We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
931 Beach Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The perfect location, clean, rooms are lovely, what can I say? I can't wait to go back! Lisa and Rebecca are wonderful and welcoming.

Some helpful info:
They do have beach chairs available for your use, was pleasantly surprised about that.
No ice available, so pick up a bag if you need ice...there is some available right up the road.
They have beach towels available for your use also, so convenient!

Love this place! We had a great time! Thank you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susanpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Clean, great location, on the trollies route. These are all good things
things we would have liked more of better continental breakfast very limited
and no ice machine that was a real pain had to walk or drive for ice.
3rd floor too many stairs for me. Overall this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MCMARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachAvenue, Manager at 931 Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hello McMare,

Thank you for staying at 931 Beach Avenue and for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

The Continental Breakfast offered has always been simple as we are a Guest House and not a Bed and Breakfast. If we had all of those facilities we would offer more. I apologize that the breakfast did not meet your expectations.

I am glad it appears that you had a good stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first trip to Cape May and we just adored 931 Beach Guest House. We have a coastal home and love coastal decor which is how the house was decorated...not overly Victorian like others we checked into. Liza was just a doll and made our visit exceptional. Our room was adorable and there were so many nice touches...beach chairs, towels, etc. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nites and will not stay anywhere else. LiZa is very friendly, professional, and has impeccable taste in decorating. Beach towels were appreciated, and every room is warm and inviting. Very excited for my next visit. Make sure to book online to receive a discount.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Tennis8763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for a few nights in June at this B&B. We are not big fans of B&B but a few that we stayed in we really liked the hospitality and the breakfast. The hospitality was great, Liza, the inn keeper was really nice and accommodating. Proximity to the beach couldn't have been much better.

Breakfast was not up to par. It starts pretty late at 8am. Here is the limited breakfast options: Coffee, Orange Juice, mostly Plain Bagels that didn't seem to be fresh, Plain Cream Cheese, and some desert that is not fresh since it's pre-packaged. No decaf tea or coffee. I would expect from B&B to have fresh breakfast and if not that at least give more choices like yogurt and fruit. There are so many great breakfast options in the area that it almost makes sense to either provide at least as good breakfast or give people the option to not have breakfast and remove this from the bill.

Everything was clean, although there was an issue with stains on all of our towels which was promptly resolved. Also we like fresh ocean air but half of the windows that we tried opening, wouldn't open or wouldn't stay open. Soap dispenser in the bathroom wasn't working, so we ended up buying our own soap.

The common patio outside is really nice. Also they provide you with beach chairs and beach towels.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EEZ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachAvenue, Manager at 931 Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Glad it seem that you had a good stay, my apologies that is was not perfect. But your comments are appreciated as they will help us do better. I would like to address the comments about “B&Bs”. 931 is not a Bed and Breakfast. Trip Advisor will not allow us to be categorized as a Bed and Breakfast as we do not offer the services to qualify as a B&B. In Cape May a B&B normally provides a hot breakfast. We are not setup to offer this service. I hope that our home page communicates that 931’s breakfast is limited in its scope. I do apologize for any disappointment. Know the other items you mentioned have been addressed. Thank you for bringing these matter to our attention and for commenting of the parts of your stay you did enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We just returned from a rejuvenating family weekend at Cape May. We stayed at the beautiful, bright and clean 931 Beach Guest House. We stayed in the adjoining rooms The Cove and Bay Meadow. We were a bit nervous about our first trip to the beach with our young 17-month-old son, but Innkeeper Liza was so very thoughtful and accommodating of our situation. There was never a moment when we didn't feel very well taken care of. The rooms were so bright and cheerfully decorated in a creative seaside motif, and my son loved crawling around the very large private balcony with its beautiful ocean views.

The close proximity of the guest house to the beach also helped take away much of the stress that comes with hauling all the accoutrement parents need for a day at the beach with young kids. We were so sad to leave and can not wait to return to 931 Beach!

Room Tip: The Cove has a huge private balcony with lovely lounge chairs and umbrella to soak in the peaceful o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannelore C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were fortunate enough to get a beautiful room at 931 Beach Guest House for the first weekend in May. This was our choice for Cape May accommodations for our 35th wedding anniversary.

LiZa, the manager, blew us away with her exceptional service and endearing personality. A long-time resident, LiZa advised us on restaurants, events to attend, etc. I had asked her to place a floral arrangement in our room prior to our arrival, and when we opened the door to the room, we were greeted with a spotless, gorgeous room and wonderful fragrance from the flowers she provided.

The room (The Cove) faced directly onto the beach and had a massive deck with chaise lounge chairs and a table, which served it's purpose, as Liza provided a tray of breakfast goodies and a carafe of coffee every morning.

I'm not a travel writer, nor an employee of the establishment…just a very satisfied guest that will NEVER stay anywhere else in Cape May as long as we're able to visit.

Room Tip: Make sure to get one of the ocean-facing rooms… They're WELL worth the few extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LevysTravelPros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#17 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 931 Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 931 Beach Guest House

Address: 931 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1611
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Cape May
Price Range: £105 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
931 Beach House's eight guest suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own kitchenettes and bathrooms. Situated directly across from the Atlantic Ocean we offers guests the ultimate beachfront experience in America's oldest seaside resort, Cape May, New Jersey. A complimentary Continental Breakfast is included with your stay. The house has a Wrap-Around Porch with Rocking Chairs. We can supply you with Beach Chairs or Towels if needed. We are Family Friendly and look forward to making your vacation in Cape May an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
931 Beach Guest House Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing