We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, breakfasts & hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #13 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Great location, breakfasts & hospitality”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a long weekend in the Rose Room at The Mason Cottage and were very pleased with everything. Being able to sit on the porch was fantastic, but having breakfast on the porch was a bonus. The breakfasts were tasty and Patti was very helpful in helping us figure out where to venture for dinner. We were in town for a friend's wedding, so it was nice to be able to come back to what felt like home rather than a hotel. We will definitely be back! Thanks for such a great stay, Patti!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jldun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    24
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
166
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I just returned from 4 nights at the Mason Cottage where we stayed for our first anniversary, and just had the most wonderful time! One block off the main drag of Beach Ave, it was nice and quiet while still being just a 3 minute walk to the shore.

The Innkeeper, Patti, was wonderful: totally helpful and cooked great breakfasts. Oh, and breakfast on the porch each morning was a wonderful treat. The only downside was the mattress and pillows in our room, the Madison, were pretty uncomfortable. Still, sleeping with the window open and the cool air coming in was great.

It's quite affordable, by Cape May standards, and we would definitely go back. Would give 4.5 if I could.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvanullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown,
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We just got back from a long weekend at the Mason & we really loved it. It was in a great location, very close to the beach as well as the pedestrian mall. We loved sitting on the veranda, enjoying our delicious breakfast and people-watching. We stayed at the Rose Room and our bed was very comfortable. We slept great! The room has an air conditioner as well as a ceiling fan so we definitely stayed cool. We enjoyed the afternoon treats after the beach. It was so nice to come back to lemonade and homemade cookies and brownies. Patti has a sitting room with comfy chairs and tons of books that you can read while you're there. Finally, she makes something called french toast souffle which is unbelievable. Thanks for a great stay, Patti! We hope to come back soon.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
261 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I visited Cape May in August and stayed two nights at the Mason Cottage. Patti was very attentive and was very thorough showing us all of the amenities of the Inn. The location of the Inn is terrific as it is within a short walk to the beach or to the Washington Street shopping area. The room was clean and we had a nice time. The only negatives in our opinion is there is no parking on premises and we thought it was a bit over priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was our second time in Cape May. We only stayed three nights and booked the Mason Cottage at the last minute. I brought my daughter, a college student, and her friend along. The Mason Cottage was the ideal place for a girls getaway! We had the Franklin Suite, which was perfect for the three of us. It consists of a bedroom, private bath with a clawfoot tub, and a little curtained alcove with a daybed. I am an early riser so it was nice to sneak out of the room for coffee in the morning without bothering the girls. In a hotel room you always worry about firing up the coffee maker in the room and waking up everyone else, but at the Mason Cottage the coffee and tea were in the common area, which is nice.

The property also offers free use of bikes, beach towels and chairs. The gourmet breakfasts were wonderful, and different every day. The innkeeper, Patti, was friendly and helpful without hovering. The only downside to this place is that the house next door seems to be privately owned and held a loud party on Friday night, but the noise was mostly concealed by the AC units.

If you have not been to Cape May, you will love it and will be ruined for all other resort towns. The Mason Cottage is a lovely place in a great location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I visited Cape May for the first time and stayed at this Victorian-themed Inn in July 2012 during the heat wave. Unfortunately, there was no air-conditioning on the main floor of the home, where the main sitting room and breakfast room were located. It was incredibly hot and stuffy on the first floor of the house all of the time. Thank goodness for the two window AC units in our room! We kept them running 24/7. It kept the second floor suite at a cool temperature perfect for sleeping. Our suite was very quiet and private. The room was quaint, with antique decor. It was in the front of the house, and we awoke to incredible morning sunlight each day. We also had a distant view of the ocean, which was beautiful. The TV had hundreds of channels to chose from, which was great for late-night TV watching. Breakfast each morning was delicious, complete with fruit bowels overflowing with ripe fruit or home-made muffins that accompanied the main dish. The coffee was the best ever! What was great about the hotel was the supply of beach chairs and beach towels to borrow, as well as an array of bikes to take for a short ride. The walk to the beach was less than five minutes, while the walk to the Washington street mall was under ten minutes tops. A truly ideal location!!! The only downside was no reserved street parking. We had to park a few blocks away and leave our car in the same spot for three days, as it was unlikely that you would ever get another or closer parking space!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Hello. I have never before written a review for any accommodation, though I do frequently read them; especially from Trip Advisor. My wife and I stayed the past 2 nights at Mason Cottage. I chose it based on a combination of its location, reviews, and price. It was a good find in all areas.
The cottage was just 2 blocks to the beach and 2 blocks to the Washington Street Mall (3 blocks of fun gift and food shops).
The reviews were spot on. From the start, Mason Cottage exceeded our expectations. For a place built in the 1870s, it has been tastefully modernized with lots of lighting, electrical outlets, and modern amenities (e.g., good air conditioner, nice alarm clock, ceiling fan, jacuzzi tub and shower, heat lamps). The staff was kind and the property very clean. We enjoyed the use of the quality beach chairs and bicycles, though as far as the bikes go, do not expect the top of the line -- they are basic, single gear bikes with wide seats and wide handle bars where you pedal backwards to stop. The bikes were different from what i was used to, but they got the job done during our ride to the lighthouse.
The price was reasonable when you consider the area. That is, you will not find many places cheaper and those that are cheaper are clearly not as nice. My wife and I believe Mason Cottage provided a good value and a charming environment.
We would definitely return and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhffaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 623 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mason Cottage is a lovely country Victorian B&B located in the heart of historic Cape May. The inn is just one block from the beach and two blocks from many fine shops and restaurants. Built in 1871, the Mason Cottage is endowed with lofty ceilings, full-length windows and a sweeping veranda, all so characteristic of Victorian homes of the period. There are nine lovely antique appointed rooms/suites to choose from, each with a private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mason Cottage Hotel Cape May
The Mason Cottage Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing