We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient to beach and shops”
Review of The Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Star
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were there for a wedding at Congress Hall, part if the Star Inn properties so all amenities were included. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in the section with a Starbucks located in the lobby. Rooms are well maintained. The rooms are cozy you would not want to hang out in there long. A beautiful ocean view from the 3rd floor. If you have a tall member in your group they must be careful not to hit their head. All in all a great place to stay and be close to everything available in Cape May. For a Cape May property the price is about average. The convenience makes it worth the cost.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deezy0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

Visited early in week . . . no children in the hotel but must admit, we could hear pretty clearly through the walls. Unit clean but needs a little touch up . . . woodwork looking beat. Loved the convenience and the ability to use the amenities at Congress Hall.

Room Tip: Second floor is a must - view of the ocean.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Mctavish3578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We spent a really great few days with my 7 month old daughter and a 3.5 year old son. Crib was provided to us, and my son slept on the pullout couch in the front. We were given plenty of sheets, pillows and blankets. The location is superb, really close to the beach. There was a great coffee shop two doors down with wifi, and there was also wifi inside the room. Someone was in the room twice a day making sure everything was super tidy and clean. I hope that I can find the same great deal next year (bought mine on Livingsocial this year at 50% off) and we would definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracer187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We recently got back from a 3 day stay at the Star Inn in early September. The location is just great. We hardly used our car. Short walk to the beach, restaurants and Washington Street Mall. Everyone at the Star Inn greeted us warmly each time we came in or went out. We loved going over to Congress Inn for breakfast with their great outdoor seating. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. Although the room was very nice I think next time we will stay on the 2nd...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

While the Star Inn room I stayed in was on the 3rd floor, it was the largest room and had a lovely view of the ocean. It was a perfect location to wander thru Cape May on foot and leave the car behind. Also we were 1 block from the ocean. Having the use of the Congress Hall amenities -- ie pool, beach lounge chairs, towels, and umbrellas was wonderful. No packing those things. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy.

Room Tip: If you want to wake up and see the ocean and have a little extra room for a few days, pick the 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrm552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here in the efficiency suites motel for a one week stay with our two primary school aged daughters in August 2012. The location really could not be better. Almost directly between the beach and the Washington Street Mall. One day at the beach we realized the closest available bathroom was our room at the inn versus walking a bit further down the beach to the public facilities! Location drives the price for the Star Inn as well as the included amenities across the street at Congress Hall. We made regular use of the pool at CH and dined at the Blue Pig twice for breakfast. Check CH reviews directly to better understand the pool, beach amenities, Blue Pig, etc.

Housekeeping service at the Star Inn was twice daily and they did a very nice job of keeping things clean. Fresh towels galore and housekeeping tried keeping our living area tables straightened up even though we had just about more stuff than would fit into the room. Bathroom was super clean at all times and very nice towels and bed linens. I could never figure out if the kitchen dishes were in or out of scope for housekeeping to take care of. Sometimes housekeeping took care of the dishes but many times not.

The Star Inn, at least the efficiency motel, takes a bit of a back seat on maintenance. When we arrived on day one, four of the six bulbs in our above-sink bathroom light were burned out. I asked to have the fixture re-lamped. Upon returning from dinner three bulbs were replaced but one was still out. I asked a second time the next day and on the second day all six lights were working. Many exterior lights on the building that reflect up on the columns were also out - I think I counted 5-6. I asked that those be fixed several times throughout the week and only about half were ever fixed. The stairway up to our room was actually quite dark as a result. The public bath on the first level in back of the main inn was pretty sub-par. Cheapest possible fixtures and about 100+ degrees in the room at all times because the bathroom shared a small space with the ice machine. We never actually used that bathroom. The upholstery in the living area if our room was well worn and really in need of replacing. Barely passable for an almost $500 night suite.

If you have young kids in strollers, the first floor is probably better for you. If kids are out of strollers I'd go for the 2nd floor. Our sleep quality was good - we only heard noise/thumping one night out of seven we think from the unit below ours.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pittsburgh_Family2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

As always great! We have been going to Cape May for 20 years & have been staying at the Star since it opened & we love it! It's intimate & cozy. We like the idea of having all the amenities at Congress Hall, without having to stay in the bigger hotel! The staff are all wonderful & helpful with anything that you might need. I liked two new things this year. Before going on our vacation in August, I received a call from Dan with the Cape May resorts group to ask if he could make any reservations for us, whether they were dinner or any excursions.He made all our dinner reservations, which was one less thing I had to worry about before leaving for our trip. Great idea! Secons, the Star now delivers breakfast to your room with advance notice. We didn't use the service, but another way to keep up with the times. It's a great place to go, sit back & just watch life in Cape May. Nice upgrades to the rooms as well! Thanks again for another wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: We stay in Room 3 every year & it is very quiet with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gootzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#16 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
0.9 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
228 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Address: 29 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £74 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a block from the ocean, The Star is a classic Cape May beach hotel, lovingly restored to provide an ideal blend of nostalgia, fresh seashore design and modern hotel comfort. The Star offers a range of accommodations to suit the needs of every type of beach traveler, including nine comfortable guestrooms, 10 motel-style efficiencies with kitchenettes, some with private backyards and two luxurious two-bedroom carriage houses featuring full-length decks overlooking the ocean. All feature imaginative, evocative décor that's inspired by the classic beach house experience with lots of bright, sunny colors and playful nautical accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May
The Star Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing