We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My sister and I booked the Periwinkle Inn for this Memorial Weekend. The front guest staff was very rude. I was not informed when booking the room that we would be charged an additional charge of $20 per child. I was told every room no matter how large is charged per child. So that was $40 extra per day. They also informed me that I could not check in until after 2 PM (I arrived at noon) - the hotel was empty. The office smelled of smoke and my first room was very small for 4 people. They would only bring 2 towels per day even though we constantly reminded the front desk that we were 4 people in the room. Just 2 pool towels also. We were than told when we requested towels upon our last day that we had a "red flag" next to our room indicating that we using too many towels and may be charged. Ridiculous... The Manager is not accomodating nor friendly. If you have a problem...all she tends to say is "well we have your credit card on file and I can bill you for this anyway." The pool has no lounge chairs by the pool but outside of the pool area which is not very comfortable nor accomodating. The office staff does not know much about the area - when we questioned about the trolly that runs down the street daily - she said "I have no idea". My suggestion: shop around for a nicer more customer service friendly place...you can find it...

Room Tip: Dont go here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank 1,924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are committed to excellence and sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. In all our published data, that Check In is from 3 PM to 8PM. Our Check Out time is 11AM, therefore, early arrivals cannot always be accommodated allowing for housekeeping to make up the rooms. All our publish all rates are based on double occupancy and the cost for additional persons will be $20.00 per person.

At the time of placing your reservation, if our customers inform us of the number persons staying in the room, we then let our customers know which room style best meet their needs and provide adequate towels for the number of persons staying in the room.

Whenever we receive negative comments, we immediately investigate and take corrective action. Our main goal to provide service to all our guests and make their holiday as enjoyable as possible. Thank you for the feedback which allows to improve our services everyday .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

My fiancé and I had an amazing four night stay here this past weekend. The hotel has a beautiful exterior with very well kept grounds and friendly staff members. The rooms were beautiful, very clean and cozy. Has a great quiet location away from the hustle and bustle but within a reasonable walking distance to the downtown area. Housekeeping did an amazing job! Each day we would leave for breakfast and return to the room about an hour later and the room would be immaculate. We had a tough time leaving because it felt like home to us! Management has even offered to work with us on reserving discounted block rooms for our wedding in 2016. We will definitely be returning to this hotel hopefully in the near future!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ljohnson6032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Went here for 3 nights last summer and I only have two words to say. DONT GO. The people there were rude and are against changing anything in their hotel that was there like 30 years ago. I felt like I was in solitary confinement in the rooms and the beds were crap. I actually planned to stay 4 nights but it had to move to the hotel next door because I couldn't take it anymore. I hope you heed this advice and the advice of others and not go to this outdated, rude hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Dillonthepic09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Newly renovated hotel, right on Beach Avenue in Cape May, New Jersey. We stayed on the off season so pricing was somewhat reasonable. Rooms were very clean and updated. Bedding was very comfortable. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a great view of the ocean. This hotel is nicely located, within walking distance of great bars , restaurants, and shopping. We booked the room last minute and were surprised on how helpful the front desk was. We will defiantly be going back next year.

Room Tip: Better ocean view from 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

People need to stop being so mean to the people in this hotel, because it's not as bad as they make it seem to be. The rooms are upgraded really nicely, it's just that it's now more modern and upscale versus a place to have your 20 children with you for a cheap price. I personally like the rooms and bathrooms. The furniture is modern and the bathroom has really nice tile. If you're not blind, it's not hard to see the drawers under the bed for storage....
The biggest problem with this place for us was NO CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. CASHHH Only!
It was not pleasant to drive here, with maybe $150 in your pocket, and being greeted with "We can't let you stay in your room unless you can give another $800 in cash to complete the reservation." Uhhhhhhh... who just has $800 in their pockets nowadays? After somehow convincing all the local banks to let us withdraw the amount, our stay was good afterwords. Some people mentioned that the hotel staff were rude. This is true, but I could see why. With the 100 guests a day yelling at them because of the cash only policy, I'd be pretty rude and miserable working there too.
If they make recommended changes for next year, I'd consider giving this place another try. We all try and fail, but learn from the mistakes, which make us better, and this place being the best in Cape May could be the result.

Room Tip: The two queen room offers a lot more room than the twin/queen room and isn't a significant price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank travelerjp98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Excuses excuses excuses. Anthony from Hotel Impossoble was right when he nicknamed that woman Miss Excuse. Read all of the replies on here! That's all these people are full of. Why are there no lounge chairs by the pool? For the safety of children - if that is not the worst excuse I've ever heard I don't know what is. Oh wait. Yes, I do. We don't accept credit cards because the more cards we swipe the more percentage the company charges us off our bottom line. Then look into a different credit card machine you frickin idiots!!!!!! They only accept cash because: A. They do not refund cash when you are ready to leave when you are fed up with their crappy establishment and B. They are probably not claiming 100% of their income.

Shady business. Do not stay here. Go somewhere else. The rooms make you clostraphobic, the walls are paper thin, there are NO lounge chairs by the pool so expect to lie on the cement, wifi doesn't work, you're lucky if the AC in your room works! The staff is RUDE, and you have to pay for your entire stay in cash. If you want to leave early you will not be refunded on any nights you are not staying.

RUN to the hotel next door!!!!

Stayed: August 2013
55  Thank ErinMarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My Family and I have been going to Cape May for many years. Many times in the past I have had to go back to reviews to remember WHY we have never stayed here. I do remember we stayed at Summer Station (which is great) and decided we wanted to extend our stay in Cape May but they already booked our room after our 7 days. We stopped by the Periwinkle and yes I do remember the rudeness and ONLY CASH, so that was the end of that. I was so excited to see them getting the help they DESPERATLY need on Hotel Impossible last night. Besides the Son I can't believe the patience Anthoney had with the Mother and Daughter and stuck it out. But now I am so angry seeing what a WASTE OF TIME it was from the reviews and what I read as the show was ending. They REDID the lobby after the show left. It was Beautiful! So many hotels that could really have used their help and these people get all the help this Man could give them and NOTHING has changed. Stay at The Grand right next door or Summer Station. You usually can't go wrong.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
45  Thank justmeBrooklynNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#10 of 37 in Cape May
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#18 of 37 in Cape May
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#17 of 37 in Cape May
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £120 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May
Periwinkle Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing