We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of The Puffin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Puffin
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We loved our stay at the Holly Suite At the Puffin in Cape May. It's bright, clean and in the perfect location. A couple houses away from the beach and the outdoor mall. We had a blast!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgoz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and I and our 4 month old daughter came down before Thanksgiving and it was perfect for us. The Holly Suite is really a small apartment and had a kitchen with everything we needed. Mike and Nancy Duvall were great hosts and really made our stay excellent.
The location in Cape May is right near all the stores and we could take the baby in the stroller for walks and over to the grocery store to get what we needed. We would definitely come back and stay some time as in the summer it would be right near the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My sister and I just stayed at The Puffin for 7 nights. We normally stay in one of the many B & B's in Cape May but this time we wanted to have our own kitchen to cook some of our own meals. I had read a lot of reviews here on Trip Advisor for places to stay and The Puffin had great reviews. So... I called and talked to Mike Duvall, who along with his wife Nancy, are the innkeepers at The Puffin, and made our reservations for The Terrace Suite. We got there around 7:00pm and Mike was so helpful getting our suitcases out of the car and into our suite. It was dark when we got in so we could not wait for morning to checkout The Puffin. We were not dissappointed - it is beautiful!! Mike's flowers in the front of the Inn were gorgeous as well as the front porch. And...the Terrace Suite is GREAT!! The Inn is on Jackson Street, only two blocks from the ocean one way and only 2 blocks from the Washington Square Mall the other way. The weather was great during our stay so we walked a lot. We would set on the front porch and watch the carriages and trolleys go by and just people watch!! We basically parked (onsite parking) and walked everywhere. The Terrace Suite is roomy, has a nice kitchen fully stocked with dishes, coffee maker (coffee and tea bags too), pots and pans and even a dishwasher!! It has 2 large bedrooms, 1 very nice, large bathroom and a great living/dining area and everything was so clean! The Terrace Suite has its own entrance and only 2 steps down into the suite (lower level of house). What a pleasant surprise when Mike showed us there was also a washer/dryer we could use!! Mike and Nancy are two of the sweetest people! Mike had some great recommendations for places to eat and things to see. We had a really nice visit with Nancy one morning on the front porch. When we came back from one of our many walks around town that afternoon we found a beautiful plate full of cupcakes waiting for us in our kitchen on the counter!!! We will for sure make The Puffin one of our top spots now in Cape May to stay. We will without a doubt stay there again (hopefully next year!). Thanks again Mike and Nancy for a wonderful stay in our beloved Cape May!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lisap50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

And so was the Rose suite. The Puffin has a great combination of Victorian flare with the modern amenities to make your stay comfortable. But the best part are the Innkeepers Nancy and Michael Duvall who did everything possible to make us and our children feel at home and to make our stay that much more enjoyable. Thanks Michael and Nancy. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTrojaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is our favorite place to stay when in Cape May. Jackson street is right in the center of everyrhing, and only a 3 minute walk to the shore. Michael and Nancy Duvall are excellent innkeepers. We stayed in the Holly suite but have stayed in all the others but the Terrace. Everything was clean, quiet, and minutes from everything. We walked the entire time we stayed, even though this year the weather was not as cooperative. We had a great time anyway. We just love having a kitchenette in the room and made several meals together. I would, and have, recommend this place to anyone. The Atlantic is great for fqlilies with young kids as there are plenty of rooms and pull out couches for them.

Room Tip: Choose the Atlantic suite for families as there are tons of rooms and beds. The Holly suite is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimmyB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Nancy and Michael Duvall, the Innkeepers could not do enough for us during our stay. Also, this year beach passes were supplied that was very nice. Great location to both the beach and the restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Rose was a nice option for two couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank besprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We absolutely loved staying in the Holly Suite at The Puffin in Cape May! It is a perfect location, about 5 houses from the beach and the downtown. The suite was very clean and loved that it had a kitchenette. Perfect for a couple or small family. The Holly Suite has a bedroom with a bathroom (shower only) attached, a living room and kitchenette. There is also a rear door with access to a small deck and stairs down to the main level. Mike and Nancy, the innkeepers are so warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. They are both fantastic with children and clearly take pride in what they do. One afternoon they served tea and cookies, which were delicious and Nancy was so kind as to share the recipe. We really enjoyed sitting on the wrap-around porch and eating breakfast we purchased from a local coffee shop. It was also the perfect place to watch the horse and carriages go by. I would highly recommend both the Holly Suite and The Puffin!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbpjayhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,224 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#10 of 37 in Cape May
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puffin

Address: 32 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1465
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Cape May
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into the Victorian Period at "The Puffin”, one of Cape May's most historic and distinctive Victorian properties located in the heart of Cape May’s Historic District. “The Puffin” is centrally located on historic Jackson Street, just a half block from the beach and only a few steps from the Washington Mall's fine shops and restaurants of Cape May. The Puffin Victorian suites has a unique architectural Dutch Colonial design. Relax on our wraparound veranda while reading a book, surfing the internet or enjoying your favorite beverage. Enjoy the historic ambiance, watching horse drawn carriages and trolley cars as they pass down Jackson Street. Whether you plan your journey sight-seeing, escape to the beach, shop, bike or relax, the Puffin is the perfect location for an exciting Cape May adventure. We are child and family friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Puffin Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing