We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly lovely, relaxing experience”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Sit back and relax when you come to the ocean club. Staff was accommodating from check in, pool staff, bar staff, pool waitresses-you name it. I came with my husband on an impromptu getaway and absolutely enjoyed every minute of it. As soon as you arrive at the beach, the beach staff quickly sets up your chairs and provide you with towels. Food at the beach was gourmet, and very fresh! Order the quesadillas! The rooms are beautiful and the hotel is brand new-the beds are so comfy. Overal, I had an enjoyable experience once again at the ocean club

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaMia60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Club Hotel several times this past year since we decided to have our wedding there! We were scouting wedding locations in Cape May, thinking we would go with an old, Victorian hotel as our venue. Someone recommended we go to the OCH for a drink and the moment we sat outside at the tiki bar by the pool and ordered our first mojito, we knew this was the perfect spot for our wedding. It felt like a Miami/LA/Vegas boutique hotel in the heart of charming Cape May.

We visited many times to plan the event and every time we visited we had a great time. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are great.

The wedding was beyond perfect! Held on the sun deck overlooking the ocean and then in the SeaSalt restaurant, our wedding coordinator, Sarah Mormello did an amazing job creating a seamless, beautiful and organized event everyone raved about. We worried about nothing. And it was perfect. The atmosphere offered both the opportunity to relax outside in the ocean breeze and/or dance till you drop inside.

The tiki bar and pool area is definitely a highlight of the OCH. One of our favorite things to do is sit by the pool and have some cocktails. By the end of the trip, I think we knew all the staff on a first-name basis and we cannot wait to go back again and again. The OCH will be as special a place in our lives as it is a wonderful gem in Cape May.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miz_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We moved from the south to New Jersey this past spring. So we decided to vacation close to home and not head back to Destin this year. First off, we have had a great time here and my kids have enjoyed the shopping and the Kohr's custard. We spent 4 nights at the Ocean Club and since its our first trip here I have nothing to compare it to. This is a basic hotel that they have tried to add some touches to make it more upscale. The rooms are very basic and small with a bathroom to match in size. The bed has been comfortable and the pull out couch has been fine. The pool setup is nice with newer chaise with cushions, but you better get a towel on your chair by 9:30am or you may not get a chair for the day. The pool is nasty due to all the sunscreen and sand in the pool. They need a shower to wash off from the beach. The pool service has been horrible, and we were told many times by the wait staff/bartenders that its the last week of the season and they are shorthanded. One waitress for the size of the pool makes for very poor service. We waited over an hour for lunch yesterday only to be told they were out of what we had ordered and what else would we like. Then it took another 45 minutes for the food to arrive. The second day there was a rowdy bunch at the pool terrorizing the other patrons with a football and then two of the moms wrestling in the shallow end of the pool trying to dunk each other. They were obnoxious and nothing was said to any body in the party. The pool manager works his tail off getting towels and umbrellas for everyone but he should do more to manage the guests who are causing havoc.
We ate breakfast at the restaurant twice and the service was horrible. Only three waitress's for the restaurant again was given the excuse that it was the last week of the season. The food was good but it took so long that we were all frustrated.
If you are going to charge $579 a night, I should never hear a single excuse that we don't have enough staff. If you cant staff the hotel properly, drop your prices. I stay 90-100 nights a year in different hotels all over the country and I get the feeling this hotel is either barely hanging on or they try and run it with as little staff as possible. I would hesitate to return here and try another place next time we visit.

Room Tip: Get a room with access to the veranda. If you can get a waitress they will bring food directly to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheKevman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is a fantastic resort on a beautiful stretch of beach. Everything about it is top-notch. Restaurant, the fun pool bar and the other people who stay here -- could not be nicer. Great place for a family. The rooms are large and we had an incredible balcony overlooking the ocean. Service is fantastic. We were also pleasantly surprised at the beauty of Cape May architecture, history and lovely shops. It's a step back in time ... plus we enjoyed the amenities of a newer hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Club and loved it! Russ was quick at time of check-in. The staff at the pool and the beach are attentive and there for whatever you need all day. The rooms and ocean view are just beautiful. The staff is superb. No better place to celebrate with friends. We ate all our meals at the Sea Salt Hotel Restaurant.....so good there was no reason to go elsewhere. We'll be back!!!! We Love Cape May.
Sandra V. Whitestone, New York

Room Tip: Rooms on the sixth floor are the best Adults only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights with our teenage son (17). We had a suite on the top floor with the most incredible view. The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable with a big balcony overlooking the sea.

The bathroom was on the small side and only had a shower - no bath.

The pool area was pleasant as was the pool bar! Access to the beautiful beach was easy and although the sun beds were free umbrellas were $10

The common parts of the hotel could do with a face lift - particularly the corridors and lift area. They really are not in keeping with the rest of the hotel

My one criticism of the hotel is the lack of communal areas - for example to get a hot drink in the afternoon - particularly on a day when there was very heavy rain

I think the hotel is pricey but is probably in line with other hotels in the area

Cape May is a really pretty place

Room Tip: High room but ask if you particularly want a bath as we just had a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosieradlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Hotel was clean, modern and fully load with amenities. The staff was very professional and courteous. They have a pool, restaurant and beach staff.
A short pleasant walk down Beach Ave gets you to Washington Street Mall, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are ocean view ... I don't think there is a bad view even if its a side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#20 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £147 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing