We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well cared for establishment”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phila., PA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well cared for establishment”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

The Inn is more in the style if a motel but many of the Cape May inns call themselves Inns instead of motels. I am very impressed with the extent the staff goes to in cleaning and maintaining the rooms and grounds. The irises are all trimmed to a uniform height which pleases my sense of order! A little OCD. The rooms are spacious, very modern, clean and even have a little fridge/freezer which is great for cold drinks and fruit salad/yogurt for the beach. The pool is nice but not heated. There is a great little okay area for families with children.

To make it a perfect stay I would have liked hot coffee available in the lobby. There is a coffee machine in the room but not what I like. The location is right across from the beach but the inn does not offer beach chairs for rent.they do have shuffleboard which is nice but the amenities for guests are limited. I would have lived some bikes or a pool bar. It is a lovely place but I do like more amenities.

Stayed September 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sss2219083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    112
    34
    32
    43
See reviews for
154
112
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This Inn was very comfortable. The price was a little high due to holiday weekend but well worth every penny. Our room was clean, big enough and well kept. The staff was very helpful. The pool was spotless and the landscaping was well taken care of. The parking was easy enough to maneuver and seemed just large enough to accommodate everyone. The location was great if you want to be in Cape May but not in the busiest section. It's just far enough down the end of Beach Avenue so that it's quiet and for me more enjoyable. You can walk to restaurants and the beach.

Loved everything except for one minor issue - they offer free WiFi, but I believe the signal was not strong enough or the access points were not strategically placed. The result was you would get connected to the Internet via WiFi but the signal would drop constantly - causing all of our devices (two iPhones and one iPad) to keep searching and trying to constantly re-connect and eventually draining our batteries. But this should not reflect on the choice to stay here. There are just too many factors when dealing with WiFi to blame them without doing some additional testing. Maybe on our next trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcarissimo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnemede, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We just returned home from a beautiful, relaxing trip to Cape May. This was the first time we stayed at the Periwinkle Inn and I can assure you we will return. From the moment we arrived we were impressed. The location could not have been better, right across from the beach and a short walk from Washington street. We never had to use our car. The trolley picked us up and dropped us off right out front. The staff is friendly and helpful. The best part was how immaculate this place is kept from the landscape, to the pool, to the inside of the rooms. The beds and pillows are very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We spent an outstanding Memorial Day family vacation at the Periwinkle Inn. Cape May was an outstanding location for a family vacation. We were surprised that we could afford to stay so close to the beach, and SO pleased that the hotel's suites were as nice as they were. It was completely renovated with a stylish contemporary decor and served as the perfect accommodations for our family with two young (school-age) children. Parking on-site was easy and always close to our room, the landscaped grounds were in bloom and beautiful, the pool was cold (early in the season) but available for us to enjoy, the proximity to the beach and beach path promenade, excellent. We know that it was Periwinkle Inn's first "big" weekend of the season (the "unofficial start of summer" as they say...) so our only disappointment was that the air conditioning was not working. That could havebeen a bigger problem but luckily the weather at night was clear and cool enough for it to be comfortable with windows (and sliding glass doors) open. Our room did not have functioning air-conditioning for 2 of our 3 nights of stay (we do not have it at home, so we consider this a luxury we enjoy), but it was resolved before the end of the weekend, so it did not interfere with our entire stay. I did visit the front desk twice (once each day) to politely report the problem. Maybe I was one of many guests to tell them, but I left the office both times feeling like I was annoying them, not a guest (customer) who was owed at the very least a polite apology and status of repair. In the end, I'm sure they were as disappointed with the circumstances as we were (though no concessions were made or offered). If the A/C had worked and not leaving the front desk office feeling bad for having reported it (twice) this would have positively been a 5 star review. NONETHELESS, because we had such an excellent time, we would positively return to Cape May and we will positively stay here again, this time for a 5-star weekend, for sure. For the location, tidy renovation and darling property, we would still positively recommend the Periwinkle Inn to anyone looking for a great place to stay with two young children for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that was ground level, with walk out to the pool and parking lot easy. Our bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodToGo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just got back from our family vacation at Cape May. Periwinkle was wonderful. We had three rooms right next to one another it worked out wonderfully. Kitchenette was fully stocked which was great since traveling with young children we didn't want to eat out. BBQ grills were immaculate and had all utensils you need to cook. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Thanks for a great time can't wait until next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville tn
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The Periwinkle has been my girl's weekend getaway spot for years. It suits us perfectly. The location is perfect because it is steps away from the beach. We prefer our hotel to be quiet at night and because it doesn't have a bar or restaurant, it is. Yet, night life is a short distance away. The new renovations were a big improvement. I see complaints about a small bathroom and it is, however the sink is located outside and that gives more space and one person can use the sink while the other can shower. The grounds are family friendly with a play area for the kids. The pool,is lovely but I wish it was heated. Staff has always been nice to me and if you get there early they try to get your room ready earlier. The only thing that I don't like is the cash only policy. Either you have to,pay in advance or bring a ton of cash with you. However, it is such a nice place I will continue to stay there anyway.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel Periwinkle should be avoided. There are no amenities and the hotel is badly in need of a renovation. There were hairs in the bathroom which was disgusting. There was also moldy wood that was sloppily painted over. We were charged with hidden fees as well. This is the worst hotel I've ever been to. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank isolde12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May
Periwinkle Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing