We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, beautiful room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #13 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, beautiful room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We've stayed at Elaine's on three separate occasions and have loved it every time. The staff is wonderful and the breakfast is terrific. There is a lovely wrap-around porch and a cozy little reading room on the second floor that is furnished with Victorian era antiques. This B&B is very reasonably priced for services and location.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    38
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
109
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dickson City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Elaine's for our honeymoon this past week. The experience was the best! Our room was great with a private sun-room and veranda all to ourselves. The room itself was beautiful, clean, and comfy and such a reasonable rate. The staff at the hotel goes out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and more. Elaine's is just 3 blocks to the beach and they also provide chairs and umbrella's so there is no need for the additional expense of renting at the beach. The breakfast every morning, was delicious! You have to try the Banana's Foster French Toast, it was sinful! The dinner show in their own theater was entertaining and the meal was also great. What a selection! I only wish we could have stayed longer to go through the whole menu but we will be back!!! They also have a bar on site that comes alive in the early evening and offers a variety of unique drinks at reasonable prices. This is a must stay when your in Cape May!! Our thanks to Patrick and the staff for everything!!! We will be seeing you again!!
Nancy & John B.

Room Tip: room #4 is said to be haunted although we have no first hand evidence of this after our stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyandJohn_62312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is the second time my fiance and I have stayed at Elaine's and it was even better this year! The rooms are small and quaint, but well-maintained, clean and homey. The staff is more than accommodating and friendly--they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Also included in the stay if you book 3+ nights are 2 complimentary cocktails and 2 tickets to the dinner theater, which is hilarious, not to mention the food is delicious. The best part of staying at this place is breakfast on the porch! They now are featuring an unlimited menu that guests of the B & B can order from--my favorite was the freshly squeezed OJ, bananas foster french toast and the best fruit salad I've ever had (10 types of local fruit in it!) Overall, wonderful location right in the midst of shops, restaurants and all the downtown action! You won't be disappointed. Thank you Elaine's! Can't wait 'til next year!

Room Tip: 2 and 5 are cheapest, small but comfortable; 5 is nice because it is on the second floor, whereas wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed in room #10, which carries one of the more expensive rates - $185/night. The room description and photo at Elaines web page is very misleading. The room is tiny, maybe 10' X 10' but the space included a closet that extends into the room and too many pieces of furniture but no chairs - sit on the bed. The drawers in the dresser are next to impossible to open. There were no satin sheets as the web page suggests and the room has a musty odor. The bathroom is very small and has a vent fan that does not vent. The staff is friendly enough but the staff did not offer anything voluntarily. The staff will say "good morning" easy enough but that's the end of the morning greeting - no one asked if I would like some coffee, I had to ask if I could get some coffee. Previous stays at a bed and breakfast have been very much like staying with family or friends, things are offered to you but at Elaines that is not policy. The web page says guest will receive a free round at the bar well nothing free was offered when I went to the bar. On a good note the breakfast is very nice and the other guess were very friendly. The location is very close to the mall, resturants and the walk to the beach is pleasant. The porch is nice but the chairs are not very comfortable. I would not give a recommendation to stay at Elaines and most likely will not go back. Next visit to Cape May we will try another B & B.

Room Tip: Don't select room #10!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lmchmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren E, Public Relations Manager at Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We are disappointed to hear that you have had a negative experience with us. We aim to please each and every customer. We would love to speak with your further about your stay. If you would please provide contact information, our manager will give you a call.

Sincerely,
Elaine's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waretown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Let me start out by saying the location, though not on the water, is by far the best! Steps from the outdoor mall, shops, and restaurants. So far my wife and I have visted this gem three times. Each time the rooms are fantastic and very well maintained. On our last visit we went in March and were totally overwhelmed with how welcoming and hospitable the staff were. It happened that on our first night we were the only couple there. While driving around sightseeing, we got a call from a strange phone number. It was the owner asking us what we would like for breakfast. Can you get any more personal attention? The food at Elaine's is fantastic. On this trip we also took in the dinner theatre. Top notch! Elaine's is the only place we will stay in Cape May! Thank you to the entire staff for our wonderful trips and many more to come!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at Elaine's for a 4 day weekend and loved it! Patrick, and the rest of the staff were super helpful and friendly! We are picky eaters, and have difficultly with bed and breakfasts because everything is so fancy, and Patrick had no problem altering our meals to be a little more to what we prefer! All of the staff was eager to help make recommendations about places to visit and eat. Our room was clean and comfortable. People in other reviews complained about not having anywhere to sit, but I think this is typical of most bed and breakfasts and there was a beautiful sunroom on our floor where you could sit if you wanted. It had enough seating for at least 4-6 people. Not to mention the lovely 2nd floor porch full of rocking chairs to sit in. We had a little difficulty regualting the air conditioner, but it wasn't anything major. Elaine's is located within walking distance to just about everything. We parked the car for the entire 4 day weekend. And where were were leaving, Patrick mentioned to us that we could leave our car and belongings at the hotel so we can still enjoy Cape May. Staying here was like staying with long lost relatives! Elaine's was a great experience and we will defintely be back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room six . It is located on the side of the building, but right next to the sun room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Three generations of women spent Mother's Day weekend at Elaine's. All of us enjoyed so many things about Elaine's. Jade was great at making us feel welcome. Kate made sure that we had all of our needs taken care of, and Patrick was fun to talk to (nice to look at too). The room was fabulous. I slept like a baby. I would stay again. The food was great! My Mom had a great time and that was what I was hoping for as a Mother's Day Get-away.

Room Tip: Room 7 was at the end of the hallway. Nice, no traffic..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neblake217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 513 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing