We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean Motel - Overpriced in my opinion”
Review of Periwinkle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Periwinkle Inn
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Clean Motel - Overpriced in my opinion”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Pros - I was pleasantly surprised by how clean this hotel was! From the lobby, to the ground and most importantly, the rooms! The A/C worked great - loved that we could turn it on and off // high or low when we needed to. We only interacted with the front desk staff who were very friendly and helpful. There was also a nice pool and the beach was a stone's throw away. The beach was clean and not crowded. We also saw dolphins swimming in the water :)

The cons - The motel is about a mile from the center of town. It's a nice walk but the Periwinkle seems to be at the end of a long line of motels. Bottom line, I would have liked to stay somewhere a little closer. The room was a bit damp - but it's beach front property, so that can't be helped. I would just pack a candle or a little febreeze.

My biggest gripe is that two days in this MOTEL cost $601. Yes, that right - $300 a night for a motel. I'm not cheap by any means but I didn't feel that I got my money's worth. I'm sure you could argue that it's August in Cape May but all I'm saying is that for the distance and accomodations, I thought the price was too high.

Overall, the motel is great. The price needs to come down a bit for me to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    110
    32
    31
    40
See reviews for
145
106
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mamaroneck
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Travelled to Cape May from Westchester for our fifth summer rental. This year we did not need 3 bedrooms (empty nesters). This was perfect as it is near all the restaurants we like to frequent and we added a few new ones to our list this year. The pool is a bonus ( impeccably clean). Housekeeping was excellent. Directly opposite an entrance to the beach and a little quiter than further in town. Still plenty of dolphins to watch.
Would go back again. We had the E2 unit with a beautiful ocean view. Only one small issue - quite a lot of little kids jumping in the pool in the late afternoon. But not a real complaint as I have been there with 3 boys.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara_ann53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

3rd year in a row that my husband and I spent with our adult daughter at the Periwinkle.
Great location, very very clean, nice pool and across from an uncrowded beach. The main draw is also that you have internet acess in your room or outdoors due to their wireless service. If you need anything, just ask at their office and they actually help you in a nice way.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHOENIXVILLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We just returned from a stay at the Periwinkle Inn and the hotel is so clean and the staff was so helpful in every way. They were so courteous and friendly--we have stayed in other hotels in Cape May and would not consider anywhere else but the Periwinkle Inn--

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53437Samthomasdebloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We checked in on August 7th with our three children. The youngest is three years old and informed us on the bridge coming into Cape May that he had to go Number #1. We ran to the office of the Periwinkle, gave them our reservation and informed them that the little guy had to use the bathroom. They told us NO, it's not for the public! ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!! I then asked her for the key to our room so he could use that bathroom and again, was told no because I had no checked in yet!! After handing over 2800 in cash, the front desk nazi agreed to give us a key to our room but unfortunatly, my son didn't make it!! FAMILY FRIENDLY is a NOT TRUE!! Four nights later, we were eating dinner at 7:30-ish at one of the tables outside the pool area and the front desk person came to our table to ask if she could close our umbrella because she was leaving.....AGAIN>>>ARE YOU KIDDING ME!! THE STAFF COULD NOT BE MORE RUDE IF THEY TRIED!! We actually left a day earlier as we could not stand this place anymore!! GO ANYWHERE ELSE BUT HERE.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank BrianBorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Our family has stayed at the Perwinkle Inn for the past several years while vacationing in Cape May. The Periwinkle basically has it all...perfect location...accomodating staff...friendliness...cleanliness!! While Cape May is known for its beautiful Painted Ladies our family really enjoys staying at the Periwinkle. Private bathrooms in everyroom, indvidual kitchenettes if you prefer, a large, very clean outdoor pool as well as a nice size, equally clean, kiddie pool. The location is key...literelly about 20 steps from the Inn to the beach. The Periwinkle is located close enough to town, but not smack in the middle of it so there is not an overcrowded feeling while sitting out on your patio or deck in the evening...very peaceful atmosphere at night...beautiful grounds!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeMayTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed at the Periwinkle Inn August 9-14, 2010. This was our family's second stay in E-4, room A. It sleeps up to 6 with 2 Queen beds upstairs & a Queen sleep sofa downstairs. We enjoyed sitting on our private balcony with a beautiful ocean front view. Every morning at sunrise was breathtaking, and we saw dolphins playing everyday we were there. The room was very clean. The pool was very nice. The kitchenette was nicely equipped with a stove, minifrige, microwave, coffee pot, and plenty utensils, pots/pans, etc. They provided Free internet service with good connection, 2 cable HDTVs, Cold Air! The staff was friendly & helpful! We will return next year! We loved it! --John Welsh, West Virginia

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#16 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Property: Periwinkle Inn
Address: 1039 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cape May
#14 Family Hotel in Cape May
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Periwinkle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Cape May Hotels go the Periwinkle Inn is top of the line! Cape May, NJ is Americas very first seashore resort, and it is the home of the oceanfront Periwinkle Inn Hotel. Cape May is located at mile zero on the Garden State Parkway. The Periwinkle Inn is located on famous Beach Avenue, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and steps from the white sands of Cape May Beach! All boutique-like rooms offer modern amenities including flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators and ocean views with private balconies or patios. We have 7 different styles of rooms including 2 room suites. Our Five star outdoor pool is heated and includes free pool/beach towels. We offer new chic designs while giving our guests an unmatched level of service. We care and we do everything to service our guests and provide wonderful vacation memories. Our hotel attracts travelers from all over the world. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts. We are located in the heart of Cape May City around many restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May's got to offer. With a large heated pool, shuffleboard court, sandbox, BBQ grills surrounded by flowering gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will call it your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May
Periwinkle Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing