We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here every time!”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I can't say enough about this place, super clean, the staff especially Pam the bartender and John the pool guy were super, everyone was very friendly and the layout is great, the pool super clean. Very nice to have beach and pool service for food and drinks. A great place to stay....

Room Tip: The soaking tub room was awesome, but the rooms off the sun deck look really cool too. The ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Me and my wife had a very nice 2 day pre-season stay at the Ocean Club in early June. The hotel is on Beach Avenue, as close to the Ocean as you can get in Cape May.
You can tell that this must have been a property that only benefited from its location until some new management/owner decided to turn this resort into boutique-style. They succeeded 90 per cent of the way, rooms and pool area are particularly nice; staircases and parking lot still oozes some of the old style but that can easily be overlooked.
We chose a Cabana room on the second floor that offered a more or less private balcony atop the restaurant. We were lucky because we were the only ones and had the space to ourselves; might be different during high season.
Staff are friendly and helpful; gave us recommendations for nearby restaurants and printed directions. Rooms were equipped with two large comfy beds, a fridge and a modern bathroom.

Room Tip: Cabana Rooms are worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeenThereAlready_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was a first class hotel. As soon as we pulled into a parking space a bell hop helped us with our luggage. Our check in was quick and up to our third floor ocean view room. It was a spectacular view looking out on our balcony at the waves splashing ashore. Our room was clean and the beds had comfy quilts. The highlight of this hotel was their salt water heated pool with a tiki bar for cocktails. Our cabana boy was most helpful in providing us with lounge chairs, an umbrella and towels. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the third floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbwald56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Ocean Club Hotel June 3rd through June 5th. This I can say from my husband and me, the joy we felt as we tarried at the Ocean Club Hotel is set in our memories as our “It’s a Wonderful Life”.
The staff treated us in a professional manner, answered all questions. The hotel was extremely clean. They are detail oriented concerning their quests. The pillow top mattress the feather bed topper and the down pillows should tell you how relaxed one could be. I woke up with the ocean sounds of waves crashing on the beach. Get this, they have a keurig coffee pot and K-cups. We totally enjoyed our coffee. The pool surroundings were beautiful. I especially loved the palm trees swaying in the sea breese. It reminded me of Hawaii. The pool side drinks were amazing; I took two sips and was out like a light. The chaise lounge chairs at the beach as well as the complementary towels were so convenient for us. The Hotel was in close proximity to the Cape May Mall, and the Victorian homes. The outstanding, magnificent sun sets are just a nice walk to the end of the boardwalk. There you can see the old light house as well. We only stayed three nights at the Ocean Club Hotel, but this can go down in our history of life, as one of the best short vacations we have experienced.

Room Tip: We like to see the waves crashing on the beach, so we prefer higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Booked our stay here as an afterthought to a planned special birthday celebration in NYC/Atlantic City as a nice place to relax before our return home. We were pleased by the attentiveness of all the staff. The hotel is in an ideal location along the beach and a short stroll from the center of town. The suites are large with a most comfortable bed. The front desk staff and Bobby (Flyers/Vikings fan-Go figure) our bartender were particularly knowledgeable about all things Cape May. As an aside our rental car malfunctioned and the entire staff including the GM offered us assistance.

When we return to Cape May this will be where we stay...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

went last august....after much research of all the properties..previously stayed at A B&B...was with a small dog at time...I i decided on Ocean Club Hotel...i am more the boutique style hotel goer..must have all fairly new amenities....and this sure did ...We stayed on second floor Soaking tub Suite...and tried to go to a higher a higher floor and the King suite with sitting room but they were booked ....loved the buday though....a little small for 539.00.a night....would rather have the extra sitting room and tv....the sea salt was excellent as was the bar and pool....and location....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Sea Salt Restaurant and Ocean Club Hotel was our venue for our weekend beach wedding getaway. The hotel was extremely accommodating, giving our guests the private sun deck cabana rooms and allowing us to host our reception on the sun deck in a "family style" setting. Sarah (event planner) and Amy (restaurant manager) made the entire weekend seamless and went above and beyond for our special day. The food was incredible and staff were attentive. We will definitely be back for vacations and anniversaries for years to come!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#15 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £150 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing