We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Ocean Club, a clean, modern (totally renovated about 3 years ago) hotel with superb Beach Ave. address and 90% plus rooms with vista/unobstructed beach and ocean views. You need go no further than your own terrace/balcony to awaken and enjoy a superb sunrise. The onsite restaurant (Sea Salt) looked good (but we had prior dining commitments elsewhere). The heated pool was well maintained and the pool side Tiki bar excellent and well stocked.

Negatives include early pool closing (7 PM), noisy air condition unit in bedroom (would be much better if this were in the living room of the suite), and only 1 elevator for the entire 6 floor complex- about 100 rooms I believe. This became more than a minor negative when it broke down as we were checking out, and had to haul our luggage down the stairs from our 4th floor room.

Overall, however, if you like a clean, well maintained facility, good sized suites, balconies with totally unobstructed ocean views, right across the street from same, plus hotel supplied beach lounge chairs and umbrellas (former complimentary, latter with $10 fee) as well as (non alcoholic- no alcohol allowed on beach) beverages (at $3 for soft drinks, iced tea, etc) this is your place. We will definitely be back. This is as close to a luxury hotel you are likely to get in Cape May (Maybe they will have built another elevator by then- that would put them close to perfection)

Room Tip: Upper floors would avoid pool noise, and provide generally better beach/ocean views. However, only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBARRY740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We are continually striving to improve upon our offerings.
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you are able to visit again soon.

Best regards,
OCH Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

The website portrays this hotel to be much nicer than it actually is. The rooms are dark, dingy and the furnishings are cheap. It is very evident that the budget of the renovation of this hotel went mostly to the lobby and the pool area. Beware, even though hotels in NJ are not supposed to allow smoking, this hotel looks the other way and allows its guests to smoke on their balconies. You can smell smoke all over the hotel. Many people have touched on the fact that there are small bathrooms, one elevator and the hallways have not been renovated so I won't repeat what has already been said. Also the front desk staff was awful. I would stay far far far away from this hotel. Look into the Sandpiper Beach Club which is where we will be staying next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sld3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We appreciate your feedback. Our hotel was extensively renovated in 2011, and features custom made furnishings. We're sorry if the style of these items were not to your taste. In addition, please be aware that we strictly enforce our no-smoking policy and, when alerted to a situation where a guest is violating that policy, we address the situation promptly. If you noticed a guest violating this policy, we wish you would have brought same to our attention so that it could be addressed.

Happy future travels,
OCH Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Hotel is newly renovated, clean and in a great location. We stayed on 6th floor, ocean front , and were very pleased. Only negative to speak of is the entire hotel has one elevator which could be difficult at a a busier time. We had drinks at the Tiki bar twice, excellent! Overall very nice weekend in Cape May.

Room Tip: Top floors no kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pahdsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We hope you're able to join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Ocean Club Hotel. The former Atlas hotel, newly renovated in a high-end, modern style with a sleek pool and excellent restaurant (Sea Salt) is a welcome change. Our king room on the 6th floor was splendid, facing the ocean, with a private balcony and very comfortable accommodations. The pool is modern and adult - without diving boards or slides for kids, which the two of us appreciated. The tiki bar at the pool, open to the public, is fun, and also offers food from the Sea Salt restaurant. The service overall was excellent - from front desk to the pool staff. We would definitely return.

Three negative comments: the entrance to the hotel on Beach Ave does not accommodate for a drive up to check in or out - also, didn't see a ramp for entry into the front of the hotel either. So your car and /or arrival/department occurs in the back parking lot which still needs a makeover. It's not an impressive first sight when arriving at this stylish hotel. The elevators could stand renovation as well - one small, slow elevator for the entire hotel.
The hotel hosts weddings - we saw two in two days - so there can be extra noise coming from the deck where cocktail hours are held.

Room Tip: Ask to face the ocean - don't settle for side view. The top 6th floor is for adults only - no ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your feedback and will utilize your comments to improve upon our offerings and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is our first time at the Ocean Club Hotel. We used to stay at the Atlas back in the day before they overhauled the place. Check in was good. The girl at the desk was very friendly and they always said hello to us whenever we entered the lobby. We booked the King ocean front balcony suite with wet bar. The room was beautiful with a separate private sitting room with chairs, sofa, table and chairs to eat and large flat screen. The king bed in a separate bedroom with a flat screen tv and balcony. The bed was incredible to sleep in and the pillows were plentiful and also great to sleep with. The one bummer in the room was the darn AC. It kicks on and off with a huge bang and sounds like someone is breaking in the room. The room was very clean but the bathroom toilet seat was hanging off. I did not call to have the toilet seat fixed because I shouldn't have to so we tightened the screw underneath ourselves. The last thing I want is someone in my room fixing something. Me feeling is housekeeping should have called that in to have it fixed before the next people come in. They did let us check in earlier because our room was ready which was nice. We decided to have lunch at the pool bar and get a few cocktails prior to heading to the pool. The bartender Bobby was super nice and very attentive. The food was ok. I had the fish tacos and they tasted fishy but my husband had the chicken wrap and homemade chips which were pretty good. Drinks were great.

We could not even get a seat at the pool because there were so many towels taking up empty lounges and since there were not many people in the pool nor at the bar we thought you could save your chairs for hours with a towel which we did not feel was cool. We came to find out the next day that for us that was not the case. We got at the pool at 9am and got our spot with 2 towels. The pool manager acted like he was giving you gold with these towels. We got our towels after giving our room number and our names. We also got an umbrella and generously tipped the manager. We went to go up to our room for a snack and he was all over us asking us if we were done. Clearly we were not since I was leaving some things behind. We told him we'd be gone for no more than 30 mins. He gave us a look like that was not good enough. I said to him we could not even get to the pool yesterday when you were here and they had like 10 chairs that were being saved for over an hr. He responded that they were either in the pool or at the bar but knew there were like 2 people in the pool and us and another couple at the bar and that other couple had just checked in with us so that was not true. I mean are you seriously going to give people grief about this? I've been to a ton of hotels down here and this whole towel thing is a first for us. We decided to stick to the beach after that.

Overall we had a great time and the view and the room and overall staff were great.

Room Tip: Room 301 was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RFosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will address your concerns with the pool manager accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is our second stay at the Ocean Club Hotel. They have many good features such as a very nice pool, clean comfortable beds, views to die for, and location. It is just uneven. Inside the rooms is very nice, the halls are institutional feeling and most of the floors are uneven concrete. When you check in nobody welcomes you or gives you any info. They just take your card and ID. It would be nice to know if the chairs are available at the beach, the hours and so on. It would only take a minute. But they manage to charge your credit card for 300 dollars for you to draw against if you charge back to the room. I thought that that was why they keep a credit card on file.
The air conditioning is a nightmare. It isn't particularly cold and it bangs on and off all night long. Ours broke in the middle of the night and if was almost a relief to be free of the racket. This year there was a coffee maker in the room, a real improvement. The bathroom could use a shelf over the toilet, a towel ring above the right of the sink and a few hooks on the back of the door. When all is said and done we love Cape May and the good of the hotel outweighs the bad.

Room Tip: Third floor or above with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkathy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your review and for returning to the the Ocean Club Hotel. We work diligently to improve upon the property in any way that we can and rely on guest feedback to help us do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Club from Labor day thru 9/9/2013. Our room 614, was a very clean and spacious King suite. The bed and bedding was way beyond expectations, along with a spectacular full ocean view and balcony with comfortable chairs (not plastic)! This is not a large hotel so you don't have to walk too far to get to the elevator, pool, restaurant, lobby or parking lot. The pool area is highlighted with a Tiki Bar and comfortable lounge chairs. The pool manager will provide one towel per person, so be sure to bring your own beach towel as the chair cushions tend to get hot! As with most hotels, there never seems to be enough seating to accommodate the guests. My suggestion is to have a sign made that any chair left unattended for 30 minutes will be considered abandoned. Then, like Disney, Omni, and Marriott, enforce the rule! Overall, this was one of our best vacations and look forward to coming back next year!

Room Tip: Sixth Floor - Adults Only!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njdevils08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We're so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback! We will utilize your suggestions and comments to improve upon our services. Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £134 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing