We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get much better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
queens new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Doesn't get much better!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We just returned home from a 4 night stay at Elaine's I can t think of one negative thing to say about Elaine's delicious Breakfast ,very nice clean rooms & a wonderful staff this is our 2nd stay at Elaine's & we will defiantly be returning next year.Thanks Elaine's for a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    39
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
110
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just returned from Elaine's Victorian Inn. We were there for 2 nights. The place is SPOTLESSLY CLEAN. As other people have said their breakfast is GOURMET all the way. Oat meal with huge blueberry's, strawberry's, nuts etc. Their pancakes are the best we have ever eaten.Fresh squeezed juices,waffles, eggs any way you like and like you will. Plenty of breakfast meats to choose from, all in all a great breakfast selection which is included in your nights stay!
LOCATION, right in the heart of Cape May town, close to the beach and shopping,fishing etc. We had room #1 it has a queen bed with a huge private bathroom on the ground floor. I can't walk up steps. The staff is very friendly and ready to help in any way.
We both enjoyed the nightly outside music entertainment while enjoying the evening breezes. We are not drinkers but drinks are priced right for the people who enjoy a cocktail or beer. This is for guest and non guests alike. They have a dinner show which we did not see this time around. Maybe the next time we stay there.
One early morning, I was sitting outside enjoying the quiet a cup of coffee, hearing the different birds chirping away and from across the driveway, out from under a bush comes a local friendly skunk out for his morning stroll walking right towards me, I said to him no,no go the other way and as if he understood me turned and went the other way without a care in the world!
We had a wonderful time there and will return when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Elaine's Victorian Inn for the area in season has very reasonable rates that include a parking s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeyjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Spend two nights in this centrally located bed and breakfast. The breakfast was unusual for a b&b in that it was off a regular breakfast menu and served on an outdoor porch. The food was terrific, and eating on the porch was very nice. At 5:00 each evening they have musical entertainment and one can sit on an upstairs veranda or downstairs on the porch. They have $2.00 beers. The room was on the smallish size and it had a bit of a musty odor, but we were very close to the beach and this is to be expected. Lodgings in Cape May are very expensive, and this inn was very reasonable. The staff were very nice. Overall, an excellent value.
There is no lobby or real foyer. But we did not think that was an issue. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillE48864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philiadelphia, Pa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at this property. Overall, we had a nice stay - the good parts were very good, and the bad parts were mild annoyances - but I think this property needs to decide if it wants to be an upscale B&B or a kitschy beach party spot. Right now it feels a bit schizophrenic.

The good: the B&B parts - we stayed in room 7, every inch of which was charming. 2 lovely queen beds perfect for our girls' weekend. Comfy and plush, with mountains of pillows and purple chenille. The bathroom was small-ish, but modern and immaculate. Housekeeping was lightning fast and left us lovely little touches. Breakfast was included and we ate a delicious meal each morning on the wrap around porch with a view of the garden. Each room has a dedicated parking space, and the location is fantastically convenient for everything! Walk to shopping, the beach, trolley tours, or the Ferry shuttle. The hotel has beach chairs available to borrow for the day.

The bad: every day at 4 pm they wheel out a cheesy bar covered in liquor ads, with whirling frozen drink machines, and a rotating cast of guitar players with a tinny amp, and they park them right in front of the only entrance in or out of the hotel. Instantly the charming Victorian turns into a low rent beach bar, and you have to run the gauntlet of variously drunk patrons to get in or out. (Strangely, there is another
- much nicer IMHO - bar just inside the door, so I'm not sure what putting another ugly one outside the door does for them, other than to ruin the atmosphere). Some of the music was okay (although sometimes it seemed to devolve into an "open mic / karaoke" type sing along for tipsy patrons) but there was no option to enjoy the rocking chairs on the upstairs porch without being part of the party below.

We did try the diner theatre, which I understand can be hit or miss, so let's just say for us it was a "miss" that night. I will say I was unpleasantly surprised to have $5.50 added to a $45 prix fixe meal for a glass of iced tea (not the Long Island kind) with no warning whatsoever. We knew we were getting charged for the extra appetizer we ordered, and there were prices for cocktails, beer & wine listed, but an extra $11 for soft drinks was a bit ridiculous.

Soon we learned to just stay away in the evenings, and enjoy the room and the porch at breakfast - it seems like a whole different place after 4 pm. By day, an elegant and charming Victorian B&B with a big generous breakfast in a pretty garden. By night, a cheesy bar with entertainment of random quality and pretty bad value. I like the morning version better, but there's something for all tastes...




Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and love this Inn in Cape May. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The only negative was wish they had a flat screen tv, instead of old style TV. The breakfast is so delicious, the waffles, french toast and my
Husband's favorite 2,2,2 special. The porch is so nice to enjoy the food or for cocktails in the evenings. We can not wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joce28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The prices were some of the best down in Cape May and the room was amazing. There is a nice deck to sit out on on the 2nd story. They had a few bands pkaying as well while we were there which is great to encourage good small local bands. It was great! The breakfast were great too out on their wrap around deck out front feeling the nice breeze from the ocean.
The B&B is located right near the walk with all the stores to check out.
They have their own parking lot as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank McKinnon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our second trip to Cape May but our first stay at Elaine's. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating - they really enjoy taking care of their guests. Breakfast on the porch was relaxing and of course, delicious! Every evening between 5 and 9 pm you could sit outside and enjoy light fare dining while listening to music. Our room was comfortable and clean; housekeeping service was great! Would definitely return next summer. Linda A.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 513 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing