We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bacchus Inn
Ranked #11 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stay at the Bacchus Inn several times a year, and now many of our friends have also come to love this B&B! John and Lisa are almost like family and we have watched their family grow. Each room has its own special charm, from the larger and more luxurious to the smaller cozier rooms. We have stayed in quite a few of them, and have enjoyed all of them. The breakfests are always exceptional, but the wine and cheese hour is our favorite time to sit and relax on the front porch talking to new friends we've met during our stay. We always look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonysr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

John and Lisa do their utmost to make you feel welcome and special. The rooms are comfortable and well designed. Lisa makes the best breakfasts that even my picky husband will eat! Thank you to John and Lisa for taking the time and making the effort to make us feel welcome, comfortable and like one of the family!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanbill98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We found the Bacchus Inn online and hoped it lived up to the pictures. It did. What the pictures don't show are the innkeepers and the peace.

I found the front porch a good spot to curl up with a book. There is a fireplace there that offers a cozy spot to relax. I am a early riser so it was nice to get out of the room and go downstairs to read before breakfast. The enclosed porch is just off the dining area.

My girlfriend enjoyed breakfast the most. Breakfast was at 9:00 but John was out with coffee and muffins about 7:30. It didn't matter to me because they have a little coffee maker on the porch which I used about 6. Breakfast was great. Lisa made these savory eggs with a side of bacon and fruit. She is as good a cook as a host. She made us dinner reservations that evening.

They have bikes which were nice. It was a little cool but if you stay off the oceanfront it is not cold. Biking is a great way to get around.

We stayed in the Napa room. It looks like the picture. THe room has a lot of light so make sure you draw the blinds if you like it dark in the morning. THe room has a TV. The bed was fine.

In the afternoon they have refreshments. I enjoyed a glass of wine and some cheese. Ok, 2 glasses of wine. My friend had lemonade. We both had some cookies. John is a nice host. He knows the restaurants that gave us several options. The other couple at the inn had been there before and said they really enjoyed the innkeepers company. I have to agree.

John and Lisa will see us again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaca_guyNJUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

This was the third year we stayed and the Bacchus Inn and each time has been wonderful. John and Lisa always take time to talk even though we know they have to be extremely busy. The Bacchus Inn is close to the beach and shopping areas. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed even a DVD player. There are a variety of books and DVD's. They provided beach towels, beach chairs, and bikes. I love the wine and cheese and cookies in the afternoon. It's always a relaxing time chatting with the other guest on the front porch. Breakfasts are delicious! I can't say enough about The Bacchus Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csisti11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We've been going to Cape May for quite a few years and this was our first time at the Bacchus Inn. We'll be back again though because it's everything you'd want in a B&B. The bedroom was comfortable, had a tv and dvd player, and just enough space. The bathroom was a little small, but not cramped, and had a shower stall with lots of spouts and options of water sprays. Our room was listed as a deluxe, and offered on site parking, but not all rooms had that included. They offered a hearty breakfast, and a daily wine and cheese gathering. This would be a perfect B&B for first-time B&B guests.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiddo104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We celebrated our 10 year Anniversary at The Bacchus Inn. Our room was perfect.....clean, spacious, gorgeous furnishings and a private bath. Lisa and John are the Innkeepers who make you feel so at home. Our breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. It is very easy to understand why most of the guests are repeat guests. We will be also.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabayhoundNewark_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

My wife and I enjoyed our stay so much we added an extra day. I truly believe that says it all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProspectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Peter Shields Inn
The Peter Shields Inn
#9 of 40 in Cape May
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bacchus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bacchus Inn

Address: 719 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2307
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £60 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John & Lisa Matusiak welcome you to their charming seasideCape May Bed & Breakfast. The Bacchus Inn is located in the primary historic district of Cape May New Jersey and is only a short walk from the fabulous shops, restaurants, and Cape May Beaches. The inn consists of 2 buildings, which are across the street from one another; the "Main House" and the "Cottage". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bacchus Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing