We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Periwinkle Inn - Cape May...A Wonderful Beachfront Inn!!”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Periwinkle Inn - Cape May...A Wonderful Beachfront Inn!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Our family has stayed at the Perwinkle Inn for the past several years while vacationing in Cape May. The Periwinkle basically has it all...perfect location...accomodating staff...friendliness...cleanliness!! While Cape May is known for its beautiful Painted Ladies our family really enjoys staying at the Periwinkle. Private bathrooms in everyroom, indvidual kitchenettes if you prefer, a large, very clean outdoor pool as well as a nice size, equally clean, kiddie pool. The location is key...literelly about 20 steps from the Inn to the beach. The Periwinkle is located close enough to town, but not smack in the middle of it so there is not an overcrowded feeling while sitting out on your patio or deck in the evening...very peaceful atmosphere at night...beautiful grounds!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeMayTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    111
    32
    31
    40
See reviews for
147
107
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed at the Periwinkle Inn August 9-14, 2010. This was our family's second stay in E-4, room A. It sleeps up to 6 with 2 Queen beds upstairs & a Queen sleep sofa downstairs. We enjoyed sitting on our private balcony with a beautiful ocean front view. Every morning at sunrise was breathtaking, and we saw dolphins playing everyday we were there. The room was very clean. The pool was very nice. The kitchenette was nicely equipped with a stove, minifrige, microwave, coffee pot, and plenty utensils, pots/pans, etc. They provided Free internet service with good connection, 2 cable HDTVs, Cold Air! The staff was friendly & helpful! We will return next year! We loved it! --John Welsh, West Virginia

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We just returned from a four night stay at the Periwinkle Inn. I was a bit apprehensive to book this motel sight unseen. The room rates are not cheap and many shore motels are dated and have a musty odor. The Periwinkle Inn, however, was a pleasant surprise. Our third floor room had an angular view of the beach (it faced the hotel next door), but this became a very minor issue as we enjoyed the (mostly) ocean view and breezes. This pretty pink hotel is immaculate. The grounds are well manicured and there is not as much as a crumb or a piece of paper to be seen. The rooms are functional and a decent size. Our room was kept spotlessly clean by the housekeeping staff. The pool was not huge, but it was adequate in relation to the size of the hotel and the water was always clear and clean. It was nice to be away from the center of town. We walked to the restaurants and shops almost every night and aside from being good exercise, only took about 15 minutes. I wouldn't call the front desk staff overly friendly, but we saw them only twice (at check in and check out) and they were pleasant enough. We plan to visit Cape May again and would stay at the Periwinkle Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstina61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Arrived in Cape May on Tuesday without reservations, and the wife picked the Periwinkle to call for an opening (she likes pink hotels). She's picky, and found minor annoyances, but nothing that would keep her from returning to the Periwinkle. Friday they had a cancellation, so we stayed another night. Since most restaurants overserve, we generally take doggy bags & a take-out desert. The kitchen and grill made breakfasts, lunches, and some dinners convenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eibrowseVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My daughter (11) and I had three wonderful days at the Periwinkle Inn! The location was ideal, the room design was great for us - one queen bed and a single bed for her; microwave and decent size refrigerator made snack time/wine time perfect. We loved the size of the property (not too big, not too small) and the mix of guests, including families, grandparents with grandkids, and some couples. Our room had a nice balcony well suited for morning coffee (provided in the room) or chilling out after a day at the beach. The pool is small but adequate. Everything was spotlessly clean. Nice to have an elevator too! No restaurant on the property, but plenty within walking distance or a short trolley ride or drive. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filibuster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

we've stayed here twice. the good -- it was nice for our family of four. right across from the beach, walking distance to restaurants, shopping, mini-golf, etc. The grounds are well maintained -- pretty garden, they have a small outdoor playhouse for kids, shuffle board, patio tables, nice pool and they do a good job keeping it clean. The other side is that the interal rooms are dated -- someone's comparison to a motor lodge is a good one. this isn't a room that i'd like to hang out in on a rainy day. additionally, i'll add that there are a variety of "views" depending on the type of room you get. there are some rooms that they call ocean view which means your room looks out to another hotel but your balcony has a view if you position your chair a certain way. i found that frustrating because i inquired about it when booking the 2nd time. in any event, i would recommend this place if you are okay with the room interior style.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJ_travels24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Loved this place! It was so nice to be at a place that was so clean and you can tell the employees really cared about the guests! Stayed in room 215 and it was a beautiful view. The bathroom was filled with beautiful glass tile! I will come back next month! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#16 of 37 in Cape May
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May
Periwinkle Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing