We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not happy cash payment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not happy cash payment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Having to make a cash payment for a 3 day stay is unreasonable. To carry that amount of cash traveling with children is not thinking of the safety of the traveler. I found the room very clean and a comfortable stay for 2 of the nights, the 3rd no air conditioner as it needed repair. Repair was done in a timely manner the next day. The gardener was helpful in giving tips of the area and the women in the office were doing their jobs under so many establishment rules. A very pretty motel but I would not stay there again. To many other nice hotels in the area.
P.S. Why would this establishment only take cash. Makes you wonder if hiding anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. The reason for the cash payments are for a few reasons. We were burnt too many times with the credit cards, unfortunately others ruin it for others. We are also a small Inn and are not open year round. Only six months out of the whole year. Credit card rates are extremely high and for the amount per swipe is very costly. We apologize for any inconvenience but hopefully you will give us another shot.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    110
    32
    31
    40
See reviews for
145
105
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malverne, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Upon arrival we greeted by very friendly staff. We were early and our room was not ready, they promised to call us around 2 or so, and sure enough at 2 pm, they called as promised. We were very pleased. My first impression of the room was that it was very clean. Then it was time for bed, although I had not been to the beach, I felt that there was sand in the bed. A few times during the night I actually found myself brushing what felt like sand out of the bed. When I woke up, to my shock, I found a grey woolen hat amongst the sheets...ugh...what can I say about that? Anyway, I brought the hat to the front desk and they apologized and said that they would bring the matter to the attention of the management. I asked them to please be sure that the sheets were changed. I also thought that it was a little weird that there were no lounge chairs around the pool. Around the pool there are only a couple of benches and two tables and chairs.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to get a better view. Be careful of getting a corner room as the view is quite o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marylieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We have addressed this issue with our staff. We do apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will consider another stay with us in the near future. We appreciate your business..

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyngham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here once again and this year I made a reservation with booking.com. Last year, we stayed here, and as we were checking out a woman was checking in and used a credit card, so we asked why was she able to use her card, and we were told that she booked her room through booking.com. OK, so that is why I did it this year. We called the hotel the night before we were leaving just to verify they will accept my credit card upon arrival. The woman at the desk told us they would not! But, she called the owner and called us back, and told us she would allow us to use it as a one time exception. Thank you very much! But, if you don't accept credit cards please don't advertise rooms on sites like booking.com. The receipt you get after you book, and enter your credit card, says that you accept MC & VISA upon arrival, so it is confusing to the customers. We appreciate you letting us use ours and hope you consider accepting credit cards. This is the only complaint I have with this hotel. The staff is nice, the rooms are clean, the pool is relaxing, and the grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms are newly renovated and they look very nice and were very clean. The lighting in the room is not the best and there is only one mirror in the room. A long full size mirror would be a nice addition, along with some better lights. The closet was cut down significantly in the room we stayed in and a counter was put in for the coffee pot, microwave, and refrigerator. I had to use the other bed to place most of my clothes. The beds do have drawers built in the base, so anything you want to fold can go into them. We had a room with a view of the pool and a bit of the ocean. It was fine with us. We would stay here again, as we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Valued Customer,

Thank you for expressing your experience with the Periwinkle Inn. We are working on the credit card issue along with the others you have listed. We do appreciate your business and we would love to have you back for another stay in the near future. We will work on the things mentioned to make your experience better.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Brook, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

They don't take credit cards, probably because once you saw your room, you would cancel your reservations and get out of here. Yes, they renovated, but they have one mirror in a suite(I use the term loosely) classified as able to sleep five people. Funny how they only have a tiny table for four and utensils for four. They took a regular size room and renovate it to sleep 5. Absolutely ridiculous. Also coffee pot is for two people and very chinzy with coffee and towels. No lounge chairs by the pool(Really?) And if you use one that is outside the pool, the people in the rooms on ground level look at you like you are using their chairs. Also, you pay more for a room that will sleep more(no bigger, just more beds) and still have to pay more per person. We have stayed in many places in cape may, and have never been disappointed, until now. You should be ashamed of yourselves!!!! To top it all off, the air ventilation is awful and we had to endure our last night with the smell of the pot the people next door were smoking. Too late to do anything about, just glad to finally be leaving the next day. What a way to ruin a vacation, by staying at the Periwinkle..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lynnp426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We do take credit cards just not at peak season. The rates on credit cards are very high. We did have supplies in the office to get more wash clothes we would of been more then happy to assist you. We do not have lounges in the pool area due to safety issues. We do not have a life guard so if we had to run into the pool area we would need to assist as soon as possible. We care for our guest and their children. We do apologize that you were unhappy with your experience but we would still love to have you back for a different experience.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edison nj
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Ocean view turned out to be elevator, other bldgs. in this motel, next door motel and pool mostly.
Cash only accepted August 10, 2013- web site says credit cards- $ 775 for 2 nites was $ 700 too much-thin plastic cups, one mirror, queen beds turned out to be full size- had to stand in tub to open door to leave bathroom-AC on high 2 days- room barely comfortable, temps only around 80 outside- dripping describes water pressure- rather sleep on beach or in car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nickyedisonnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We would have been more then happy to figure out a solution for you at check in being that you were unhappy. We appreciate your business and would have addressed these issues if they were brought to our attention. We want our guest to have a great experience. We do apologize and hopefully you will reconsider and give it another shot here at the Periwinkle Inn.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skippack, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Took a last minute trip to Cape May. I searched available hotels and happened upon this one. Glad we did. The rooms are clean, the courtyard is kept very nice and we had a balcony with an ocean view. The price was really good in comparison with other hotels in the area. I even called back to inquire what type of mattress they used and received a call back within 10 minutes. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Valued Customer,

Thank you for your kind words and acknowledging our hard work to keep the Periwinkle Inn what it is today. We are pleased to hear you love the mattresses. We do hope we steered you in the right direction to get one for your home. Your business is appreciated and we would love for you to come back to see us.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitestone, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Enjoyed staying at the Periwinkle Inn. We had an ocean view room which cost slightly more. It was accessible to shopping, the beach and dining. Parking was provided. Credit cards hold the reservation, however you pay in cash. The inn was extremely clean and the landscaping was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie48887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience with everyone. We do stride to give all our guests an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the near future!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May
Periwinkle Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing