We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean club in cape may”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ocean club in cape may”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

During a 3 night stay the hotel hosted a wedding and allowed the DJ to play non stop for 4 hours at a sound level that literally vibrated the walls in our room. Our calls to the front desk went unheeded. At check out we asked to speak to a manger, but none was present on the property. We have since called the hotel 5 times and requested a phone call back from a manager, but we have had no response to date. Obviously, the hotel management falls short. We are disputing the charges with our credit card company and we would not stay at this location again. If you need a hotel in Cape May choose any one but this one

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pat p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Upon reviewing your reservation we have noted that you were situated on the complete opposite side of the hotel on a high floor and the wedding took place indoors on the first floor. In addition, the music was promptly halted at 10pm in keeping with local noise ordinances. The music could not be heard on the floor directly above the restaurant or in the office directly behind it, but if you encountered it in your room on the opposite side of the hotel and several stories above it, we apologize.

Wishing you happy travels in the future,
OCH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    159
    66
    24
    27
See reviews for
179
239
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We visited Cape May for the first time in late September and had selected The Ocean Club Hotel as our home away from home. It certainly seemed like home. Located farther north up Beach Avenue, it’s quieter than the hotels and B&Bs in the center of what would be considered “downtown” Cape May, but still close enough that one can walk downtown. It was probably built in the 40s or 50s, but has been refurbished so that the rooms and common areas are all modern. Though we’d reserved a standard queen room, we were upgraded upon arrival to a king suite; other than a king-size bed and a Keurig in the room, I’m not sure what additional features the upgrade entailed, but we were very happy with our room. We had come to Cape May for the birding (it’s one of the best places on the East Coast to see migratory birds), and were able to add a few new species just by sitting on the balcony and looking out at the beach and ocean.
Since we had traveled all day to get to Cape May, we didn’t want to go out for dinner, so had dinner in the attached restaurant – the food and service were outstanding! There’s an outdoor patio where one can eat, but it was a bit chilly, so we opted to eat in the minimalist, though attractive, dining room. Dinner was followed by breakfast the next 3 mornings, and we were not disappointed. A tiki bar adjacent to the pool serves light lunches and drinks, and we spent several happy hours there, reading and sipping cocktails, while looking out at the ocean.
Since our birding experience was also outstanding, we plan to return to Cape May every fall, and expect to stay at The Ocean Club.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms face the ocean; the few rooms on either side of the hotel probably also have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you are able to join us again in the future. The fall is a wonderful time to visit Cape May, and we do love our birder visitors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Very, Very nice. Accomodations are superb. Comfortable beds, great view, very clean and so much improved over the old "Atlas". Staff was informative and accomodating. We can only imagine how great the pool area is in July so we will definitely be back next year. Just a really nice place to stay. I wish they were open through the Christmas Holidays because we would love to come down to view the wonderful lights and charm of this lovely Victorian town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't stay long enough to experience their practices
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. Looking forward to hosting you again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

September 22-25, 2013. We had a wonderful experience at Ocean Club. We were upgraded on arrival to a room with wet bar. Rooms were clean, bed comfortable, view amazing from our 4th floor room. Morning coffee on the room deck was relaxing, we had burger sliders that were excellent on toasted onion buns and the fish tacos were very good. Pool bar clean, drinks yummy, service fabulous. Met some nice people. We walked everywhere - location perfect...quiet and close to everything. Will definately go back. One recommendation: Bring earplugs... when the room a/c kicks in it will wake you up if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Any ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and are so pleased you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Ocean Club, a clean, modern (totally renovated about 3 years ago) hotel with superb Beach Ave. address and 90% plus rooms with vista/unobstructed beach and ocean views. You need go no further than your own terrace/balcony to awaken and enjoy a superb sunrise. The onsite restaurant (Sea Salt) looked good (but we had prior dining commitments elsewhere). The heated pool was well maintained and the pool side Tiki bar excellent and well stocked.

Negatives include early pool closing (7 PM), noisy air condition unit in bedroom (would be much better if this were in the living room of the suite), and only 1 elevator for the entire 6 floor complex- about 100 rooms I believe. This became more than a minor negative when it broke down as we were checking out, and had to haul our luggage down the stairs from our 4th floor room.

Overall, however, if you like a clean, well maintained facility, good sized suites, balconies with totally unobstructed ocean views, right across the street from same, plus hotel supplied beach lounge chairs and umbrellas (former complimentary, latter with $10 fee) as well as (non alcoholic- no alcohol allowed on beach) beverages (at $3 for soft drinks, iced tea, etc) this is your place. We will definitely be back. This is as close to a luxury hotel you are likely to get in Cape May (Maybe they will have built another elevator by then- that would put them close to perfection)

Room Tip: Upper floors would avoid pool noise, and provide generally better beach/ocean views. However, only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBARRY740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are continually striving to improve upon our offerings.
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you are able to visit again soon.

Best regards,
OCH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The website portrays this hotel to be much nicer than it actually is. The rooms are dark, dingy and the furnishings are cheap. It is very evident that the budget of the renovation of this hotel went mostly to the lobby and the pool area. Beware, even though hotels in NJ are not supposed to allow smoking, this hotel looks the other way and allows its guests to smoke on their balconies. You can smell smoke all over the hotel. Many people have touched on the fact that there are small bathrooms, one elevator and the hallways have not been renovated so I won't repeat what has already been said. Also the front desk staff was awful. I would stay far far far away from this hotel. Look into the Sandpiper Beach Club which is where we will be staying next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sld3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We appreciate your feedback. Our hotel was extensively renovated in 2011, and features custom made furnishings. We're sorry if the style of these items were not to your taste. In addition, please be aware that we strictly enforce our no-smoking policy and, when alerted to a situation where a guest is violating that policy, we address the situation promptly. If you noticed a guest violating this policy, we wish you would have brought same to our attention so that it could be addressed.

Happy future travels,
OCH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orefield, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Hotel is newly renovated, clean and in a great location. We stayed on 6th floor, ocean front , and were very pleased. Only negative to speak of is the entire hotel has one elevator which could be difficult at a a busier time. We had drinks at the Tiki bar twice, excellent! Overall very nice weekend in Cape May.

Room Tip: Top floors no kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pahdsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We hope you're able to join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Property: Ocean Club Hotel
Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#15 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing