We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Quintessential Motel in Wonderful Cape May!”
Review of Beach Shack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Shack
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We traveled down the Eastern shore in mid August for some sun and beach. It was a last minute trip we did as an add on to a house rental we had preplanned. What we forgot was how hard it is to get a room in Cape May this time of year....all rooms in Cape May were booked solid the week prior but the day before our departure I found a cancellation at the Beach Shack. Our first choice would have been one of their sister hotels, "The Congress Hotel", but we were very happy about The Beach Shack find...it is a wonderful gem in a great location. Here are my tid bits.

Pros:
Great location right across from beach at end of the busy busy area..but just a few blocks down from it all. Excellent beach! Very clean and nice sand.
Charming quintessential motel with some extra perks like beach chairs , umbrellas and towels that are set up for you free with stay at hotel.
Great restaurant on location with great drinks and great bartender at the Rusty Nail.
Small but nice clean pool with plenty of nice towels.
Easy check in and check out.
Nice outdoor seating with fire pit at night. Perfect place to unwind with neighbors or family.
Large room with 2 rooms and 3 beds, large cold frig, big sink, nice bed, and better than average sheets for a motel.
Pool service for drinks.
Wonderful town a few blocks away....tons of great restaurants and shops near by.
Nice people all around.
20 minute car ride to Lewis Ferry....great way to travel!


Cons:
Rooms were slightly musty smelling. Probably due to the heavy turn over this time of year and the fact that the carpet got wet constantly.
No shower out side on hotel premise....this is really needed because you drag sand into your room.
8.00 per person charge to get onto the beach per day. Started raining 15 minutes in so not much beach that day.
No alcohol or food allowed on beach(unless you bring your own quietly) hence no beach service other than water or soda.
Rusty Nail bar closed very early... by 9:00 pm.

Notes:
Went to The Blue Pig Tavern at the Congress Hotel 2 blocks away and had a fabulous dinner outside. Great service and great ambiance.
The town is as charming as it gets and has loads of motels and room/house rentals in Victorian homes spattered through out. It is probably the best location to go on the Jersey shore for a relaxing beach vacation. If you like loud drinking towns go else where.
The rate this time of year for the large room we booked was 400.00 including tax... well worth it for the location that time of year.
We will be returning to Cape May for sure...next time we will book earlier in advance.

Room Tip: Pool side room is quieter than restaurant/bar sie of motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

When you are paying $400/night for a room there are some things you expect. We had expectations of staying at Congress Hall, but they were booked so the reservation person suggested we stay at the Beach Shack. It was toted as a high end luxury motel.
The efficiency we booked had a living room and 1 bed room, so we assumed that would be sufficient space for my husband and our two boys. Unfortunately our room was boxy and small. The bed did not fit my husband and I comfortably and the linens and mattress were sub par. With my husband and I and our two children (5&8), we felt cramped the whole time. There was a small white shutter door that separated the rooms, so when we put the boys to bed it did not give us enough privacy to keep the t.v. on or talk while our children tried to sleep in the next room.
The interior of the room was run down and poorly renovated. The stuffing was coming out of the sofa, there was water damage to the coffee table with big ugly bubble marks, and the sealant had eroded around the basin of one of the sink and kept sliding around. The choice of wood vinyl around the vanity was tacky and very cheap looking. The bath tub was teeny, and the bathroom was cramped.
The pool was very small and did not accommodate a large number of guests. We made sure to get to the pool early in the day to get a chair and have room to swim around in the pool. When we got to the beach there were no attendants to direct us or set up our beach chairs. We sat in an area that had 10 empty chairs set up thinking that they were set up to be used by hotel guests. After 10 minutes of lounging a fellow guest who was staying in the only high end luxury suite at the Beach Shack (it must have been a former restaurant/lounge that they converted into a very large spacious suite) comes up to me and says we had these reserved for our party. We then had to stand around waiting to have our chairs and umbrella set up while the attendants who had returned finished setting up several other parties. When the attendant was finally free to help us and we explained the situation, he was very flustered that we had sat in those seats and worried that we might have upset a VIP guest of the hotel. I assumed we were entitled to some VIP treatment as well, but I was wrong.
I did enjoy the fire pit and having drinks at the Rusty Nail. I would make the Rusty Nail one of my stops for a meal and a drink on a return trip to Cape May, but I would not spend the money I spent for a slightly updated cramped motel room at the Beach Shack.
The only redeeming point of our stay was my husband getting sick and us needing to stay an extra day. Since the Beach Shack had no vacancies, the hotel clerk suggested we try the Ocean Club Hotel which just opened several weeks ago. The price was the same and we got a huge suite with a terrace, wonderfully comfortable king size bed, a huge pool with a Tiki Bar, great pool attendants who treated all their guests like VIPS. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We loved this motel. The rooms were very clean, the pool was great for the kids. We were able to get a room that slept 6 since we have 4 children!! The pool even had waitress service for food and drink.

The motel has service on the beach for chairs, towels, umbrellas etc....

The motel staff was just awesome as well! HIghly reccomend staying here. Prices are reasonable as well and motel is right across the street from the beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

First let me say that I'm a pretty low-maintainance traveler. I don't expect a Ritz everywhere I go, but I do expect a certain attention to detail no matter what the level of the hotel. No question, the Beach Shack has a great location, about a five minute walk from the main drag of Cape May, and directly across the street from the beach. The beach service was terrific-- just walk over, tell them your room number, and the courteous young men set out chairs, towels and umbrellas for you. That was all great. However, the room itself was *really* small. I'd requested a room with two beds for my husband, myself, and our 18 year old daughter. Instead we got a room with one bed and a pull-out couch, that we had to remake with sheets every night. Nothing else was available. With the bed pulled out, we were literally stepping over tables to get anywhere in the room. There was a hanging lamp directly over the couch that we were constantly bumping our heads on. Who puts a chandelier in the middle of a room? The bathroom was really barely big enough to turn around in, with no hooks for towels, (though there were holes in the door where hooks apparently had previously been) so things were constantly piled up. The room cleaning always missed something. One day we got no replenishment of shampoo (we'd started out with one tiny bottle of shampoo for three people-- in a beach place where people are likely to take more than one shower a day). Another day no replenishment of coffee for the machine. And the worst was the day we discovered that they hadn't given us sheets for the pull-out. And this was discovered after-hours at the office, so my daughter was visiting the laundry room to beg some sheets off the people working there. I know that prices are high in Cape May, but at least one should expect that the little things get done properly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NewY0rkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our stay at the Beach Shack was such a pleasant experience. The service was impeccable. It was clean and comfortable. The bar area was a pleasure. It was only an overnight stay and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mari-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Yeah! My family loved this place. While it is not perfect it was fun and felt like a real resort, not just a motel in Cape May. Wonderful beach service with complimentary towels, beach chairs and umbrellas! Food and beverage service available on premises at the Rusty Nail or at the beach or the pool! The service is not perfect, but very nice! The bed lines were fantastic and the towels were big and abundant! The rooms are nice but not exceptional, but the other amenities more than make up for that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaydayfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Beach Shack for 6 days at the beginning of August and had a great, mellow, relaxing time. All the people working here were extemely nice and very friendly. Location is great, you can park the car and then walk absolutely everywhere. The Rusty Nail is part of the complex and seems to be the most happening place in Cape May...always crowded and filled with surfer types. There was a sandy area on the side which also had a fire pit, which was lit every night. You could lounge around, eat, drink or just relax on the chairs with your toes in the sand...also great how you can arrive in shorts or your beach clothes...very Key West-y! Live music too. Super fun vibe and awesome food...all 3 meals are served here. The manager Andrew was soooo nice as well. The Beach Shack is right across the street from the beach and they give complimentary loungers, towels and umbrellas to hotel guests, which is super convenient. We also noticed that the housekeeping crew serviced the rooms as soon as we left for the day...as early as 10:30AM, which we liked. Rooms have a small fridge and bowls, glasses, utensils etc. which makes it easy to eat some yogurt or cereal if you want to or bring home restaurant leftovers, which you usually can't do on a vacation. Rooms were not luxurious though there was plenty of space for everything. Beds were comfy but seemed small...we are used to a king size back at home! Pool is so-so...but fine for what it is...we were really at the beach the whole time anyway. All in all, a nice beachy vibe for a mellow week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest away from The Rusty Nail if you want to turn in early without hearing the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#20 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,359 reviews
1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Address: 205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £101 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May
Beach Shack Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing