We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Shack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Shack
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place, great bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Beach Shack & this visit was as good as last September's. Our room was spacious with lovely linens & cool beach decor. Check in was friendly & fast & we had no trouble getting a first floor room as we requested. Friday night we spent in their bar, the Rusty Nail, sitting with our toes in the sand while enjoying appetizers & drinks. We moved to a table for dinner; I had bow ties in vodka sauce with fresh veggies while hubby had a pulled pork sandwich. Everything was delicious & plentiful and service was wonderful. (Don't think it was just because it was off-season: the temp was 80 & the place was packed!) After dinner we moved to the firepit area for chocolate martinis & the lively acoustic guitar music provided. Service on the beach & at the pool Saturday was excellent & the beach was lovely. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! Go once & you'll be hooked!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Moviegal246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    130
    62
    34
    20
See reviews for
163
87
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Myself, husband, and daughter stayed at Beach Shack for a week in September. We stayed in one of the rooms with the semi-private deck overlooking The Rusty Nail. We originally had booked a single room but upon arrival decided that we needed a little extra space with the 3 of us and staying a whole week.

I was so wonderfully surprised by everything. The reception staff was wonderful at the time of check in. When we went to our room is was very spacious with a large "living room", kitchen sink, mini fridge, and microwave. We had 2 queen beds in our bedroom which was really nice also. On our balcony we have several lounge chairs and a fantastic view of the ocean and all the going ons at The Rust Nail. We absolutely loved all the live music and enjoyed on more than one occasion sitting outside and listening to everything. The location is amazing and feel that it is not a far walk from "downtown square". We also loved the pool and that it was just a walk down the stairs and plenty of towels always around for guests to use.

You cannot beat the beach service that they have with complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels. The beach attendant was absolutely fabulous and so friendly. Just to know that was out there whenever we were ready was the best part of the whole entire trip!!

The only things I have to say is that the tub was very outdated. Everything else in our bathroom was great except the shower. It drained SOO slowly and I was usually standing in a small pool of water by the time my shower was through. There was also very little water pressure and found the hot water going from hot to cold through most all of my showers. They do need to spend the money and go ahead and update the tubs. It seriously would make a world of difference!! The carpet was a bit stained, but it did not bother me at all. Everything was clean and the beds were super comfy.

The Rusty Nail was just OK. We ate there the first night and left there feeling satisfied. It is a great place for back up in case you need food in a hurry, but definitely didn't need to go there on multiple nights. The whole atmosphere of the place was fantastic though. We always walked through the place when we left and loved seeing all the people enjoying themselves.

I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here and we will most definitely be back to stay next year and hopefully in the same room. Besides the tub I absolutely loved everything about the room, place, and staff and have no other negative things to say. My husband and I are still talking about how awesome our stay was and how we will be back! I know that people say that staying at the Sandpiper (sister property) is better, but the atmosphere is unbeatable at Beach Shack and made the trip for us. A+++++!!!!

Room Tip: I highly recommend one of the rooms on the semi-private balcony! And if your lucky (like us) you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drums, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed at the beach shack,after it was to have been renovated,I guess they missed the room I was in,the carpet was dirty,never walked in my bare feet, The view was great,but for the price of the room,not worth it. Would not recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradise_found252519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Beacon, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The property itself is nice..Rusty Nail, Fire Pit, Music...but the room was so bad! As soon as we walked through the door the "mildew" smell was over whelming! The furniture was gross, the bathroom was so small you felt like you were on a ship! the drawers in the bathroom and bedroom didn't open (warped) there was NO phone, NO alarm clock in the bedroom. Set up was weird, there was a sink in the bedroom. Towels were rough, bedding was okay if you overlooked the dead mosquito on the duvet. In the morning my husband killed a huge thousand legger bug in the bedroom and I saw a smaller one run behind the mirror!! by the sink! COULDN'T GET OUT OF HERE FAST ENOUGH! This was the WORST $200+ dollars we EVER spent on 1 night. They should be ASHAMED of themselves to charge this much for a room!! Front desk was helpful in finding us other accommodations at their other property the Sand Piper.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed at the Beach Shack in Cape May with my daughter, son-in-law and grandson for a 3 day weekend in Bungalow One which is a 3 bedroom suite. The location was wonderful, and the adjoining restaurant (The Rusty nail) was very good. Great ambience outside with a firepit...very relaxing!!
As previous reviewers have said the linens were top rated, but the atmosphere of luxury certainly ended there. The carpeting was old and stained, there was a QUICK paint job done but very sloppily, tiles missing on the bathroom floor, a very discolored yellow tub...in general, nothing you would expect for the rates charged! I have stayed at the Sandpiper..a few doors away...and La Mer..a few blocks away.... in both places the rooms were much nicer!! Hopefully Cape Resorts will renovate the place soon before all the negative reviews have an impact. They have a great location, right across from the beach, but there is too much competition to rely on that!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were going to Cape May for a quick beach weekend and I was reluctant to book after reading the reviews. Yes, it is an updated old motel as expected but the rooms were nice, no musty odor at all. The air conditioning was strong and the linens were nice and plentiful. We were close to the music and the fire pit on the first floor- and once we closed the door, we couldn't hear anything. The proximity to the beach and the chair and umbrella service are definitely reasons why we would return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendybling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY,NY
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have stayed at many of the hotels, B&Bs in Cape May over the years so when I booked my reservation at Beach Shack and read the reviews on TripAdvisor.com I was a bit nervous but once I checked in all my worries were gone. We booked a family shack ( its actually a one bedroom efficiency with a living room, microwave, fridge, coffee maker) which faced the beach ( Room 311) on the top floor and our room was fantastic. They have seating outside on the shared balcony so you can enjoy the sunset, beach or a bit of fresh air. It was clean and comfortable. The bedroom was not huge but it served its purpose. The sitting area was cozy with a nice couch and TV. Our room was spotless and we had a TV in both the living room and bedroom which was excellent for our different TV viewing schedules. Included in our stay was complimentary beach chairs, towels and umbrellas. The staff on the beach were great and every am they were there ready to set up our spot on the sand. The front desk staff were pleasant ,polite and accommodating. Our room was not ready upon check in but we were called shortly after so it worked out well. The Rusty Nail is quite convenient for a bite to eat or drink. They have a great fire pit along with live music for all to enjoy. The bar was packed on the wknd.
We give Beach Shack an A++++.

Room Tip: Room 311 was great. Top floor overlooking the beach and in the corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michygal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#27 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#14 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Property: Beach Shack
Address: 205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May
Beach Shack Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing