We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stockton Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stockton Inns
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had a two night stay at the Stockton Manor and it was way to short. The room was lovely. We had a view of the ocean and it was very clean. The shower was very small, but I requested a step in shower because my husband recently had back surgery. My favorite part was sitting on the front porch on a rocker watching the ocean and the people go by. The location was perfect, directly across from the beach and near shops, restaurants and all activities. They have an outdoor pool, but we spent our time at the ocean. Everyone was very friendly and we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    88
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
105
150
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
BRATTLEBORO
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Cape May since 1986, and started staying here about ten years ago. Our daughter is now married and has three of her own children and every year we get three rooms for a week for the seven of us. The rooms are great, very clean and nicely furnished. The location can't be beat; we just walk across the street to the beach each morning. Almost everything is in walking distance so we almost never use the car once we get here. On top of all of that, we are ALWAYS made to feel welcome and that we are somehow special. Why go anywhere else? We certainly won't!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stockton Inn is located across the street from the beach in the center of town. Theyt offer a choice between a traditional motel unit or a room in the manor house, minus the breakfast. I chose a 2nd floor room in the manor house facing the ocean. The room was clean and brightly decorated with white wicker furniture. The price was exceptionally reasonable, but it was the last weekend in April. They have a nice size pool, and miniture golf on the premises. The rocking chairs on the large porch were great for some afternoon reading. The house is ideal for couples or a single traveler as I was, although it does offer larger accomodations. Stockton Inn is ideal as an off season location, I don't know if I'd chose it during the summer as this area can get very congested. Either way everything is withing walking distance or a short bike ride.

Room Tip: Manor house more for couples or singles, whereas the motel units would be more family accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

My extended family and I stayed at the manor house for my son's wedding and couldn't have more pleased. We enjoyed the staff and grounds so much we go several times a year now and have NEVER been dissapointed. We stayed in suite 414 for the week, what a great suite! We have stayed in both the Manor house and the Motor Inn and loved everything! Our out of town attendees are still talking about how nice it was to wake up across the street from the ocean and have breakfast on the sun deck, as well as take a nice run on the beach. As a matter of fact my wife and I are packing right now for a three day getaway to the Motor Inn fr the holiday weekend and can't wait to get there! Feel free to email any questions that you may have!

Room Tip: Shoot for rooms 214 and 215 there the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ease5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We've been to a few different places in Cape May, but this is by far the best. We've been to the Manor at least five times and have stayed in two different rooms. There are plenty of rooms to choose from and each one is slightly different and unique from the others. You can have complete privacy if you'd like, or you can have friendly conversations with the innkeeper and the staff. The front porch is absolutely fantastic. The location is perfect. You're right across from the beach and you can walk to the restaurants and the stores. If you'd like, you can park your car when you get there and leave it until you checkout. The entire place is extraordinarily clean, the breezes are refreshing and the views are incredible. For us and the way we vacation, this place is just perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor if you can't do steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

During our three day stay, relatives who were staying at a rental home in town came to join us at the pool. The attendant at the desk knocked at the door and demanded to know how many guests were registered and then ordered everyone else to leave.

While we agreed that we would have had too many guests, we then asked the desk if we could re-register our room for two adults and two children and pay the difference. Only two children under twelve would have been added to their guest list and only two would have remained on the premises. The two children were four and eight years old and they would have used the pool for an hour or so (there was noone in the pool at the time). The answer was an unequivocable NO.

I have stayed in hotels around the world and have never had so little cooperation with a host. I suppose that Cape May is immune to the economic downturn and smug with its Victorian propriety that it would not accept an additional fee to accomodate two grandmothers who had looked forward to spending an hour in the pool with their grandchildren.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank dorisr433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton809, Owner at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
It’s unfortunate your plans to entertain your additional family of eight from a neighboring rental property did not turn out as expected. Our written policy is: The motel facilities are for our registered guests only. We do not sell our amenities to guests of any outside rental property to make up for their lack of facilities. It is not unreasonable for us to anticipate that the two small children would need to be delivered and accompanied by their parents or friends, thus the refusal of your offer to buy their admittance.

Your situation is neither new nor unique. With the ever growing number of private homes in Cape May being purchased by investors and converted to weekly rental homes; it is not uncommon for Uncle Joe or Grandma Mary to rent a room in a neighboring hotel and expect to open the hotel’s facilities to the house full of 10 to 20 family members. This is the reason for the policy and the signage at the entrance to our pool. If you were to have informed the office of your intentions prior to the occurrence, our policy would have been reiterated to you and all of this could have been avoided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our third trip to The Stockton. Once again we had an unbelievable time. Our room, 404, had a beautiful view of the ocean. The room was huge and very clean. We only took the car out for a short ride all week. There is no need to drive since you can walk everywhere from this perfect location. We are already looking forward to our visit in October!!
Also, try Gecko's Restaurant at Carpenter's Mall, right behind Washington Street Mall. The food is amazing and we are planning to spend my 50th birthday dinner there in October.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammmey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stockton Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stockton Inns

Property: The Stockton Inns
Address: 809 Beach Ave, Beach Ave & Howard St., Cape May, NJ 08204-2417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Stockton Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stockton Inns Hotel Cape May
Stockton Hotel Cape May
The Stockton Hotel
The Stockton Inns Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing