We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #13 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed at Elaines with my BFF for a "girls-tyme vaca"... And what a lovely time we had! Our beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, lovely, quiet, and spacious. Each morning, our breakfasts on the front porch were out of this world. Elaines' is a little larger than other B & B's I've stayed at with my husband, but they still make you feel like you are the only guests there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonflies8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    38
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
108
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Elaine's Bed and Breakfast Inn. We were only staying Saturday, and a lot of places required a two night minimum stay during the weekend, so we were happy when, on Friday, they let us reserve just Saturday. The location is very close to town center shopping and restaurants, four blocks to the beach. They have a parking lot, which lots of the downtown B&B's do not. They generously let us park before check-in and after check-out.

They have a bar and dinner-theater, and lots of activity on weekend nights (even in October). They had live music (a singer/guitarist and a drummer) outdoors, not ready to quit their day jobs, but enjoyable, a nice surprise. We didn't attend the dinner-theater ($45 per person), but going to and from our room we passed the young actors in the hall waiting for their entrances and reviewing their lines. I got the impression the show was probably fun (based on the board game "Clue" and involving Frankenstein and/or Dracula, written by a waiter/aspiring actor). but I wouldn't expect King Lear.

The furnishings I saw were more reproductions than real antiques, but good quality, and nice décor. They offered ghost tours, which we did not take. Lot's of hustle and bustle on Saturday night. Breakfast was very good, served on the porch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My family and I did not stay at this inn for our stay at cape may but we did enjoy breakfast as well as a dinner show and a ghost tour. The food was delicious and the service was amazing. The dinner show was our favorite part of our entire trip because it had each and everyone of us cracking up. The ghost tour with Joe was just as funny. While we can't attest to the inn part of this establishment, we can say we would recommend this place as a great entertainment stop and a great food stop for anyone visiting cape may!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mm738056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAdoo, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is the second year we stayed at Elaine’s. Ghost Hunters weekend was filled with so many enjoyable, planned activities. We were on the third floor, which is a bit of a climb, but the room was well worth it; very spacious, comfortable and clean. Great relaxing way to start your day with breakfast on the porch, coffee is the best ever! Location is perfect, you can park the car in your assigned spot and walk to most everything The owners and staff take the time to get to know their guests personally. Would love to visit over Christmas time if weather is not too harsh. Great job Shirley, Patrick and staff! Will be back again!

Room Tip: Number 9 on 3rd floor, very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Elaine's for Happy Hour and Dinner Theater. The drinks at the bar are amazing and the bartender, Anita, was a true sweetheart. She really made our bar experience special because she took the time to get to know us (even though the bar was busy and drink orders were pouring in for dinner) and provide us with prompt, friendly service. There were many friendly locals at the bar who were more than happy to talk to us and provide their suggestions for drinks and places to visit.

The dinner theater was a really fun experience. The food is diner quality and the show is really fun, although it did leave a little to be desired in the plot. We were laughing the whole time, as were most audience members. It was a really good way to just let go of your stresses, laugh, and be a kid again. I had a lot of respect for the actors who put themselves out there and had a blast.

What was neat about the show was that it was written by one of the employees of Elaine's. His name is Kris and he is a waiter/actor in the show. Although it did lack slightly in plot, it's great to know it is written and performed by local talent and individuals passionate about community theater. I honestly wanted to get his autograph/picture afterwards because I have so much respect for local artists.

Go, have a few drinks, say "HI!" to Anita for us, relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livingandlovingnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Unbeatable value for the price. Staff catered to guests all around, in the hotel as well as the bar and happy hour outside. Room 10 was great, bed was comfortable, shower needed a little more pressure. The breakfast was great, but bar and restaurant were a little gaudy (we just sat on the outside porch). Great quiet location. Next time we go to Cape May we will stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_schmidt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We go every year for dinner. This year's show was the best. Great for kids. Food is good, somewhat pricy but you are supporting starving artists so consider it a donation to the protection of the arts! You will have fun if you like campy funny theater. The night that we went there was a bald headed man convention in town, or so it seemed. There is one continuing joke in the show that only people who grew up in the 80's and listened to Foreigner will "get." The kids will have that quizical look on their faces...love it. There is another joke that your kids will be repeating all the way home if they listen closely. But we've only been there three times now, and can't wait to go back next year. No we have been there four times, and don't call me _____ _____.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#6 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 513 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing