We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape May - Puffin Suites - The Atlantic Suite”
Review of The Puffin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Puffin
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We cannot say enough about how delightful our trip to Cape May was staying at the Puffin Suite, in the Atlantic Suite. Everything about how the rooms were designed was perfect for my family. The full-size kitchen was very convenient with small children, we were able to eat breakfast before we went out each day. The beds were soooo comfortable! My absolute favorite thing was that we were a half block to the Washington Street Mall! We look forward to returning in the summer to enjoy the beach as well as it very close by! Cannot say enough great things - Perfect and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for The Puffin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our stay at the Rose Suite at the puffin house could have not been any more memorable and special. The house is incredibly charming and comfortable. It's a delightful two bedroom suite that takes you back to the 1900s with the comfort and space of the 21 st century. It's also perfectly located on Jackson ave....a half block away from the peaceful beache...you can almost smell the ocean....and half a block away from all the best shops, retautants, and cafe that CM has to offer! This was our first trip to exit 0 and we experienced the best that this beach town has to offer. This will be the first of many more visits!

Room Tip: Location is key if you want to enjoy all the treasures of this ocean side town!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This was our second time staying at The Puffin in Cape May. What a fantastic location, half block to the beach and half block to the downtown. Perfect for families! We stayed in the wonderful Atlantic Suite and had a great stay. The Atlantic Suite was very clean and had all the amenities of home. The master bedroom has a king bed along with a twin. The living room has a futon and then another small bedroom with a queen bed. The bathroom is very clean and has a shower tub. The kitchen is a good size with an eat-in table and the rooftop access off to the side. It is evident that the owners take pride in their place and want everyone to enjoy their stay. We had one minor problem with a TV, which was fixed immediately. The owner actually drove down that day and completely replaced the TV. The owners are easy to work with and helpful. We really enjoyed sitting on the wrap-around porch and eating breakfast we purchased from a local coffee shop. It was also the perfect place to watch the horse and carriages go by. I would highly recommend both the Atlantic Suite and The Puffin!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbpjayhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the Holly Suite with my 2 and 5 year old kids. They were so so child friendly. Can't beat the location. I have stayed in Cape May before and the Puffin is so centrally located. It is really great to easily stroll to town or the beach. It was super clean (I am very OCD about that stuff), the kitchen was stocked with alot of what you would need. The couple that lives there full time is super nice and accomodating. Would certainly refer anyone with kids to stay here!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank jennifer169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We all really enjoyed the stay. Location of the apartment is right on the center of everything (beach, restaurant, shops). We had a fantastic week-end with the kids.

Thank you so much :-)!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed in the Rose Suite with 2 adults and 2 teenage girls. As the other reviews indicated, it's in a great location between the beach and the mall and the owners have done a nice job keeping it clean and presentable. The kitchen and bathroom are newly re-done, and well maintained. The amenities in the kitchen were surprisingly ample, although we just did breakfasts and snacks in the room. The space felt and looked clean; and despite the dark woodwork in the main hallway of the building, the suite was surprisingly bright. Our main complaint was that the mattresses in both bedrooms were very uncomfortable and quite slanted. My daughters moved out of their beds and tried the pullout couch in the kitchen area, which was no better and in fact probably worse. One curiousity was how the place stayed clean between guests. We were complying with the 10 a.m. check out, and in fact vacated by 9:40 a.m., the guests that were moving in after us were already there waiting to move in to the room with their luggage and a german shepherd and black labrador in tow. I don't know what the pet policy is there, but I am very sensitive to animal fur, so if the situation were reversed with us moving in after the next guests, it could be a problem, as the cleaning people were no where to be found. So if you are animal allergic, I would check on their policy, I was just surprised to see people moving in with 2 giant dogs (and 2 kids too!) I am sure they don't change the bed coverings, quilts, etc. between guests so the animal thing bothered me. But despite that curiousity, it was a nice few days to spend and very quiet as we just arrived and left as the Memorial Day hullabaloo was beginning.

Room Tip: Rose Suite is on the second floor, so be prepared to climb a flight to get up to the back bedroom...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank JDK1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelMeister1949, Guest Relations Manager at The Puffin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

As one of the owners of the Cape May Puffin, we welcome customers questions and concerns and we take them seriously. We want everyone who stays at the Puffin to have a wonderful experience.

There are several misunderstandings with this review that I would like to address.
.
1. The dark woodwork in the parlor is historic chesnut. We take great care to maintain the historic integrity of the Puffin. There is ample lighting in the parlor for safety and security, but it's soft light that provides a cozy atmosphere.

2. The "guests" who were checking in at 10 am were the owners of the Atlantic Suite on the 3rd floor, not the Rose Suite which is on the 2nd floor. Owners are allowed to bring their pets, however, guests are not. When owners bring their pets (which is rare), they do a thorough cleaning before they leave.

3. I do not know anything about a German Shepherd on the Puffin property. The Atlantic Suite owners brought the black lab. It's possible that someone was walking the shepherd on the sidewalk which the owners were checking in.

4. We regret that our guests did not find the mattresses comfortable. This information will be passed on to the Rose Suite owners for their evaluation and action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We spent five days at the Cape May Puffin House in the top floor Atlantic Suite. The suite is a great size for a family of four but could handle a party of six. You have to walk up two flights of stairs to gain access but we didn't mind and actually booked it because of the little outdoor private deck off of the kitchen and the king size bed. The suite itself is very private and fairly quiet for a home consisting of four rentals. It comes with sheets, linens, towels, and the kitchen has all the appliances needed to prepare any kind of meal you want. There is no dishwasher, but again, no big deal we didn't mind. The front porch is so inviting and relaxing with the hanging flower baskets, wicker furniture, little lamps on end tables for in the evening and the little fish water fountain in the front flower bed is just so calming to listen to. There was no WI-FI in the Atlantic Suite so we had to purchase it through a website in order for my husband to keep in contact with his job and also for us to check out directions, times of business, and other info we needed during our stay. All in all, we had a very relaxing and enjoying stay, we came home very relaxed and are already missing the beach and sound of the ocean. Thank you Tina & Craig, you have a great vacation suite and we appreciated your time and help with all the questions we had.



We did a lot of walking and sightseeing during our stay. Here are some of what we saw and enjoyed:



1) The beach which is only a half block from the front porch of the house. Just turn right when you walk off the Puffin House porch and there it is.



2) Sunset Beach with the sunken cement ship, daily flag lowering service at sunset with U.S. Military Casket flags.

Also, be sure to look for "Cape May Diamonds". (We picked some off the beach and will putting them in our rock tumbler)

http://www.njsouth.com/Sunsetbeach.htm



3) The Washington Street Shopping Mall for souvenir shopping, ice cream parlors, & couple restaurants. Just turn left off the Puffin porch, walk two blocks and your there.

http://www.washingtonstreetmall.com/



4) A walk along Beach Avenue just to see the beautiful homes/rental condominiums.



5) Cape May Lighthouse and Cape May Point State Park.

http://www.state.nj.us/dep/parksandforests/parks/capemay.html



6) Bay Springs Alpaca Farms. They are only opened Saturday & Sunday from 10-4 so we didn't get to actually go in and check it out, but we did manage to take of picture of some alpacas that happened to be out in the field by the entrance having some "lunch"

http://www.bayspringsalpacas.com/



7) There is an Acme Market about five minutes away to pick up whatever food or supplies you might need. But they charge $4 an hour for parking, so we just walked from the Puffin House to get what we needed.



8) On the way to sunset beach is the World War 11 Lookout Tower. It was closed on our stop there but we did stop check it out and read it's history placards that were along the walkway.

http://www.capemaymac.org/content/subpage_main.aspx?id=2030

Room Tip: If you can, pick the Atlanitc Suite, It has a private deck to relax with you morning coffe or a late...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BVnLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,217 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puffin

Address: 32 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1465
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Cape May
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into the Victorian Period at "The Puffin”, one of Cape May's most historic and distinctive Victorian properties located in the heart of Cape May’s Historic District. “The Puffin” is centrally located on historic Jackson Street, just a half block from the beach and only a few steps from the Washington Mall's fine shops and restaurants of Cape May. The Puffin Victorian suites has a unique architectural Dutch Colonial design. Relax on our wraparound veranda while reading a book, surfing the internet or enjoying your favorite beverage. Enjoy the historic ambiance, watching horse drawn carriages and trolley cars as they pass down Jackson Street. Whether you plan your journey sight-seeing, escape to the beach, shop, bike or relax, the Puffin is the perfect location for an exciting Cape May adventure. We are child and family friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Puffin Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing