We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Cape May”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bacchus Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bacchus Inn
Ranked #13 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Cape May”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Bacchus Inn is the place to stay in Cape May. This is our second trip to Cape May and John again made the trip a great one. Starting with a wonderful breakfast that did not repeat for 7 days, the 5:00 wine and cheese where everyone laughs, and then the care that he takes to make sure you get the eating destination you are looking for, it is service and value. We will be back!

Room Tip: It is worth it to choose a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    17
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
155
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
317 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Got lucky when someone cancelled at the last minute and even luckier when I called to grab that room. Very comfortable in the Bordeaux and even more comfortable rocking on the front porch. Barb knows her way around the kitchen and John always looking to make our stay more enjoyable. Bikes, chairs, beach towels made our stay a lot easier. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My beau and I have stayed here two years in a row in November (the weekend we pull the boat). We liked it so much the first time, we decided to make it an annual event. I am so looking forward to our visit this November (for which I have yet to call and reserve a room). The manager is so attentive, friendly, and sweet. I love the wine and cheese set out every afternoon - so decadent and a delightful opportunity to relax before heading off for dinner. In November, the little electric fireplace in the enclosed sun porch is on, making the little porch so cozy. We've stayed in two different rooms, both clean with comfortable beds, (one had an electric fireplace, which was so fabulous) and subtle Victorian decor touches. What I like about the atmosphere here is that they don't go overboard with the Victorian-ness...I've stayed in places that make you want to keep your eyes shut for the amount of Victorian chachkis and wallpaper and decoration....the Bacchus has the dark tones and heavy wood of a classic Victorian, but keeps the decor reins tastefully in hand. The breakfasts are plentiful, timely, and delicious. And finally, we always enjoy meeting and chatting with our fellow guests over coffee and breakfast - a fun way to end our season in Cape May. I recommend the Bacchus in any season, without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you get cold like I do, ask for a room with an electric fireplace, especially in colder weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Located 4 blocks from the beach, the Bacchus is a great B&B. There is ample street parking. The breakfasts are delicious and the owners are happy to make help with anything you need. The wine and cheese happy hour is a great way to meet fellow guests. The rooms are clean and well air-conditioned. A small issue was that the owner, John, while very kind, can be overbearing in conversation and sometimes says things which are off-color.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Platna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was our second trip to the Bacchus Inn in Cape May and my husband and I will certainly be returning again next year. Both times we've been here, the service and accommodations have been excellent. We stayed in the Rhone Room, which is a standard queen, last year and the Sonoma Valley Room, an economy queen, this year. Both had comfortable beds and their own bathroom. The Rhone Room was slightly larger and had a TV, but the Sonoma Valley Room worked just fine for us this year as we didn't spend much time in the room anyway.

The breakfast has never disappointed. The menu alternates between a sweet main dish and a savory one every day. There is usually fruit to start out with and then the main dish. This time we had eggs in a puff pastry with a side of ham the first day and an orange-raspberry french toast with a side of turkey sausage the second day. All of it was great!

There is also the wine and cheese happy hour every day from 4-5pm, which really sets the Bacchus Inn apart from other hotels and B&Bs. They usually have a red, a white, a sangria, and a variety of cheeses.

Finally, John and Lisa are wonderful hosts. We have mostly dealt with John and he is just so friendly. He remembered us from last year and even asked about my husband's job. You can tell he really loves people and just talking to them about their lives. I love chatting with him about things to do in Cape May and hearing about his adventures running the inn.

If you're looking for a place to stay in Cape May, I'd highly suggest checking out the Bacchus Inn. It's just a couple of blocks from the beach and the hospitality can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
245 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

another trip to cape may we always stay at Baccus inn while we are in at the shore The Owners John and Lisa always make you feel right at home from the gormet breaskfast to the afternoon wine and cheese rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated excellant location just park the car and walk to the beach or restaurant everything with in walking distance which is wonderful so if you love the bed and breakfast experience this is the place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Bacchus Inn is an amazing and very charming Inn. I have stayed at 9 or 10 other B&B's. This was definitely the best. We stayed here to celebrate my birthday, and will definitely be back. (Hopefully, soon) :-)

The owners, John and Lisa have not forgotten anything to make your stay the most pleasant experience. The rooms are very comfy and clean. The linens and towels are very soft and fresh! The breakfasts that Barbara made for us were so yummy. She makes a different breakfast every morning. There is also coffee and tea always available, along with fresh fruit and muffins each morning. They also have a refrigerator and freezer available for your use. We had our choice of rooms, as it was the middle of the week in June, and not as crowded as most of the summer. We picked room #5. It was very spacious, with a flat screen TV, and a DVD player. It also had a great shower.
You can also find many books and magazines about the area. They have a large selection of DVD's, too.

John welcomed us upon our arrival and made us feel right at home. He offered us wine and cheese on the porch between 4 and 5. Cookies and fruit were available, also. John is very knowledgeable about anything you would like to know about the house, the restaurants, or the town of Cape May, itself.

He recommended a great restaurant for my birthday dinner, and even called to make reservations. We didn't get a chance to go to the beach this trip, but they offer bikes, and beach chairs for your use. And there is also an outside shower. It's just a short walk to all of the shops and restaurants. We had no problem with finding a parking space, but they also offer some on-site parking. We did some shopping, and went on a carriage ride, which was very romantic. The driver told us a lot of history about the town.

We met some very nice people during our stay, and we can not wait to visit The Bacchus again!!! It was truly a remarkable experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenWags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bacchus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bacchus Inn

Property: The Bacchus Inn
Address: 719 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2307
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John & Lisa Matusiak welcome you to their charming seasideCape May Bed & Breakfast. The Bacchus Inn is located in the primary historic district of Cape May New Jersey and is only a short walk from the fabulous shops, restaurants, and Cape May Beaches. The inn consists of 2 buildings, which are across the street from one another; the "Main House" and the "Cottage". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bacchus Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing