We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #17 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“Wonderful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We loved everything about our stay at the Mason Cottage. Patti was a wonderful host and provided us with everything we needed, from fresh baked cookies at tea time to restaurant recommendations around the area. The breakfast was also delicious. We stayed in the Decatur room and enjoyed the space very much.

What we enjoyed most about the Mason Cottage was its amazing location. It it located on a beautiful street in a line of Victorian homes, and only a block or two from both the beach and the main shopping area. It was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daina_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    24
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
161
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We enjoyed a long weekend in Cape May at the Mason Cottage. The weather gets a big thumbs down as we were fogged in the entire time, but the Cottage and her manager, Patty get two thumbs up! We got to tour all the rooms but one before the guests checked in and they are all lovely. Some with Jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. The master suite even has a massage table set up in the bath for in room massage! Breakfast was very good and beautifully presented. The off season afternoon chocolate tea is a fantastic addition! You definitely want to come back in time to sample the goodies. Just walking distance to the Beach or Washington Street Mall. I highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have mobility issues you will want to choose a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloryb2god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We had a little wedding on Friday preceding a bigger wedding later in the year. We wanted to get away from Saturday to Sunday. Usually the cottage requires a 2 night stay, but Patti was very accommodating. She let us stay just for the night and put us in a room facing the ocean. It was lovely from the moment we arrived with the assortment of afternoon chocolate covered delights, coffees and teas. The room was comfortable, and everything was top notch. The french toast souffle (as Patti self named it) was amazing along with juices and a fresh fruit plate. The library makes you feel so at home and the feel of the cottage was just refreshing. We are hoping to go back again. Thank you Patti!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRae64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We got what we expected in a top-notch (and top-cost) B&B. Other than some noise from an adjacent room, it was near perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south river
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Being at the Mason this year in different quarters then last year really gave a brand new perspective on this quaint, very well kept Victorian Manor House. Being in a upstairs suite impressed us with the complete quality and attractiveness of the Mason. The suite itself gave us more room then the beautifully appointed Columbia Room downstairs, and was very clean and orderly. The jacuzzi was exceptionally clean, and we made full use of the Robes left for us. The breakfast on Saturday was Amazing! Gourmet Bread pudding something? The afternoon tea as usual with the deserts make the trip exceptional.
Patti the Innkeeper was a delight, as we had a death in the family and her concern was a inspiration and her kindness unexpected. God willing we will be making a trip again next year. maybe one year we will come when it's warmer! Thanks again Patti for an amazing Birthday Trip for my wife!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn in Cape May, NJ. What a wonderful experience from the ambience to the staff who attended to every detail that made our stay fantastic. The rooms are stunningly decorated and immaculate. The location is perfect as we walked to the beach and various shops. I'm looking forward to returning as often as we can.
Kelly B.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

First.... this is our first review on trip advisor and we had such a wonderful time that we feel it should not go unnoticed. My wife and I were looking for a little romantic getaway and we got just that at the Mason Cottage with the romance package.. The room was exceptionally clean and so well decorated. We stayed in the Grand Mason Suite. The bed was comfy and we slept just as good as home maybe even better. The rest of the inn was maticulously maintained and very well kept. We went during the week when the Inn was not sold out and got a private tour from Patti (the innkeeper) of some of the other guest rooms that were equally as nice, because next time we want to bring friends. Patti is the innkeeper who falls in the class "Hostess with the mostess". She was great and that is an understatement. Her homemade chocolate chip cookies are the best!!! (She even gave us some of them to go home with because we liked them so much).. The breakfast food she prepared was excellent. You can definitely tell from her personality and attention to detail that she really loves what she does. While we were there one of the owners, Kim, stopped by to check over the place and greeted us with a warm welcome. She even took the time to stop her busy day and have afternoon tea with us while telling us all the interesting history of the Mason Cottage. The Inn is located near a little shopping outdoor meca in the center of Cape May and 1 block from the beach. There are a bunch of restuarants within walking distance... some real nice and some more casual.. All in all we had a great time and will be going back!!!

Room Tip: The front rooms are ocean view... Try the cookies!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 623 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mason Cottage is a lovely country Victorian B&B located in the heart of historic Cape May. The inn is just one block from the beach and two blocks from many fine shops and restaurants. Built in 1871, the Mason Cottage is endowed with lofty ceilings, full-length windows and a sweeping veranda, all so characteristic of Victorian homes of the period. There are nine lovely antique appointed rooms/suites to choose from, each with a private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mason Cottage Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Mason Cottage Hotel Cape May
The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing