We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently rude staff, terrible 'renovation'”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our family has stayed here several times, based purely on the fact that the hotel is across the street from the beach, and they have a pool . Those are the only 2 redeeming qualities about the place, and even they are starting to pale in comparison to the negatives. The staff is consistently rude, year after year, with the attitude that they are doing you a favor by letting you stay there -- instead of treating you like a valued guest. Every year at check in -- without fail -- there is one person working the desk, and if you are unlucky enough to walk in after someone else, the Periwinkle staff take their sweet time. They don't seem to care how long you stand there waiting for them to finish, despite the fact that, if you are like most families, you've just had a long ride with kids in the car and are anxious to get to your room. This year was a doozy -- as I waited behind another family being checked in, there actually was a second person in the office (first time ever). She was on the phone -- on a prolonged hold -- and clearly would have had the time to at least start our check-in process. Instead, neither woman even glanced our way, not even to say "hello", "welcome" or a simple "we'll be with you in a minute". Both just completely ignored us. When the family in front of us left, still neither woman acknowledged us! When the woman checking in guests did eventually meet my eye, she didn't even greet me, just stuck her hand out for my paperwork! When my husband asked for a key to get our kids in the room, she actually wasn't going to give it to us, because we had not yet provided a Visa for incidentals, despite the fact that I just handed her a ton of cash to cover our stay. She finally acquiesced when we made it clear how ridiculous we felt that was and had young children who needed the bathroom.

Their recent renovation was very poorly done. Now the closet is half the size, and the kitchen counter/cabinets double the size. Not what young families need, it was so much better when it was the reverse. This was made even worse by the fact that they completely got rid of the chest of drawers for clothes that was under the TV, and replaced it with an open shelf TV stand. There is absolutely no where in the room to put clothes. The beds were replaced with new ones that have HUGE wooden frames surrounding the mattress -- so that not only do the two beds take up way more space than they used to, but now everyone bangs their legs on the frames as they walk by. Lastly, the old table, which was sufficient for a family of 4 to eat, was replaced by a tiny, round café table with 2 chairs.

This hotel was visited by the TV show Hotel Impossible. In the episode, the host told the owners that they were rude to their guests and had to be nicer, and gave them a lot of renovation/design suggestions. The hotel owners didn't take ANY of the advice from the TV show. They were no nicer than previous years, and none of the illogical changes to the room were the suggestions of the TV show

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
45  Thank LAT681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Valued Customer,

We do apologize that your experience here at the Periwinkle Inn was unsatisfactory. It is unacceptable and will be brought to the staff's attention. You mentioned that you were unable to get the rooms keys so the children can use the bathroom, we do have a public bathroom with in the office that your children were more then welcome to use. We did take the advice and had the bathroom remodeled for our guest after Hotel Impossible . In reference to the renovations, we loved the ideas the show gave us but they did not meet code requirements such as fire hazards, choking hazards for the little ones we have stay with us, etc. It is our job to make sure all the requirements are in order. We did order custom furniture and 7 days before we opened we had to scramble to get what we could to open for the 2013 season. We were very disappointed ourselves. We are making more changes and making the moves to make sure everyone has a great experience here. We do appreciate your business and hope to hear from you in the near future

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Periwinkle Inn. They have done recent room renovations and we were absolutely impressed! Everything was updated including the tile in the bathroom to the drapes, carpets and bedding! It was lovely! We stayed on the third floor, easily accessible via elevator, and had a lovely ocean view. The staff goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Since we stayed after the peak season, the rates are lower, but the weather in September is still beautiful and the beach experience is still just awesome! We will definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jlizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Periwinkle Inn. We are very pleased to know you had a great time and like the changes we have made. We appreciate your business and can not wait to see you in the 2014 season.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Periwinkle this past weekend and loved it! We stayed in room D which was very nice with a private balcony. The bed was soooo very comfortable. I did have one complaint though, there is an outside door that leads to the stairs for rooms C & D and when you go into that stairwell I could smell cigarette smoke. Thankfully the smell was not in our room ( one time I did smell it slightly by the bathroom). Overall though it was a very nice room and we will stay there again next Oct. ( We would live to stay there during the summer when we are down but it's a little too pricey for us in season.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwoje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hello Valued Customer,

We at the Periwinkle Inn want to thank you for your comments. We do apologize for the smell of smoke. There is absolutely no smoking allowed within our rooms. If we were made aware we would have looked into that immediately and provided you with another room option if that was available. We would also like to thank you for your kind words. We would love to see you next season! We look forward to hearing from you

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The new improvements didn't help the place if that was the owers intention. We have stayed at the Periwinkel many times in the past but sorry to say this was our last attempt. There isn't enought space to write a really good review but I am going to try to make it short and complete.. Please read all the other poor reviews and trust the writers. I don't like to sound negative and trying to be as positive as I can . I have stayed in motels on interstate highways in the United States that were better than this place traveling to Florida. The Periwinkel gave me the impression of being put together or remodeled in a very inexpensive way with very little amenities. I have a laundry list of thing i found to be wrong with this place . again ther isn't enough space to put it in the this review. After writing this review all i can come up with is that the periwinkel inn gives you a place to sleep and shower for an all cash payment. Its had to believe that The Periwinkle only takes Cash only , no credit cards or checks just hard cold CASH! , maybe that is the owner/management is like or appeals to be?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank gerard_c154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Hello Valued Customer,

I do apologize for your inconvenience. We are working on the mentioned issues. During renovations we had a serious issue with the company that we went through. We were told only 7-10 days prior to opening they could not have the order completed. We had to get what we could to open, things will be different next year. The cash only policy has always been in effect during high season only. We are a small inn and rates are high per swipe times the grand amount. We are also open only six months out of the whole year so that does not help us either. We do apologized and would have loved to get your feed back at time of check out or anytime during your stay that you were unhappy. If there was something we could have done for you we would have done it. Thank you for your comments and appreciate your business

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

As I write this review 6 out of 10 most recently posted were negative. There is a reason. This will make 7 out of 10. The walls are so thin at this property you literally cannot sleep. I was up all night the first night I stayed. It sounded as if whoever next door was really sick because there was coughing all night and a child crying. I confirmed with housekeeping that the headboards for the two rooms were on the same wall. You could hear noises on the ceiling as well, which I could not understand at all as my room was carpeted. I wanted to check out the first night and asked for a refund. I was told there were no refunds and that was the response. No other alternatives were offered. Just "there are no refunds".

"Not a friendly office staff" was noted in previous review. Upon doing some research on the web, the owners are documented in numerous places to be adversarial. A direct quote from
a blog:bloggingcapemay.blogspot.com/.../periwinkle-inn-owners-speak-out-about. html - Cached
"Jan 30, 2013 ... If you saw the Hotel Impossible show about the Periwinkle Inn, you know that the owners of the Periwinkle did not come across well."
I can confirm that.

Other complaints were poor lighting, which translate to not being able to read a book, Also the wifi does not work, I called the front desk and was advised to use the neighboring Ocean Club wifi which would not work unless the slider door was open.

The noise continued each night-after losing three nights sleep I checked out early, losing approximately $700 and went and stayed at a Sleep Inn. It was worth it to me to not have anything more to do with this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank solotraveler711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Amenities lacking, such as no dresser, no mirror in suite, no luggage rack, very dim bathroom lighting, TV stand is way too low, no lighting at microwave & counter area. Room was very clean, and office staff were cordial enough, but these things we were accustomed to at the Periwinkle were no longer provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Hello Valued Customer,

We apologize for the inconvenience. We did order all custom furniture this winter and sadly the company told us ten days before we opened that they were unable to deliver on their part. We had to get whatever was available at that point. We are working on all the things you have mentioned. Again we apologize and hopefully you will reconsider us for a future stay. We appreciate your business.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed exactly one year ago at the Periwinkle. While it was clean and the grounds were very nice, as well as the location near the beach, the beds were hard, pillows flat and the room was very old. But after it appeared on Hotel Impossible, the changes have been very positive. The rooms are immaculate and lovely. Mattress much improved and pillows great. People who stay here are classy. Only problem is that the rates went up exorbitantly from last year, so we cut our stay short. I also learned from a friend who was going to return this summer that she couldn't afford it any longer.
One suggestion is to add a free breakfast in the morning. If you are going to charge these kinds of prices, you need to offer guests breakfast. Nearest bagel place is a few blocks away.
Another suggestion, as addressed on Hotel Impossible, is to allow credit cards. Carrying around hundreds of dollars is not a comforting feeling. The excuse given on the show was that omitting credit cards kept the rates down. But that is not a viable excuse any longer as the rates are now very high.
Also noticed that some guests who stayed had a problem with check in. We did as well. Were told at 2 that our room was not ready until 3, but we learned later that that was not the case. It was ready, but we were not allowed access until 3. Not a very nice policy, especially for return guests.

Room Tip: Take the upper floors. A drunk from the next hotel meandered over, entering the Periwinkle's ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PuffyWinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We did have to raise the rates due to the renovations. We are also such a small inn that we do not have the room for any restaurant to be on the property. We also do not have room for appliances to prepare food. As for the credit cards, the rates are very high and we are only open six months out of the year so it is a great amount of money in fees. We apologize for the inconvenience but check in time is anytime after 3pm and before 8pm, which is stated on your confirmation. If the room is ready we do call you as soon as it is. We must wait for the housekeeping staff to have the room completely done to check you in early. We appreciate your business

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#17 of 37 in Cape May
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £50 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May
Periwinkle Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing