We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Vacation Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capri Motor Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Capri Motor Lodge
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked the Capri for a last minute get-away. Stayed for 3 days. Very good location to beach, restaurants, etc. They allowed us to park and use their shower/changing room on checkin and checkout days so that we could enjoy the beach. Very clean and nice amenities to keep kids busy - shuffleboard, ping pong, pool. Benches outside of room and seating in the courtyard to enjoy the nice weather in the evenings. Pool is only open from 10am - 6pm. Wish the pool would stay open later into the evening - 9pm? The kids enjoyed the fresh popped popcorn for an afternoon snack. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    101
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
166
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is our second time here in two years. Furnishings are simple ( don't come here expecting the Hyatt or Marriott), the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, there is on site parking (mostly covered), and the motel is located directly across from the beach. The only real and consistent negative is the musty odor in the rooms. Last year -- we changed rooms twice--the smell was rather strong. That same strong musty odor was present this year as well, but we were able to mostly ignore it ( this was a last minute booking and vacancies elsewhere were hard to find). We think the smell is from the carpets. A combination of moist sea air and the left over smoke residue from people who cook on the stoves in the kitchenettes. Whatever the cause, this same smell can be found in multiple rooms here. It's too bad, because otherwise, this is a very pleasant spot for a family stay. We, kids included, had a nice time overall, but perhaps the motel owners should consider removing the carpets from one room as an experiment, and putting in easy to clean hard tile flooring to see if that makes a difference. This place ( which does appear to be kept very clean) would be ideal if the rooms smelled fresh. Simple cleaning and vacuuming is not enough to solve the problem. Would I come back here again? My wife would not, since she is very sensitive to strong aromas. For myself, I would consider it again if it was a last minute booking and rooms were available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveler458x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Capri Motor Lodge was convenient, clean, and comes highly recommended. It is located directly across the street from the beach. We were also able to walk to restaurants and shops if we did not feel like driving. I was happy to use the carts provided to transport our luggage to our well kept room using the elevator. Our room was an immaculate two-bed efficiency with a refrigerator and a dining area. We could see the crystal clear pool and the Atlantic Ocean from our room or from the park bench outside of our room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They kept the grounds and the entire place beautiful. We are looking forward to returning to this gem! Please read the other reviews as I did not want to repeat the other positive comments that were already communicated. Joe Della Ferra Belleville, NJ

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was very close to the stairway. It was convenient for my 92-year-young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe07109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We just spent three days at the Capri and it was everything we needed and nothing we didn't. Having booked at the last minute we had a choice of this property or others costing twice as much. We had a pool, the beach, shuffle board, corn toss, gas grills, and ping pong just outside our door. I didn't see anyone on the streets streaming out of other lodging having a better time than us.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floors with a view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frackville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was our third trip to Cape May, we love it down there, however this was our first time staying at the Capri Motor Lodge. We REALLY enjoyed our stay there. It is a great place for families to stay. They have things for kids to do as far as ping pong, and shuffleboard, along with the pool. We liked that they had the gas grills there for us to use!! It had a real "backyard" feel. My son was able to play in the grassy area with his toys which was really great! It was very clean, the maid service was also great, all the staff was very helpful. We will be staying there in our future trips!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have been staying at the Capri Motor Lodge for 15 years now, with the exception of a year or two. They have a caring, professional staff with no attitude, wonderful housekeeping staff, and great location in Cape May. There is trolley service from the inn to town if you prefer not to drive every day, or the walk is a bit much. Lovely, clean pool; and no matter how booked they are, we always get a peaceful sleep and never hear our neighbors. The oceanview is beautiful and the rooms are clean and well supplied with all you need in the 2-double bed efficiencies and suites. Added fun is the shuffleboard and pingpong near the pool, plus free popcorn and apples in the lobby area and all the brochures you can dream of with info about the area. We highly recommend the Capri Motor Lodge for anyone who wants happy memories of Cape May!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our extended family had a wonderful experience at the Capri. Rooms were clean, staff very accommodating, basket of clean linens and supplies were delivered on a day we chose to decline the cleaning service, and the children loved the ping pong, shuffleboard and free popcorn in the lobby. It is directly across the street from the beach and has a ground level shower/changing room to use on the day of check in and departure. Great family place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer section are brighter and more up to date. Third floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frieda403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CML1965, Manager at Capri Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#16 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motor Lodge

Property: Capri Motor Lodge
Address: 1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capri Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are seaside accommodations located directly across the street from Cape Mays beautiful beaches. We offer a family friendly environment for the whole family to enjoy while vacationing. Enjoy the pool, BBQ on the grill, play ping pong and shuffleboard or just take in the wonderful view of the beach. We offer efficiencies, suites and townhouse in the historic town of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Capri Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Motor Hotel Cape May
Capri Hotel Cape May
Capri Motel Cape May
Capri Motor Lodge Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing