We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained resort close to Cape May & Wildwood beaches”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachcomber Camping Resort
New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Well maintained resort close to Cape May & Wildwood beaches”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our first time staying at this resort. It was sold out for Labor Day weekend. The highlights were the VIP spots with concrete pad and full hookups were wide enough for at least 3 RVs so u were not on top of one another. The sites closest to front were angled and easy to get into but others in CG would be a problem. The cable as mentioned requiring renting a box but this is not CG issue but the cable company requirement so have no choice. The amenities were good with multiple pools, lake, boat rentals, golf cart rentals and on site food shack. There is also key card requirement to get in but if you leave off hours, they will refund the fee. The only downside was older bathrooms were not that clean but probably due to the large holiday crowd. Otherwise they were picking up garbage, cleaning up stuff, etc. The food shack was pretty good too. Also, it is right next to landing strip for airport so get a nice view of planes(small ones) landing. Location was idea as it was in middle for visiting Cape May or Wildwood. Walmart is very close too. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtbr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    24
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
51
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not big rig friendly as advertised, if you have anything over 30' select with care. Sites hard to back into and corners are very tight.
Campground is clean and well maintained, but for the price and the extra fees for everything it should be!!!
Convenient to the beach and shore, the only reason for staying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerseybob608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We were looking for an affordable Labor Day (weekend) in Cape May, but the prices of the hotels were astronomical. We decided to look at camp grounds. Beachcombers offered the best rates for the amenities provided. We rented a loft cabin and were pleasantly surprised by how new and how clean it was! Although the Resort was at near capacity, it wasn't crowded. If you rent a golf cart, take a ride around the property and say hi to the chickens and turkeys!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O&Msmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have been to Beachcomber 7-8 times and are always happy with the facilities and people.
Sites are somewhat hard to get into if you have a tall or over 28 ft trailer. Lake is nice with a good beach area. Pools are clean and they have a few -one adult pool IIRC. Cable TV worked good -lots of channels but you have to get the $#@^% Comcast box from office. Not Beachcombers fault-Comcast just sucks at home too. Close to most attractions and FREE Wildwood beaches.
BIG PLUS - Wildwood outlawed the clowns with the saggy pants GOOD FOR WW !!!!!
VIP sites are very nice with concrete pads though the globe lites at the site entrances are one of the reasons the sites are hard long trailers
Going back next week

Room Tip: Get a site map -walk around and mark which sites you like and fit in We did and it made booking our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjrfd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Lots of good activities for kids, and I didn't bring any little kids but I did noticed all the fun things for them. Great playground area and pool, kayak and paddle boat rentals were very cheap. great location to stores and attractions. Very clean bathrooms. The two things I didn't like, the golf carts were ridiculous, people were zooming by day and night. LOTS of golf carts! The other thing is it's right by Cape May airport and some of the planes that went over were very loud especially early in the morning, not a nice sound to wake up too. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have been going here since I was a baby. My family used to have a seasonal membership. But it became a little too expensive. You could stay here for a day and not worry about going out and be entertained. They have a couple pools, a baby pool, a nice lake that you can swim at and I think two ponds you can fish at which is why I was not sure about the other reviewer who said there was only fishing ponds. Also, they provide you with a map of the campground when you check in. The sites of the seasonal members are so nice and well kept. It is a beautiful campground. It is nice to take walks around at night. One thing I absolutely love is the huge playground they have in the sand by the lake. Also, if you have children they offer arts and crafts in the morning and they always have something going on for example parties in the pavillion. It is a very clean place. When I went the game room was open til nine o clock. Usually they do not bother you and might let you stay a little longer. As far as rude employees, they seemed fine to me. Mostly teens and a couple of older people at the check in. I am returning in August and I am extremely excited. I fell in love with the beachcomber.

Room Tip: The park models are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggg3386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

They bill themselves as a campground RESORT but no wifi except in what they call a pravilion which is nothing more than a pole shed. A roof with one side. Nothing to keep out the heat and the bugs.
The office closes at 6 PM so heaven help you if you need anything or have questions after that time. They also lock the game room then.
Laundry facilities expensive.
Grounds very confusing and no one to help you find your way.
There is no beach here in spite of the name. Some sand on one small stretch of a little pond where swimming and pets are not allowed.
Had to upgrade to a more expensive campsite because the cheaper ones were a muddy mess.
They advertise cable TV but we couldn't get it to work and nobody to ask what the problem might be.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank WorldWonderer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May
4.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
3.9 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seashore Campsites & RV Resort
9.6 mi away
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort
Big Timber Lake Family Camping R...
#1 of 5 in Cape May Court House
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Camping Resort

Property: Beachcomber Camping Resort
Address: 462 Seashore Rd, Cape May, NJ 08204-4714
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cape May
Number of rooms: 800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent, family owned camping resort run by the second generation of the founding family. The owners live on-site, year-round to address your camping needs. We are a 100 Acre Wooded Park with full service resort amenities. We are just 4 short miles to Cape May & Wildwood. We boast 2 Sparkling, Spring-Fed Lakes with a large sandy white beach & Tug Boat Rides (in season), 3 Adult & 3 Kiddie Pools. We are big rig friendly, tent friendly & everything in between! Pets are welcome at Beachcomber! We have Pet Friendly Rentals, also! Try for yourself & see why "It's Better at the Beach!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Camping Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing