We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unfriendly family run motel”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milford, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very unfriendly family run motel”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

If you make reservation for a specific unit, they charge you an extra $20.00 per night. This does not make sense. Is a reservation a reservation or what? Cape May is beautiful and one of my favorite destinations, but Cape May does have a problem. They mostly have minimum stays in season so you can't just go for a weekend. We usually go on Memorial Weekend and sometimes it is not quite warm yet. Heat doesn't work and downstairs is damp. Not upgraded in years. Checking in is always a problem. Takes way too long.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank summerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
We appreciate your comments and want to let you know we have been newly renovated this year and would love for you to give us another try. We are more then happy to assist you. You can call us anytime for information. We really do hope to hear from you. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    112
    35
    32
    43
See reviews for
155
112
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This was a mediocre hotel. We paid close to $300 a night in high season. Definitely not worth the money. The hotel has a nice pool for the kids and it's directly across from the beach in Cape May which is very nice and convenient with two young kids. It also has a shuffle board court which needs work and a cute little play house to keep toddlers entertained. It is located in the quieter part of Cape May and is far from the town center but there is a trolly that stops in front of the hotel every 20 minutes or so to take guests into town ($1 each way but hotels provides free tickets). The hotel is more like a clean motel. They provide a small in room refrigerator, microwave and a mini coffee pot with coffee which is located directlty outside the private toilet, shower area but in the same space as the bathroom sink (location is a little strange but at least they have the amenities). If you are someone who likes to iron your clothes after taking them out of the suitcase, remember to bring your own iron because the hotel does not provide one. They do, however, have one small hand steamer for the entire complex if you need to borrow one. The rooms are dark and dimly lit and the beds are not comfortable. I had a back ache the entire time. The hotel needs lots of updating but all and all they keep the rooms pretty clean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

All in all this hotel is not a bad place to stay if all the other hotels in Cape May are all booked up but I would not pay what we paid. It is way over priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank GVT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
We appreciate your comments and concerns. We wanted to let you know we are newly renovated this year and would grateful if you come and give us another shot. We appreciate your business and hope to hear from you soon. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Not new but recently renovated and very clean. All rooms seem to have a good view. Nice courtyard with a nice pool, lawn and sitting area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Hello Valued Customer,
We at the Periwinkle Inn thank you for your comments. We are newly renovated this year as well. All new look and would love to have you back to have another great experience. Keep us in mind for your future visit to Cape May. Hope to see you soon. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We returned to the Periwinkle Inn on August 20th and are already looking forward to our next stay. My husband, myself and our two college aged children find the Periwinkle and Cape May to be our little slice of paradise. The beach is literally right there and morning walks to see the dolphins is all that we ask. Sometimes the simple things make it perfect. I always shed a tear when I have to leave this wonderful place. Our room was sizeable-- two queen beds, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator (we booked too late for an efficiency but this room was fine!). I would only ask that the blanket on the bed be a bit more substantial--my daughter claimed the quilt and I could have used something a little thicker to keep warm. I LOVE Cape May and I LOVE the Periwinkle!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim02132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

We are very pleased you love our inn. We look forward to seeing you and your family again. We are newly renovated this year and have a whole new look. We worked very hard this winter and are very happy of the outcome. You are more then welcome to call anytime to book. We hope to see you soon. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is a property that is a gem right across from the beach. It has very clean and updated rooms- and the cool part is that this hotel has the open, grassy Pool area with shuffleboard, etc. that reminds you of retro-Cape May! Also, next door is a new upscale Tiki bar so you enjoy relaxation at the Periwinkle and pop over to have a $13 glass of wine next door (we only did that once- wine on the balacony of our room was fun and cheaper) People/Families that stay here are laid back and cool- and the staff was really friendly. We are booking another week in 20012. *If you have only on vacation to the beach in a summer, I would suggest this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for direct view of beach, although most rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Valued Customer,
Thank you for your feed back. We are very pleased to hear about your experience here at the Periwinkle. We love making our customers happy. We are newly renovated this year and want to see you here to check it all out. If your planning another vacation we would love to give you another great experience. Hope to hear from you soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We just returned from 3 nights at The Periwinkle and we were prepared for their all cash policy (only in the "high" months of July and August as the credit card companies supposedly raise their fees for the proprietor during these months? that's what the front desk told us anyway). As said by others the rooms were basic and clean- ours was a single room with 2 queen beds. The hotel was what we expected from reading Tripadvisor reviews and we were happy to stay there. I guess if there was a change in ownership or a lapse in care the place could descend to an uncomfortable stay since the balconies are very close to each other the way the building is configured but we found the staff to be very nice and very responsive. We particularly liked their "maintenance man" who fixed our tub drain when we informed the front desk of it's slow draining. He was respectful, kept to the task until it was finished (lots of sand, etc. slowing the draining process) and we saw him throughout our time always doing some form of upkeep, and always with a ready smile when you caught his eye. It was quiet at night (even with many families who had young children) and I thought the beds were very comfortable- ours had an extra "pillow-top" mattress pad which was great. The only piece missing for us was a cafe/restaurant/whatever to get something quick- but again we knew going in to this that the hotel did not have this feature. Oh...and my teenage daughters wished the T.V.s were flat-screened and bigger. The internet reception was spotty for us, in a bldg in the back and a room by a corner. The front desk was helpful and sympathetic and suggested coming to the main office where it was consistent.

Room Tip: Not sure but booking early would give you a broad choice of rooms with or without separate kitchenet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Valued Customer,
Thank you for your comments and concerns. We appreciate the feed back. It is our mission to make everyone happy. We are looking into ways for the credit card companies to work with us with the very high rates. Our maintenance man was very happy to hear his hard work is appreciated by the guests. He continues to work just as hard. I would like to let you know that we are newly renovated this year. We have the flat screens your daughters would love. We would be happy to see you and your family again. If your looking for a place come on over and check us out. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I should have known better. You are required to pay on arrival for the entire stay in cash. This should have been the first red flag. Small room, never cleaned before 3pm. The front desk staff was rude and didn't care about you at all. Remember they already have your money.

Room Tip: Never paid cash for a hotel you have no recourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May
Periwinkle Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing