We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lobster House

The Lobster House
Ranked #14 of 136 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fair”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

restaurant was noisy, service was fair and food was average. Lobster and shrimp were overcooked, expensive for what you got! Wouldn't recommend or go back

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,284
    832
    433
    205
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fresh food! Good for large groups!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We showed up with a party of 8 and had to wait a little while. Personally, I think a good wait is important. It shows the restaurant is popular. We went out back to the Schooner Bar and enjoyed a cocktail and the water. We were seated within an hour (we showed up at 7pm) and the server was very patient with us and our friends. We had a total of 4 kids with us. We all had unique orders. The food was brought out timely, and hot! The seafood was very fresh and cooked perfectly! Staff was very friendly and accommodated our special requests. Great Stop while in Cape May!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MimBuck97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best fresh flounder - eat out on the deck!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We've been going to the Lobster House for the past 3 years -- we sit out on the deck and do the "take out" window -- if you it it right, you'll be fine in terms of seating -- we try to get there around 5:30 or so. It is a hassle to try and find a table, but it's definitely part of the charm! They also have a bar, and keep in mind that you have to ALL go up to purchase drinks (if you buy a pitcher of beer, everyone who will be sharing it has to go up to get their own cup). Every year, we get the fried flounder and french fries -- I don't know what they do with it, but the flounder is just PERFECT. The views of the fishing fleet, the smell of the docks -- that's what seaside is all about!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kikibat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a great beach restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I grew up going to South Carolina beaches and since moving to New Jersey 10 years ago and vacationing on the shore I've been longing to go to a restaurant similar to those at Murrel's Inlet. I finally found it at the Lobster House.

The atmosphere was fantastic. While very busy,the staff is organized and runs you through the wait process with ease. Our wait at 6pm on a Saturday was 45 minutes, but there was plenty of open room at the bar area to wait. The bar looks like Ralph Lauren's crazy uncle's hunting lodge- I loved it. They also served cocktails in old fashioned glasses. Pub cheese and crackers flanked the tables along with an oyster bar. It made me want to get a dirty martini and kick back.

My kids loved walking to the different areas do the restaurant. My daughter thought the dining area on the boat was amazing and my son got a kick out of watching the "big boats" come in.

When we finally got sat it was worth the wait. We did not hold back- we started with a dozen oysters and a bottle of wine. The wine selection was sparse, but that didn't matter. I got the soft shell crab, which was excellent. The service was excellent. The waiter was very knowledgable about the menu and good with kids. Lots of bussers, which I love. I hate having plates pile up on the table and they were quick to clear and ready the table for the next course.

The atmosphere was casual but you can still have an extremely nice meal here. Probably one of our favorite meals over the weekend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy56411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huge Attendance So Prepare For A Wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a hugely popular restaurant (and take out place) so be prepared to wait (no reservations). They have a huge seafood and dessert market for take out that is fascinating to view while waiting and they have a bar area with tables for waiting. Food was very good. I had snapper soup and seafood pasta. They have a fresh-baked multi-grain bread you slice at the table (we went through several loaves). If you get there early enough there is a view out to the fishing fleet and dock area, especially from the second floor dining area. There is a huge stone parking lot but you may have to hunt for a space due to the popularity.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zap2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobster House also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing