We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shillington, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Amenities lacking, such as no dresser, no mirror in suite, no luggage rack, very dim bathroom lighting, TV stand is way too low, no lighting at microwave & counter area. Room was very clean, and office staff were cordial enough, but these things we were accustomed to at the Periwinkle were no longer provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

We apologize for the inconvenience. We did order all custom furniture this winter and sadly the company told us ten days before we opened that they were unable to deliver on their part. We had to get whatever was available at that point. We are working on all the things you have mentioned. Again we apologize and hopefully you will reconsider us for a future stay. We appreciate your business.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    110
    32
    31
    40
See reviews for
145
105
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed exactly one year ago at the Periwinkle. While it was clean and the grounds were very nice, as well as the location near the beach, the beds were hard, pillows flat and the room was very old. But after it appeared on Hotel Impossible, the changes have been very positive. The rooms are immaculate and lovely. Mattress much improved and pillows great. People who stay here are classy. Only problem is that the rates went up exorbitantly from last year, so we cut our stay short. I also learned from a friend who was going to return this summer that she couldn't afford it any longer.
One suggestion is to add a free breakfast in the morning. If you are going to charge these kinds of prices, you need to offer guests breakfast. Nearest bagel place is a few blocks away.
Another suggestion, as addressed on Hotel Impossible, is to allow credit cards. Carrying around hundreds of dollars is not a comforting feeling. The excuse given on the show was that omitting credit cards kept the rates down. But that is not a viable excuse any longer as the rates are now very high.
Also noticed that some guests who stayed had a problem with check in. We did as well. Were told at 2 that our room was not ready until 3, but we learned later that that was not the case. It was ready, but we were not allowed access until 3. Not a very nice policy, especially for return guests.

Room Tip: Take the upper floors. A drunk from the next hotel meandered over, entering the Periwinkle's ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PuffyWinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We did have to raise the rates due to the renovations. We are also such a small inn that we do not have the room for any restaurant to be on the property. We also do not have room for appliances to prepare food. As for the credit cards, the rates are very high and we are only open six months out of the year so it is a great amount of money in fees. We apologize for the inconvenience but check in time is anytime after 3pm and before 8pm, which is stated on your confirmation. If the room is ready we do call you as soon as it is. We must wait for the housekeeping staff to have the room completely done to check you in early. We appreciate your business

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Don't expect to get into your room before the check-in time. Well, maybe if they are in a good mood you can get in around 2. Any other hotel will give you the room earlier if it is ready. This place lies and says your room isn't ready. If you stay, don't pay until 3!
We don't like the make-over either.
Not a friendly office staff.

Room Tip: The best rooms are third floor ocean facing but expect to pay $20 a night extra if you try to reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
14 Thank lovesCapeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We do apologize that you had to wait until 3pm but if the room is ready before hand we do call you as soon as possible and get you in. We do confirm check in time when you book with us. Check in time is anytime after 3pm and before 8pm which is stated on our website as well. We do appreciate your business and maybe we will see you in the near future

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We arrived at the inn and found out that there had been a misunderstanding and that we needed to pay cash for our stay of 4 nights. After some discussion we were able to work it out. We had a great stay, however. The room was newly remodeled and immaculate. The beds were very comfortable and the micro and fridge were a plus. The grounds are excellently maintained and groomed. The pool area is immaculate. Our room had a great view of the Atlantic. This is a peaceful, quiet and small place. We are planning to return to the Periwinkle next year. It's a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seekerofshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing your experience and kind words with us at the Periwinkle Inn. We do appreciate your business and would love to see you next year! We try to make every customer happy and are pleased we were able to help. See you next year.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Having to make a cash payment for a 3 day stay is unreasonable. To carry that amount of cash traveling with children is not thinking of the safety of the traveler. I found the room very clean and a comfortable stay for 2 of the nights, the 3rd no air conditioner as it needed repair. Repair was done in a timely manner the next day. The gardener was helpful in giving tips of the area and the women in the office were doing their jobs under so many establishment rules. A very pretty motel but I would not stay there again. To many other nice hotels in the area.
P.S. Why would this establishment only take cash. Makes you wonder if hiding anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. The reason for the cash payments are for a few reasons. We were burnt too many times with the credit cards, unfortunately others ruin it for others. We are also a small Inn and are not open year round. Only six months out of the whole year. Credit card rates are extremely high and for the amount per swipe is very costly. We apologize for any inconvenience but hopefully you will give us another shot.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malverne, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Upon arrival we greeted by very friendly staff. We were early and our room was not ready, they promised to call us around 2 or so, and sure enough at 2 pm, they called as promised. We were very pleased. My first impression of the room was that it was very clean. Then it was time for bed, although I had not been to the beach, I felt that there was sand in the bed. A few times during the night I actually found myself brushing what felt like sand out of the bed. When I woke up, to my shock, I found a grey woolen hat amongst the sheets...ugh...what can I say about that? Anyway, I brought the hat to the front desk and they apologized and said that they would bring the matter to the attention of the management. I asked them to please be sure that the sheets were changed. I also thought that it was a little weird that there were no lounge chairs around the pool. Around the pool there are only a couple of benches and two tables and chairs.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to get a better view. Be careful of getting a corner room as the view is quite o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marylieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We have addressed this issue with our staff. We do apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will consider another stay with us in the near future. We appreciate your business..

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyngham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here once again and this year I made a reservation with booking.com. Last year, we stayed here, and as we were checking out a woman was checking in and used a credit card, so we asked why was she able to use her card, and we were told that she booked her room through booking.com. OK, so that is why I did it this year. We called the hotel the night before we were leaving just to verify they will accept my credit card upon arrival. The woman at the desk told us they would not! But, she called the owner and called us back, and told us she would allow us to use it as a one time exception. Thank you very much! But, if you don't accept credit cards please don't advertise rooms on sites like booking.com. The receipt you get after you book, and enter your credit card, says that you accept MC & VISA upon arrival, so it is confusing to the customers. We appreciate you letting us use ours and hope you consider accepting credit cards. This is the only complaint I have with this hotel. The staff is nice, the rooms are clean, the pool is relaxing, and the grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms are newly renovated and they look very nice and were very clean. The lighting in the room is not the best and there is only one mirror in the room. A long full size mirror would be a nice addition, along with some better lights. The closet was cut down significantly in the room we stayed in and a counter was put in for the coffee pot, microwave, and refrigerator. I had to use the other bed to place most of my clothes. The beds do have drawers built in the base, so anything you want to fold can go into them. We had a room with a view of the pool and a bit of the ocean. It was fine with us. We would stay here again, as we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, General Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Valued Customer,

Thank you for expressing your experience with the Periwinkle Inn. We are working on the credit card issue along with the others you have listed. We do appreciate your business and we would love to have you back for another stay in the near future. We will work on the things mentioned to make your experience better.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#16 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May
Periwinkle Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing