We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capri Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capri Motor Lodge
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Nice return.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I had stayed here once and decided to come again. We had a one bedroom suite. It was very clean, nut musty at all. There was ample closet and drawer space as well as much bathroom storage space. The location was great. A couple of not so great things: the a/c unit was beyond loud, but thankfully we didn't have to use it much; the elevator had a terrible smell, which it seems came from the deodorizer they put in it (!); the advertised WiFi was sketchy at best and non-existent at times, which was frustrating. All in all, though, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 3rd floor, with a balcony that looked out over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    101
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
166
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trappe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was our 3rd trip to the Capri. I see no reason to stay anyplace else in Cape May. The location is perfect. Quiet street, at night with windows open the ocean lulls you to sleep. It is so peaceful. The beach is steps away right across the street. The staff is friendly and encourages you to use their shower facility after check out, to extend your stay. We enjoyed the beach all day, showered and left in the evening after a nice dinner in town. The rooms are nice and very clean. Beds comfortable, and with a kitchenette we could eat in if we wanted. The pool area offers a glorious pool, grills, ping pong table and shuffleboard. Even the guests are always friendly, we have a fun time staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have stayed at many locations in Cape May, from house rentals, bed & breakfasts to hotels. Our choice to stay at the Capri was one of the best choices we have made. It really is the best location! The view of the beach from the 3rd floor sundeck is panoramic to say the least. I could have stayed there all day and been happy. We started out in a standard room which was fun because you had windows on both sides of the room to catch the morning and evening sun. Halfway thru the week we transferred to a deluxe suite and found it to be so inviting with our own private beach view deck. Both rooms were clean and comfortable with great maid service. The staff was friendly and very accommodating with any questions or needs that we had. The groundskeepers do an excellent job of caring for the property and landscaping. Sparkling clean pool and beautiful flower boxes to enjoy. Not to mention complimentary fresh popped popcorn and fruit bowl. The Capri attracts some great folks, as we met and enjoyed the company of other vacationers staying at the Lodge. We will definitely be returning to the Capri Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Love this place! Quiet location, able to make meals if wanted, staff was friendly and very helpful. Best place we ever stayed at on the beach!!! I didn't want to leave, but I missed our 4 legged daughter so much. Wish they were pet friendly. Guess we have to train her to be a service dog. We needed a wheelchair assessable room. There was lots of room to get around and the parking right outside our room was wonderful and helpful.
We will always be coming here from now on. We found our home away from home.
Thank you for all you did for us!!! Even the extra coffee and popcorn!

Room Tip: The A/C unit was continued white noise, not off and on which disturbs sleep and if there was any out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Pros: good pricing for Cape May; across the road from the beach with good ocean views, friendly, helpful staff; plenty of on-site parking; clean; beds were comfortable; located on a residential block, surrounded by residential blocks - being six blocks away from bars and restaurants means entertainment within walking distance but far enough away from noise.
There were no cons for our stay but please be aware that this is a basic three-story elevator motel (besides the more luxurious townhouse suites). We visited in off-season but at the last minute. We selected the Capri just because it had a room available. The hum of the A/C was a little loud but it worked fine and was easily adjustable. We turned it off at night, since nights were cool enough. The walls and floors are slightly thin, but at the resort prices charged by this facility, it seems to attract an educated, civilized enough clientele that our neighbors were mild mannered enough for our own comfort. The flat screen TV worked well. The room came with a kitchenette and refrigerator. The beds were comfortable. We did not get maid service during our two night stay but that was not anything that mattered to us.
Also be aware that canceling reservations at this or any other Cape May hotel or B&B can be harsh. Collectively, the Cape May innkeepers can be strict because high demand keeps this a sellers market. Book well in advance if you want to have a choice of rooms but it is best to be sure that you will not want to cancel your reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satipatipatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed in one of their 3 Townhouses (Unit#1), which was beautifully appointed, and accommodated our Family of 6 adults perfectly. The Management/Staff are very nice and are willing to help with any questions you might have. We just left the Capri this morning(9/14/13)....but already talking about a repeat performance for next September! It was truly awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We are pleasantly surprised when we stayed at the Capri. The accommodations met everyone's needs from toddlers to seniors. We had a beautiful ocean view, were steps from the beach, and it was clean, with friendly service. The lady at the front desk was informative and friendly. It was quiet and peaceful, just what my son and I needed. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Families with small children have excellent access to the pool and admenties from the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
650 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motor Lodge

Property: Capri Motor Lodge
Address: 1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capri Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are seaside accommodations located directly across the street from Cape Mays beautiful beaches. We offer a family friendly environment for the whole family to enjoy while vacationing. Enjoy the pool, BBQ on the grill, play ping pong and shuffleboard or just take in the wonderful view of the beach. We offer efficiencies, suites and townhouse in the historic town of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Capri Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Motor Hotel Cape May
Capri Hotel Cape May
Capri Motel Cape May
Capri Motor Lodge Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing