We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Cape May”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Star
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Cape May”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Star is a great place to stay because it is close to the beach, close to the shops and restaurants in town and has the added benefit of access to all of the Congress Hall amenities, including the pool and the beach service. We have stayed there for the past two summers and find it to be perfect for our family. The staff is always attentive and responsive.

Room Tip: First floow rooms are easy access with a stoller and have small rear terraces. Second floor rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank46653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    90
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
115
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My family loves the Star Inn in Cape May. The location in amazing -1/2 block from the beach- and the service was fantastic- room was clean and cheery and cleaned twice a day with lots of clean towels. This is the perfect place because they have a kitchenette so you can have breakfast and or lunch there and cut down on the expense of eating out every meal- and how many meals do you want your kids eating chicken fingers anyway? You have the full beach service of Congress Hall so you don't have to bring anything to the beach except your sand toys and you can go for a dip in the congress hall pool if the ocean is too rough. Free parking, right in the perfect location and at the end of the day put the kids to bed and have a glass of wine on your private porch! See you next summer we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morgan056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Star Inn has a great location right in the heart of Cape May and we found it to be a wonderful home base for our four day stay. Close to the beach and the restaurants with super awesome air conditioning and a luxurious bed to sleep in. Loved the breakfast credits for the Blue Pig (fantastic super strong coffee) and really apprecitated the non-Victorian decor.

The one (tiny) flaw was that we found the TV hard to use and since we're young, tech saavy people that was pretty strange. Luckily, we were not there to watch TV so we didn't miss it very much.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at the Star Inn and as guests there, you have full access to Congress Hall. The inn was spotless in terms of cleanliness and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff was always pleasant and accomodating. On the day of check out, we were even able to use their FREE umbrella and lounge chair service on the beach, keep our vehicle parked in the lot and use their pool and showers before heading home after the last day at the beach! We are not accustomed to staying at high priced hotels but we were able to enjoy luxury at $225/night with the AAA discount. The food service on the beach was superb and the attendants and wait staff were genuinely nice. We felt like rich royalty during our stay. Breakfast vouchers for use at the coffee shop or the Blue Pig Tavern are included daily. The inn is only 1 block from the ocean and within 1 block of Washington St. shopping area, restaurants, etc. Highly recommended to stay here.

Room Tip: Use AAA if possible. Book earlier rather than later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OceanloverfromSCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We came here for our first anniversary and enjoyed it immensely! The rooms are small but stylish and the beds are super comfortable. The bedding itself was so luxurious and soft as well. It was very quiet on the third floor and we had a view of the ocean. Star Inn patrons have full access to Congress Hall's amenities, which is great b/c we used the umbrella, towel, and chair service every day--no lugging tons of stuff yourself, they set it all up for you. You can have food brought to you as well. Keep in mind there is no elevator and no ground floor rooms. Also although there is a coffee shop downstairs it was never open when we passed it regardless of the time, therefore you have to call Congress Hall if you need something.

Overall, I would give it 4.5 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SCD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Off season but all the attention to detail was still there. Relaxing and offering great views at below market rates. What's not to love?

Room Tip: Take multle nights for a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barec224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This past weekend my husband ran in the Ocean Drive Marathon and we stayed here at the Starr Inn. The effeiency room was just right for us, they provided not only a coffee maker and microwave but just some of the things you would need if you were going to make a quick meal on the 2 burner cook top, they also supplied plates and utensils. The room was very clean and daily maid service. They only downfall I have which was important to our stay is that you get no internet service. It is provided but you get no connection at the Inn, if you want a solid connection you must go over to Congress Hall.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
1,106 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,246 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Property: The Star
Address: 29 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a block from the ocean, The Star is a classic Cape May beach hotel, lovingly restored to provide an ideal blend of nostalgia, fresh seashore design and modern hotel comfort. The Star offers a range of accommodations to suit the needs of every type of beach traveler, including nine comfortable guestrooms, 10 motel-style efficiencies with kitchenettes, some with private backyards and two luxurious two-bedroom carriage houses featuring full-length decks overlooking the ocean. All feature imaginative, evocative décor that's inspired by the classic beach house experience with lots of bright, sunny colors and playful nautical accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May
The Star Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing