We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer beginnings”
Review of Beach Shack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Shack
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have traveled to Cape May in many capacities throughout the years. We have watched the Beach shack turn into a very welcoming popular destination. The Cape Resorts Group has changed some of the beaches and properties in Cape May. They own Congress hall, the Beach shack, the Victorian and the Sand Piper. The Beach Shack is an old motel and bar, the Rusty Nail. It was a place we would not vist but it was transformed to a family friend venue. A sandy area, a grass area, a fire pit, picnic table and outside bar with music playing at 5:00 during the season. Children and thirty something's enjoying family, food and music. Watching the dolphins, drinking coffee in the morning knowing I do not need to drag beach chairs across the street was lovely. They provide patrons with towels and chairs which is wonderful. We have enjoyed many good nights sleep until this weekend. The beds are typically awesome and comfy but we had a horrible bed and terrible night sleep. The room was clostraphobic with the worst mattress we ever slept on. For the price we paid we were very disappointed and will not return.

Room Tip: If you have young children or want to go to bed early chose a room further from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Everything was nice. Easy to enjoy the beach, but we found we drove more to get to things then we did at other places closer in town. It is still a nice place and a great value. Everything is in walking distance of the hotel. They do provide all the beach items you may need. Just show your room key.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marksdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Needed a place to stay at the last minute. They were very accommodating. Arrived very late but someone was at the desk and were very friendly. Room was adequate for one night stay. Room air conditioner did not cool the room very well but was still comfortable sleeping. Not much space to move around the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Recently stayed at the Beach Shack and overall was very good. The location is perfect, the room was very clean. The front desk staff at check in was very attentive. Improvements that are needed: no telephone in the room and cell service is basically non-existent. There were also no clocks in the suite. Wi-fi was not working at the hotel but we were given an alternative. The Rusty Nail has entertainment, which draws a large crowd, and the hotel guests can get shut out. There is also a fire pit, however, when the music stops so does the fire and that could stay lit for the hotel guests. We only ate one meal at the Rusty Nail and it was not very good and the service was awful!
I would stay again at the Beach Shack. I love Cape May.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAEHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We booked this place through travelzoo in January for a very good price. The room was great microwave, fridge, sinks and 2 TVs. Older bathroom but adequate. The outside facilities are in very good shape, the location is beyond good, it is great! The pool is nice, clean and well attended. They provide beach service with chairs, umbrellas, and towels which is great since the beach is mere steps away. The staff was helpful, courteous and approachable. I had a nice visit and would go back.

With that said, the rooms do have some issues.
1) No alarm clock, in fact no clock at all. I know, everyone has a phone and can use that. That brings me to ...
2) No telephone in the room.... what makes it bad is that there is spotty cellular service at best. Cape May is very strict with cell towers, hence you get lousy cell service there. Our phones were constantly searching for a signal so we just turned them off until we needed them. The Wifi was also questionable. One guy next to me could not get it to work at all.
With that said, the restaurant is terrible!
3) The Rusty nail breakfast... just skip it. The so-called staff were inattentive, rude and the food was terrible. I had to seek out the waitress for my check after sitting there for 10 minutes. She then presented me with my change with no bill smaller than a 10 even after I gave it back to her and asked for change. Now I am not a cheap tipper by any means, but when you do not bring the adequate change to leave even a 20% tip, you are getting what you deserve, 5-10%.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor for an ocean view. -- No Elevator though : (
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at The Beach Shack and will not be our last. This isn't a fancy place. The entire property has a retro theme without being campy or over the top. It is super clean, with large rooms, and great service. You get beach chairs towels and umbrellas, they even set them up for you. There is a nice pool area. And my favorite is the large fire pit area and live music. The restaurant/bar area has great food and an awesome laid back vibe. There is plenty of seating inside and out. A good place to go with kids as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildmanjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here about 3 years ago and then again Memorial Day weekend. Great location, rooms are nice, but starting to show a little wear.
The Rusty Nail seems to be a local hotspot and gets really packed at night, not leaving much room for the paying guests. When my family of 4 tried to sit at an outside table we were told we had to leave since it was made for 8 people. I wouldn't mind so much, except the young male employee who asked us to stay was EXTREMELY RUDE (bit*hy is the perfect word). Needless to say we left - went to our balcony and enjoyed the night up there. This was the only instance of rude service though, everyone else was very sweet and helpful.
If you have little kids, I would steer clear from here. Some people like to hang at the bar and drink (and drink) while their kids play unattended in the sand or the walkway - if you're ok with that, then this is your place. I have teenagers, so not a problem for me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Address: 205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £87 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May
Beach Shack Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing