We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably our best meal in Cape May in 5 years!”

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Franklin St
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Probably our best meal in Cape May in 5 years!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We ate here Wednesday evening and were very impressed! We were a few minutes late for our 7:30 reservation but were quickly and pleasantly greeted by the owner. We were offered an outside table and quickly greeted by our server. The pace of the service was very good - neither rushed nor slow. The food was excellent. I highly recommend the corn and crab soup. The calamari was also praised by my brother in-law. Two of us had the crab cakes and I had the filet mignon - these were excellent. My sister in-law had the shrimp which she thought were very good but slightly over cooked. Save room for the deserts! Overall an excellent experience. We will return soon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    62
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“innovative and delicious!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have had the opportunity to eat at Blue rose twice. Sunday August 12 with another couple and August 15th for my 50th birthday celebration with my family. Both times the service was perfect and the food truly delicious. Every entree is clearly thought out and prepared with a new innovative flair. Truly unique but not fussy. Wonderful atmosphere as well and bringing your own wine another plus. It's great that the menu isn't overloaded everything they do is done to perfection. The scallops outstanding as well as the pork ragut over papperadelle but honestly everything is delish. We will continue to go again and again !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank befit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat in Cape May!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The food and service are outstanding. There were four of us for dinner and all of our meals were excellent, very gourmet. The menu had something special for everyone. Even oysters on the half shell were better than anywhere else we tried and we had eaten at many different places. The owner and his staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We ordered the cheesecake for dessert and it consisted of three different cheesecakes and all three were excellent. The atmosphere is wonderful because you can actually have wonderful dinner conversation, many of the other restaurants were way to noisy. We had a great table on the Victorian porch overlooking the street, and it was very peaceful and relaxing.You will want to eat here more than once!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrailsi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
“A New Favorite”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The atmosphere is a beautiful setting on a quaint, charming porch with gentle breezes. Soft background music of Sinatra and Martin accentuated our conversation. Service was attentive and friendly with the owners stopping at tables to chat. Food from appetizers to pastas to main courses to desserts was delicious. Hangar steak and crabcakes stood out as fine entrees. The apple crostata with the caramel topping was the dessert winner.
In sum, it was a fine meal in a wonderful setting and a new favorite among our Cape May restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conaxe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclean, virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The nicest people. Fantastic service. Beautiful porch. The owners and the staff were so gracious. What a gem! We were walking by and so happy to find this place. So different from some of the touristy places in town and so nice in service. They deserve the best review just for their graciousness.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BitaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing