We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #19 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My family and I did not stay at this inn for our stay at cape may but we did enjoy breakfast as well as a dinner show and a ghost tour. The food was delicious and the service was amazing. The dinner show was our favorite part of our entire trip because it had each and everyone of us cracking up. The ghost tour with Joe was just as funny. While we can't attest to the inn part of this establishment, we can say we would recommend this place as a great entertainment stop and a great food stop for anyone visiting cape may!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mm738056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is the second year we stayed at Elaine’s. Ghost Hunters weekend was filled with so many enjoyable, planned activities. We were on the third floor, which is a bit of a climb, but the room was well worth it; very spacious, comfortable and clean. Great relaxing way to start your day with breakfast on the porch, coffee is the best ever! Location is perfect, you can park the car in your assigned spot and walk to most everything The owners and staff take the time to get to know their guests personally. Would love to visit over Christmas time if weather is not too harsh. Great job Shirley, Patrick and staff! Will be back again!

Room Tip: Number 9 on 3rd floor, very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Elaine's for Happy Hour and Dinner Theater. The drinks at the bar are amazing and the bartender, Anita, was a true sweetheart. She really made our bar experience special because she took the time to get to know us (even though the bar was busy and drink orders were pouring in for dinner) and provide us with prompt, friendly service. There were many friendly locals at the bar who were more than happy to talk to us and provide their suggestions for drinks and places to visit.

The dinner theater was a really fun experience. The food is diner quality and the show is really fun, although it did leave a little to be desired in the plot. We were laughing the whole time, as were most audience members. It was a really good way to just let go of your stresses, laugh, and be a kid again. I had a lot of respect for the actors who put themselves out there and had a blast.

What was neat about the show was that it was written by one of the employees of Elaine's. His name is Kris and he is a waiter/actor in the show. Although it did lack slightly in plot, it's great to know it is written and performed by local talent and individuals passionate about community theater. I honestly wanted to get his autograph/picture afterwards because I have so much respect for local artists.

Go, have a few drinks, say "HI!" to Anita for us, relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livingandlovingnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Unbeatable value for the price. Staff catered to guests all around, in the hotel as well as the bar and happy hour outside. Room 10 was great, bed was comfortable, shower needed a little more pressure. The breakfast was great, but bar and restaurant were a little gaudy (we just sat on the outside porch). Great quiet location. Next time we go to Cape May we will stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_schmidt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We go every year for dinner. This year's show was the best. Great for kids. Food is good, somewhat pricy but you are supporting starving artists so consider it a donation to the protection of the arts! You will have fun if you like campy funny theater. The night that we went there was a bald headed man convention in town, or so it seemed. There is one continuing joke in the show that only people who grew up in the 80's and listened to Foreigner will "get." The kids will have that quizical look on their faces...love it. There is another joke that your kids will be repeating all the way home if they listen closely. But we've only been there three times now, and can't wait to go back next year. No we have been there four times, and don't call me _____ _____.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were there for a few days in July and had a wonderful time!

Breakfasts on the veranda were a delight--I think it has to be the best outdoor space in Cape May.

Innkeeper Carol was so nice--truly wonderful to deal with; she was so friendly and helpful.

We didn't get to go to the happy hours this trip, but will next time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was our 4th year staying at Elaine's. Every year it just keeps getting better. We have stayed in just about all of the rooms and they have all been wonderful. Breakfast on the porch is spectacular. The dinner theater and haunted mansion are lots of fun with great food too. The happy hour outside entertainment was new this year and we really enjoyed it. Can't wait for next year!

Room Tip: Our favorite room is room 6, the Mint Tulip Boudoir. It is on the second floor which is very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 513 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £106 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing