We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mad Batter

The Mad Batter
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mad Batter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lafayette Street
Description: A Cape May tradition for over 30 years! The nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant is located at the Carroll Villa Hotel in the heart of the historic district. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts and cocktails are served on the European-style front porch, garden terrace, and sky-lit dining room. Breakfast offerings include fresh squeezed juices, homemade fruit breads, and entrees such as crab benedict, oatmeal pancakes, or orange & almond french toast. Lunch entrees include the Maryland crab cake sandwich, fish & chips, and Waldorf chicken, as well as an assortment of salads. Dinner options are always inventive and the seafood is extraordinary. Entrees include award-winning jumbo lump crab cakes, juicy steaks, chicken and fresh fish specials daily. A sumptuous selection of desserts is made daily. The Mad Batter Bar features Happy Hour, 19 beers on tap, a reasonably priced wine list, and a martini list sure to please. Live music and special events are planned throughout the year.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We love the food and out door seating. It is a nice way to enjoy a meal in capemay. Price is high but it is matched but excellent food. Will return.

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Michael L,

Thanks for writing a review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    570
    225
    74
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Gluten free ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Big portions
unhappy waitress
nice garden in back
slow service
took my American express
Large gluten free menue

Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sean F,

Thank you for writing a review. Sorry you had slow service and an unhappy waitress, but we are glad that you liked our Gluten free menu. We try our best to accommodate every person as best as we can. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beware of unhappy hour when you arrive at five”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had reservations for 5 pm, arrived a few minutes prior and werevtold could not be seated yet and go to the bar for happy hour, even though restaurant was empty. Were told drinks were 1/2 orice, so ordered an orange crush from the board. Turns out, they were not on they1/2 price list and my friend did not care for hers. We felt a bit duped, asked bartender if he could take her drink off bill. He checked with manager, she said no. Then, we were seated in the garden room, which is not open to the garden, and the noise from the air conditioner unit made it sound like we were dining on a plane! We spoke with the manager directly about our experience in the bar, and she basically said tough luck, did not apologize, or make any effort to find out what she could dovto make us happy. Our waitress was fabulous, the food was okay, but maybe it would have tasted better if we felt like the management even cared one bit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Kathy B,

We apologize that you felt you had a bad experience with your visit at our bar during Happy Hour. There is a Happy Hour menu available for every customer to read and our goal is to make sure every customer leaves happy. We're sorry again if there was confusion about the price of our regular drinks and our Happy Hour drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Ate there last year and went again this year with a group. Great atmosphere but the food was a little pricey for the quality.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Anna P,

Thank you for writing a review. We hope you decide to come join us again when you are in Cape May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Casual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We ate here and it was more casual than the Ebbet Room but very good food and nice atmosphere on the porch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear gth89,

Thanks for writing a review. We are happy you liked everything. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mad Batter also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Mad Batter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing