We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family place that is close to everything”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife, daughter and I spent 5 nights at the Periwinkle Inn at the end of July and we all had a really great time. The rooms were clean and kept, the staff was attentive and accommodating, the beach is right across the street and the pool and property were all well maintained. My family and if will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LastCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Perriwinkle Inn is the perfect choice for everyone. It is within walking distance to the center of town and right across the street form the beach.
Nice amenities for the kids. Excellent renovations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank veryhappy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Periwinkle does not deliver few of it's promised amenities. We have never felt so compelled to write a review as in this case. The staff was incredibly rude and uncaring. The manager went so far as to state that our problems "were not an issue for them right now". Our ocean view was obstructed, our light switch and refridgerator didn't work. The only way we could turn the lamp on and off was by plugging it in and unplugging it (switch was broken off). The smoke alarm was triggered by the shower and the "cable" they claim they have is just a glorified antenna, 44 distorted channels, none of which are HD. But the nail in the coffin was not having access to WIFI. They rebooted their system, but the connection was spotty at best. At no time were they apologetic, in fact they were rude. We requested numerous times that the owner contact us, but to no avail. The check-in office smells intensely like an ashtray. Our experience was horrendous from start to finish and our stay was over $1200 for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank Pansybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Periwinkle Inn is perfectly situated in Cape May.
The rooms are upgraded and very nice. Two queen beds in the room provided 8 built in drawers under the bed for great storage. The room and bathroom were kept very clean. The cleaning staff very thorough and nice. (worked around us). Nice size balcony.
The pools both adult and kiddie were kept very clean and a good size. The play area for children and shuffle board provided us much fun. Real nice fish pond in front was a beautiful touch.
Overall I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front for a clear view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Siona68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband, 17 year old daughter and I made a last minute decision to head to Cape May (my ALL TIME FAVORITE beach town) for a one day/night spur of the moment adventure. We usually rent a house in Cape May for a whole week, but this year spent our vacation time inland boating/waterskiing with my brother and his family.) Because it was last minute AND high season availability was understandably slim and our hotel choices limited. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I felt clear on the expectations for Periwinkle Inn---they definitely WOULD charge for our extra guest (which they did), and I would not to bother "trying" to upgrade, negiotiate better pricing, room upgrade, etc. We arrived before the appointed check-in time of 3 pm, and the front desk seemed a little frazled, but they were true to their word and called me as soon as our room was ready-- around 1 pm. I was happy to be able get us settled in early (while my husband & daughter enjoyed some beach time.) All in all we LOVED EVERY MINUTE of the afternoon, evening, night, and morning we spent at this PERFECTLY LOCATED, clean, quiet, comfortable Periwinkle Inn. We were very pleased with our overnight here, and would definitely consider it for a future "quick trip" to the every enchanging Cape May.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor right by the elevator, with a view of the pool and ocean. It was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sdippity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here in May 2014. The location was great right across the street from the ocean. We had a studio suite which included a kitchenette and a living room. Only one complaint about the service is when they prepped our room they did not turn on the refrigerator. I stocked the fridge with cold beer and when I went to get one the beer was warm because I noticed the fridge was off. The rooms are noting fancy, but they were clean and well appointed. I guess I am spoiled from usually staying at 5 star hotels and resorts. As far as value goes I think it is a little overpriced for what you get, but then again isn't everything at the Jersey shore. Overall a decent place to stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful pool. Great location with a trolley stop. Rude staff who charge extra to reserve two rooms near each other or have an extra person in a room that has two beds! Won't accept credit cards or personal check if you are out of state. Had to bring $1000 in cash which should've been a tip-off.

Reserved a room for 3 people and only were given towels for two.

Twin bed was made up with no fitted sheet... Instead a queen flat sheet that was tucked in so that a quarter of the mattress was exposed! Who wants to sleep on that?

Thanks to being featured on Hotel Impossible, it definitely looks nicer than when we checked it out a couple years ago and opted for another location, but the mattresses are already saggy and the fixtures are all super cheap. Shower faucet separating from wall and nowhere to hang towels in bathroom. Certainly wouldn't want to stay here in two years. It will be totally run down again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rachelewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#17 of 37 in Cape May
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £121 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May
Periwinkle Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing