We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Bar is a throwback to the 60's”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mad Batter

The Mad Batter
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mad Batter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 136 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lafayette Street
Description: A Cape May tradition for over 30 years! The nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant is located at the Carroll Villa Hotel in the heart of the historic district. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts and cocktails are served on the European-style front porch, garden terrace, and sky-lit dining room. Breakfast offerings include fresh squeezed juices, homemade fruit breads, and entrees such as crab benedict, oatmeal pancakes, or orange & almond french toast. Lunch entrees include the Maryland crab cake sandwich, fish & chips, and Waldorf chicken, as well as an assortment of salads. Dinner options are always inventive and the seafood is extraordinary. Entrees include award-winning jumbo lump crab cakes, juicy steaks, chicken and fresh fish specials daily. A sumptuous selection of desserts is made daily. The Mad Batter Bar features Happy Hour, 19 beers on tap, a reasonably priced wine list, and a martini list sure to please. Live music and special events are planned throughout the year.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Bar is a throwback to the 60's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We only went to the bar as we heard a band only to find a group of folks who look like they stepped out of the late 60's. If you are into that, it is fine, we just wanted to listen to music and have a drink. The mojito's were not good and I overheard some of the other people complaining about the round of shots they ordered. I wouldn't go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1Whitedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear 1Whitedog,
We are sorry that the music playing on the night that you visited didn't suit your fancy. Please remember that we have live music every night from 7-10, Open Mic is on Sundays! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    576
    227
    75
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Time, Not Bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Speed of service was fair.
Salad was nice and fresh.
Menu was good, they had vegan options !
Indoor and outdoor seating.
Serve Alcohol.
Price, Its a shore area, got to expect it to be a little higher.
If I am in the area I will try it for Breakfast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 676RobertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear 676robertc,
Thank you for the review! We look forward to seeing you again soon, come back and try our happy hour. Everyday at the bar, 3-6!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our family has long enjoyed breakfast at the Mad Batter. We have had dinner or lunch there on a few occasions, but prefer the Mad Batter for breakfast. The food is fresh and the portions pretty generous. A good option is to go around 10 or 11 and make it a brunch. This is both a family friendly place that also is very grown-up. It pulls off its casual but not too casual atmosphere to perfection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herezaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear herezaq,
Thank you for your review! It is our goal to make sure everyone who joins us for a meal at the Mad Batter leaves as happy as you have and returns just as excited. We look forward to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland County, NY
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wish this Restaurant was Closer to my Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Normally when I go away for the weekend, I do a lot a research to find the best restaurant around, starting off with reviews from Tripadvisor. In this case however, I didn't look for any other restaurant because we were guests at the hotel associated with it and as a guest, we were offered a pretty good discount for dinner and breakfasts were included. I'm so glad we had the opportunity to eat here.

For dinner I had the clam chowder which had big chunks of clams in it and was deliciously creamy. My main course was Chilean Sea Bass which just melted in your mouth. Yum!! Portion size was very good and unfortunately we had no room for dessert because I'm sure that would have been terrific too. There had been a delay in our main course being served but the waitress was very apologetic. We didn't really mind because we were sitting on the porch and the atmosphere and the weather was pleasant.

We ate two breakfasts at The Mad Batter, arriving when the restaurant first opened. Within ten minutes all the tables were full and almost all morning there were people waiting to get it. Fortunately we never waited but even if we did, it would have been worth it. Everything was fresh and the bacon was the best bacon I ever had. Service was friendly and attentive. The Mad Batter is one of the main reasons that I want to go back to Cape May soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Want2travelallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear want2travel,
Thank you for your review! It makes us so happy to know that you were so pleased with your experience at the Mad Batter! We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This place was on our list of places to check out and were so glad we did! We biked there early in the am and we're seated right away. I had the buttermilk pancakes and my husband had the oatmeal blueberry. We loved it! It was definitely a special place and well worth it. We hope to comeback!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear travelingswans,

Thank you for writing a review about us. We are happy that you and your husband enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mad Batter also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Mad Batter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing