We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll wait 10 years until Sun RV fix the place up”
Review of Cape May KOA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape May KOA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'll wait 10 years until Sun RV fix the place up”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I have been camping for 30 plus years it was the only campground I could get for this weekend if not for that I never would have stayed there sites are filthy uneven muddy downright shame this campground fell apart so bad I hope Sun RV put some money into this place to bring it back up to par until then you will never see me there again.the only nice thing about this place is the pool.sorry folks but I expect a lot more from a resort as you call it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rb134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    35
    12
    13
    31
See reviews for
86
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Booked this campground out of default. Saw that Sun RV purchased this campground and was doing major overhaul. They paved 1 road. Bath house should be destroyed and new built. The person who did my reservations was 4 states away. I asked several times, can I fit a 32ft fifth wheel. Was assured several times. Could not even back my truck onto the site, let alone a trailer. Not even a pop up. Told I would have cable, nope. Sites need to be cleaned. It is July and the leaves are in piles on the site. Campground flower is poison Ivy. Sun RV, you need to seriously clean this place and upgrade it or shut it down. Cut down some trees so people can bring trailers in. Upgrade electric to at least 30 amp. I will not be back or recommend until there are drastic changes

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sjcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have been going there for 11 years because it's cheap there. But my gosh it's a dump. The worst part is the bathrooms. Disgusting. Holes in the walls, no shower heads, rusted sinks and showers. Floors are ALWAYS WET. Toilets are ALWAYS plugged. Every single one too. If you go in the old bath houses those are crap too. The worst part is when you see a cleaner once in a while cleaning the bathrooms. You see him or her taking the mop: doing the toilet then the sink and counter tops never rinsing the mop. Sometimes there is actual poo on the wall. SO MANY MISQUITOES there!!! and there is always a problem with the power outlets and the water smells and not to mention its BROWN. Good for seasonals if you have your own stuff, terrible for occasional campers. 2012 was the worst year though. I went on my bike and noted the empty campsites. 200/750 were taken. Thats including seasonals. GREAT PLACE *sarcasm intended*. Now that is why they only show you the pool area on the tripadvisor websites.

Pros: Nice chipmunks. Thats all I got

Room Tip: Any other campground
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is our second year as a seasonal. We almost pulled out this year until we saw all of the amazing upgrades and changes being done by SUN Resorts. For those of you who have visited Lake Laurie prior to now....believe me....honestly....it is worth another visit.!!! The changes are like "night and day". New and expanded beach with a beach house and chairs...updated pool with crystal clear water, new chairs and umbrellas and new fencing...fully stocked lake...paved main roadways...upgraded secondary roads....clean camping sites....all new staff that is attentive and cooperative....new lake homes for rent...new water system...trees taken down to make for larger sites....new playgrounds and basketball and volleyball courts....the list goes on! We are now seriously in the competitive market with the surrounding camping resorts. some of the previous pictures posted about Lake Laurie are UNFAIR!! Bathrooms have been updated and they are cleaned 2x a day by new staff members. They are nothing like those photos indicate. We have decided to stay at our seasonal and do not regret our decision. Come and see all the new happenings...!! You wont regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamperHappyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our 2nd year here at LL as a seasonal.Guess we got here in the nic of time CUZ just like the other campers mentioned ,Their blowin it up over here.Talk about your extreme makeover,Ty Pennington would be proud at the things their doing.Started with a massive tree clearing throughout the campground ,then paved roads and offered you a driveway if you wanted one.The pools bikini blue and crystal clear with all new pool furniture ,Lounge chairs,umbrellas and tables. SUPER NICE. Golfcarts for rent ,theres new walkways and fences,Saw a picture of the new playground thats goin in.the lake is clean,with new beach sand ,boat rentals and catch and release fishng at the other end,I hear theres a few more big surprises as far as the lake area goes.I hear the store,office and snackbar are gonna be top notch when they open this weekend.I know the outside sure looks really nice.The entire staff is great and definitly motivated and you can see their excitement about whats going on as well.Look online at what Sun rv has done at their other places.I foresee disneyland at the shore my friends and Lake Laurie will be the second happiest place in the world to be.Glad we can be a part of it.See you on the 4th of July!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenwold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Been a seasonal camper here for the past 8 yrs, all the promises we got from Morgan Management kept us waiting, well Sun RV took over Jan 1st this year and in that short period of time big things are happening! Roads have been repaved, new chairs and umbrellas are at the pool, trees cut down or topped, if you wanted a black top parking spot they did it for you, the office is being re-modeled as is the snack bar! The office is gonna have a REAL camp store for supplies and the snack bar is gonna be like a deli making sandwiches and have a real griddle! Pool was drained, pressure washed, sealed and repainted. The best part is management and the employee's, they understand your concerns and needs and want to help you whenever they can! Need to change my name to "happy camper"!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unhappycamperinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have been seasonals for several years! Things were not so great! Now they have a whole new awesome staff and manager, Owned by a new professional company who cares! If your looking for a seasonal site, this is the one!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WenMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May
3.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
3.4 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
3.2 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape May KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape May KOA

Property: Cape May KOA
Address: 669 Route 9, Cape May, NJ 08204-4637 (Formerly Lake Laurie RV and Camping Resort)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cape May KOA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic, yet refined. Have it all with ocean breezes, sandy beaches, and boardwalks are just minutes away from Lake Laurie in Wildwood and historic Cape May. Our beautiful resort offers a great camping experience with all the trimmings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape May KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Laurie Campground Hotel Cape May
Cape May KOA New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing