean Club Hotel
Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#15 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing