We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Columbia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbia House
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We found Columbia House for a last-minute end-of-June long weekend. I wrote to about 15 locations. laura got back to me within a few hours (she wrote at 1:30 a.m.!). We had the 1st floor Garden Suite: Master bedroom, roomy second bedroom with two twin beds, full bathroom, full kitchen, living room, private entrance off the back porch. It was perfect for four adults. Ideal location: Just a block or so from the beach, near the convention center, and a couple of blocks from Washington St. Everything was just right: clean, parking spot, large front porch, side garden area where we ate breakfasts. It is not a B and B, which we prefer. We were our own group and had lots to talk about. Great service: I left my shoes and Laura found them and mailed them to me right away! Wow!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzyz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second time visit to the Columbia House and we'll visit again. I can't say enough great things. A block from the beach, a couple from shopping and dining at fine restaurants, right in the Historic district! Child friendly, superb cleanliness, comfortable accommodations!! I can't wait to visit again!!!! Oh and did I mention on site parking? FANTASTIC!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Maribel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I returned to Cape May in mid-April and stayed again at the Columbia House. We usually book the Parlor Suite on the first floor but this time when I tried to book it the suite was already taken. Laura then offered us the larger Garden Suite, which is also on the first floor, for the same price as the Parlor Suite. Can't beat that! It has two bedrooms, one queen and two twins, a nice size kitchen and living room. The bathroom has connecting doors between the kitchen and master bedroom. The Parlor Suite is very cozy but no one can complain about extra space! We especially enjoyed the living room arm chairs as a comfortable way to plan our daily activities, check our email and (for my husband who is a huge hockey fan) catch up on the Pens progress on TV. The house has off-street parking for each suite so you don't have to worry about finding street parking. Jim and Laura have always been very friendly and easy to deal with which makes staying here very pleasant. The great location, which makes it possible to walk to so many places in town, along with all the other previously mentioned amenities, makes this a winner!

Room Tip: This suite is ideal for a family with one or two children since the second bedroom has two twin beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My family just spent a long March weekend here, taking advantage of the winter special rates. Cape May and Columbia House did not disappoint! Our long winter weekend was both fun and relaxing. The Garden Suite was warm and cozy. Shops and restaurants are open and the sea air was brisk and refreshing.
This was not our family's first visit to Columbia House. We have spent week-long summer vacations at the Columbia House over the past several years. We hope to keep coming back.
There are four Victorian styled apartments here at Columbia House, each with reserved parking. We have spent time in three of them and enjoyed the special features of each one.
The house inside and out is beautifully maintained by the owners. The spacious front porch, outdoor shower and patio with gas grill are perfect for relaxing vacations. Housekeeping is meticulous and each apartment is immaculately clean upon arrival. The beds are comfortable and kitchens are well stocked with all the necessary items should one choose to cook. A washer and dryer in each apartment is a much appreciated amenity. Window air conditioners keep everyone comfortable on warm summer days. Best of all, the best breezes in town are only a block away on the beautiful Cape May beach and promenade.
While Cape May is wonderful any time of the year, the innkeeper/owners at Columbia House, Laura and Jim, make it especially inviting. They are gracious and welcoming hosts. They make sure your stay is a pleasant one.
We are looking forward to summer 2014 at Columbia House.

Room Tip: The Parlor Suite with its side porch is perfect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MargaretMS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My family has been staying at Columbia House for about 3 or 4 years now, and it's officially the only place we stay in Cape May- both during summer as well as the off-season. Columbia House has a great corner location on Columbia Avenue and Ocean Street, and is located about a block from the beach, and about 2-3 blocks from Washington Street.

Columbia House has 3 floors and 4 suites: Parlor Suite, Garden Suite, Master Suite, and Turret Suite. The Parlor Suite is on the first floor and has a bedroom, a family room/kitchen with a fireplace, and access to a side porch with a table and chairs. It also has a newly renovated bathroom! The Garden Suite is also on the first floor, and has two bedrooms, a kitchen, a sitting/family room, a bathroom, and access to a back porch with rocking chairs and a table. The Master Suite is on the second floor, and has 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a big kitchen, a sitting/family room, and a balcony. We have never stayed in the Turret Suite, but it is on the 3rd floor and has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, as well as a private deck. All suites have access to a front porch, which is one of our favorite places in the house, as it's a great place to sit on rocking chairs and people watch. There is also a grill and some tables at the side of the house as well, and all suites can use it. All suites also have a full kitchen with an oven, microwave, etc., a washer/dryer, 1-2 parking spots depending on the suite, and provided linens. The style of the house- from the wallpaper to the furniture- is very traditional Victorian.

During the summer season, you reserve suites by week (Friday to Friday), but by nights on the off-season. The rates are very reasonable, especially for the amount of space you get and the central location. Sometimes they also run specials in the off-season, such as their current special: book two weeknights and get the third free. For the summer, each suite has a locked storage area with beach chairs and umbrellas. You can also put your own beach items in the storage area, so that you don't have to bring them in and out of your apartment. There is a very nice outdoor shower with towels as well.

Probably the best part of the Columbia House is the owners, Jim and Laura. They are incredibly accommodating, from working with your availability each summer, to running out and buying a new grill the same day it died during one of the summers. They live in the area, and come to greet everybody when they arrive- they have also been known to help us carry all our stuff to our suite- and give everyone their cell phones to call if needed. One time our fire alarm went off on a Friday or Saturday night, and they immediately came to the house from a party to check on everything, all dressed up for a night out. It's clear that they care about the house and want everybody staying there to enjoy their time there, problem-free.

Overall, Columbia House is a great place for families, friends, and couples. It's in a great location, reasonably priced, with spacious Victorian suites, and great owners. Definitely stay here if you're coming to Cape May!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisaLisaS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Took my wife there for her Birthday and even though it was a rainy weekend we had a great time. Laura and Jim the owners were great. We got there on a Friday night around 8pm they were both there to greet us, Jim even helped me with my bags from the car. They were very nice and very helpful, they took the time to explain everything about the room and the house, The fireplace in our room was already on and it was nice and comfortable. They took the time to tell us about good places to eat and for entertainment and things to do around Cape May. The room was beautiful. Even though it is not a typical bed and breakfast it had its own kitchen with everything you could possibly need to make your own breakfast. Just bring the food that you want. TVs in both living room and bedroom, nice big shower with beautiful tile, king size bed that was very comfortable. The house was in walking distance to almost everything, Shops, Restaurants, Bars and other things. Since we went Jan 10th a lot of Christmas lights were still up and on, I felt like I was in a Charles Dickens movie, it was beautiful. I highly recommend the Columbia House for a nice relaxing weekend or week. Thank you both, John and Deanna

Room Tip: We stayed in the Parlor Suite and it was great, very clean, first floor, very nice kitchen and bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I recently stayed in the Turrett Suite with two friends. It's a two bedroom suite and on the third floor. A couple of years ago we had stayed in the Garden Suite at this lovely Victorian Inn and found it to be very comfortable. The Inn keepers are very accommodating and make it easy to stay with them. No hassles at all. The Columbia House is so conveniently located on Ocean Ave. We could literally walk everywhere we needed to within 2 blocks of this location. The beach, restaurants, stores, etc. And yet we are able to sit on the porch of a tree lined block and enjoy the peace and beauty that is so prevalent in Cape May. The Turrett Suite just added to the enjoyment of the lovely Inn. It was decorated in such a beautiful Victorian style, we were all snapping pictures and oohing and aahing over it, especially the bedrooms and bathrooms. If you don't have any issues with the 2 flights of steps to get up there, then I know you will love it. The suite has it's own rooftop deck with table and chairs for enjoying the outdoors. Overall, we can't imagine a better spot to enjoy Cape May from. You can't go wrong with this Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.7 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
723 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia House

Address: 26 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Cape May
Price Range: £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Columbia House Hotel Cape May
Columbia Hotel Cape May
Columbia House Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing