We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Comfortable and Affordable”
Review of Buckingham Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buckingham Motel
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Comfortable and Affordable”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed here for our second time and loved it! Had our 8 month old with us and truly enjoyed the close proximity to the beach and walking distance to restaurants and attractions. Some may be put off by the distance to the outdoor mall but we live in the city and walk everywhere so the blocks seemed to fly by when looking at the old architecture!
Motel is well priced and the staff was friendly and helpful. We will be staying there again soon and may make it a yearly trip to stay with them!
Things to think about:
no pool
parking is in the back of the motel, so unpack in the front if you have an ocean front room.
be ready to buy your own beach tags (Cape May is relatively cheap for a daily pass)
showers are located in the back of the motel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sixmesix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    40
    17
    12
    2
See reviews for
29
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We went there for my son's Coast Guard Graduation. No one was there but everything we needed was available. Hotel was cozy and comfortable. We had a great view of the beach right across the street.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enoughsnowalready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The Buckingham is a reasonable hotel on Beach Drive with a gorgeous view from the second floor. The price is much lower than the other hotels by about $30 a night. The only thing you give up is a pool, and I don't want a pool anyway.

Now, if you are looking for a new hotel with lots of amenities the Buckingham isn't for you. It's a quaint, small town feel hotel. The office closes at night. There are wall units for air conditioners. The outside is brown.

But,. the view, the view and thre view along with the location, the location and the location, a friendly staff, clean room, small refrigerator and even grills if you want to cook out \, what else could you want.

Close to beach. Beach Chairs, Beach Rest Rooms, Pretty Sunsets, Has Parking. Costs less, but yuouu don't give up much if your goal is to enjoy the beach in a clean, reasonably priced setting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank merishore25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Buckingham Motel in Cape May, NJ for Memorial Day Weekend. We stayed in the standard regular room, with one king-sized bed and with no kitchen or ocean-front view. We couldn't have picked a better motel for our stay. It is a very affordable motel for tourists and travelers. The motel is right across the street from the beach so it is in a good location for the beach. The motel staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area to help you get around the city. The room was very big for just two people. Even though the motel advertises itself as having a "mini-fridge," when we got into the room, it turned out to be a huge refrigerator that was able to hold up to 15 cans of soda plus some water bottles, which was a positive aspect since the weather was very hot over the weekend. The air conditioning worked like a charm, providing cold air whenever it was needed and it didn't take long to cool up the room. The motel also offers free internet service. The bathroom is VERY CLEAN. The only bad thing about this motel is that it is very far away from the main shops on Beach Avenue (where the motel is located). My boyfriend and I had to drive our car to the local shops, but it is really not that bad. If you want to walk to the shops, it will take you about 15-20 minutes. Other than that, the Buckingham Motel is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diane810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This is a great place to stay. My husband and I were amazed how clean it was. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Great location to the beach, restaurants, and shops. The only downfall we could think of was the fact that there is no pool. I would absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

After being quoted more than I wanted to pay for a pres-season room I found the Buckingham and got a neat little king room with a small deck with an ocean view.
I was surprised at the little amenities, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and coffee, microwave, fridge, free fast wifi and plenty of cable tv channels.

The room was clean and Janet helped us with everything we needed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njaneardude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Ours was an impromptu trip to cape may and so we didn't have advanced booking. We looked up tripadvisor and booked a room at this motel. We were pleasantly surprised by the room. Though not fancy it served our needs, especially for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gkpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cape Harbor Motor Inn
Cape Harbor Motor Inn
#26 of 37 in Cape May
80 reviews
1.3 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#18 of 37 in Cape May
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cape Winds
The Cape Winds
#37 of 37 in Cape May
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Motel

Property: Buckingham Motel
Address: 1111 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2628
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buckingham Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckingham Motel is an oceanfront getaway location that provides affordable rooms with a full range of amenities. Our location allows you to take advantage of Cape May's sparkling white sand beaches, entertaining local seashore activities, quaint historic surroundings, and gourmet eateries. Our commitment to you, our valued customer, and Cape May shines through in all of our services, including our meticulous attention to details and all of our amenities. It is always our top priority to provide you with hospitable service in order to make your stay in beautiful Cape May as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. At The Buckingham Motel, we are here to cater to your every need and look to be a vacation destination for you and your family for years to come! If you, your family and friends are looking for motels in NJ or beach motels with breathtaking views at affordable rates, please get in touch with our friendly staff at The Buckingham Motel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Buckingham Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Motel Cape May, New Jersey
Buckingham Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing