We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and a good vibe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rusty Nail

The Rusty Nail
Ranked #51 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Price range: US$7 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "The Nail," as it's known by the locals, is the famed iconic surfer bar and restaurant that made a name for itself in the '70s. And it's right here at the Beach Shack, just steps away from your room. From lifeguards and surfers to beautiful beach bunnies, they all gathered around the wood bar that was rumored to be the longest in all of Cape May. Now it's your turn to join in the fun for breakfast, lunch, dinner or its famed happy hour. Kids' meals are served on a souvenir Beach Shack Frisbee, giving you a fun after-dinner activity. Indoor spaces spill into outdoor seating, sand bar, fire pit and shuffleboard. Young, old and even four-legged friends are invited in from the beach for live entertainment and Rusty Nail's beach blanket comfort food that can also be wrapped to go.
sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food and a good vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good value American food - the nachos, ribs and burgers were family favourites, but apart from the chicken wings nothing disappointed us (and our group probably ate its way through the whole menu!).
The bar offers good cocktails, and the staff was very helpful about customising their drinks to our taste.
Live entertainment - somedays great, some days less so.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank susalaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    170
    104
    45
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great outdoor atmosphere, average food & drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I came to The Rusty Nail with a few friends to watch one of the World Cup soccer games and it was a really fun, beachy atmosphere to watch the game! The Rusty Nail is the place to be if you are looking for a great outdoor spot to drink and hang out, but don't expect anything fancy here. It is your typical sticky-floored bar with below average food and overpriced drinks and nasty bathrooms.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wreaks Of Stale Beer and Bar Odor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had lunch here with friends and sat on the indoor patio (which is however partially open to the street and beach). While the food was certainly decent (though nothing to write home about) the indoor bar, which we had to pass through to see the hostess and be seated, was absolutely putrid smelling and wreaked of a combination of stale beer and "bar odor". i doubt we would ever return. The crowd here is also on the "rough side" so not suitable for families.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank topshelfplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashland, pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had dinner here one night with friends. Very good food (we both had seafood dinners. I loved the scallops & the baked yam was done just perfect. Clams casino was very good. & my husband raved about his seafood combo. The atmosphere here is very nice ( we sat outside). They have really nice outside seating areas & an outside bar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank maryAshland_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were recommended to try this place on our first night when we arrived in Cape May. We didn't have a reservation and arrived at 7 pm. We were told the wait for a table would be 1/2 hour. We went to the sand pit area with our hungry children and ordered some appetizers. It took 45 minutes to bring them veggies and dip and still no table. After getting a table, we then had to wait until 9 pm when we finally received food. The food was tasteless, overcooked and our kids were exhausted. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rusty Nail also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Rusty Nail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing