We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B in Cape May” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Star
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming B&B in Cape May”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Very nice B&B right in Cape May - close to beach and town, across from Congress Hall. Our package allowed sue of the Sea Spa at Congress Hall. Nice decor. I always feel a good luxurious bed make the room and our room was perfect. Roomy with down pillows and comforter. The Blue Pig Tavern in Congress Hall had amazing food. We back the second night it was that good. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    90
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had a quite and comfortable stay in room #6. It had a 3 bay window with an ocean view and a King size bed. The room was spacious enough for a 2 night stay. The bathroom was small but very clean. This was my first time at Cape May, so I didn’t know what to expect, location wise, and it was excellent! Parked when we got there and then used shoe leather express to get around!! My expectations were met from the “Star Inn” definitely will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Booked 4 days prior to the Holiday weekend, only 2 rooms left, so not much to choose from. Ended up with a room with a bathroom. Very small, pretty tight and we aren't very big people, but yet served the purpose for a 2 night stay in the heart of everything! Parked the car Friday and didn't get back in until Sunday to drive home. Amanda at the front desk was so helpful and friendly. Would stay at the Star Inn again, but will book early enough to get a bigger room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiserjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, especially the bed! Just a couple of minor problems......the wind was howling and the rooms were a little chilly, and the bedroom TV was frozen onto some cable message that I couldn't clear. That wasn't important to me, as compared to the level of customer service provided! I let the desk in Congress Hall know that I couldn't find a hair dryer, and the gal appeared at the door of my room five minutes later with a brand new dryer in her hand! The major deficiency was I couldn't get the alarm clock to work! Despite the minor setbacks, I loved the Star, and really appreciated being given a first floor room! I look forward to returning to Cape May, and to staying in Congress Hall or The Star!

Room Tip: If you can climb one set of stairs, try to get the second floor of The Star, as I understand there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbshowband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was our second stay at the Star Inn. Our first stay was in the actual Inn and our second stay was in a second floor motel suite (great view of ocean). We found the room to be comfortable and clean and would definitely book again in the future. We took advantage of their spring promotion and enoyed a $20.00 credit toward our breakfast at the Blue Pig (enjoyed the real fireplace on a soggy March day). As another visitor noted; great value for the money spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugger10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We took advantage of an off-season weekend offer, and enjoyed the 2nd floor suite in the hotel. The two rooms were just right, with a kitchen/living room and good-sized tv (as opposed to the microscopic one in the bedroom, which my wife thought was a computer monitor). It really was a pleasant stay, with proximity to the beach, as well as Congress Hall, where we enjoyed the fire and people-watched. As another commenter has noted, this is not the Ritz, but it is cozy and comfortable, and made for a reasonably-priced winter escape.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelbMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I've been here one time before, and it is always clean! The location couldn't get any better, right in town in the middle of everything! It also is a great value for what you get! Blue pig tavern is great too!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Believe06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Property: The Star
Address: 29 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a block from the ocean, The Star is a classic Cape May beach hotel, lovingly restored to provide an ideal blend of nostalgia, fresh seashore design and modern hotel comfort. The Star offers a range of accommodations to suit the needs of every type of beach traveler, including nine comfortable guestrooms, 10 motel-style efficiencies with kitchenettes, some with private backyards and two luxurious two-bedroom carriage houses featuring full-length decks overlooking the ocean. All feature imaginative, evocative décor that's inspired by the classic beach house experience with lots of bright, sunny colors and playful nautical accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May
The Star Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing