We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Choice Off the Beaten Path” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Harbor Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Harbor Motor Inn
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Good Choice Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Decided last minute to go for 2 nights to take my 11 y.o. grandson for a few days of fun and sun. I was able to find vacancy at Cape Harbor and was very pleased with our stay. Though the decor may be a bit dated, it did not matter in the least~ The place was immaculate, the staff including the lovely woman at the front desk and the owner (Tony) who took the reservation were wonderfully cordial and accommodating. We had a 2nd floor room with two beds, a well stocked kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave and full size fridge. There was another separate room with a small sleeper sofa and a 2nd TV set. Rooms have a balcony(ours faced the pool (immaculate area as well) and the pool area was well stocked with lounge chairs, tables with umbrellas, etc. There was a little landing between the two sets of 2nd floor units with more chairs and a large (albeit rather weather beaten) table, but it was nice to have a little additional gathering place for families, couples, etc. Good attention paid to the grounds and landscaping was lovely. Large barbecue grills and a large play area for children (with alot of great toys out there to entertain them!) too. Had a conversation with someone at the pool who said they've been going to Cape M. for 25 years and simply love it. As I said, this is NOT a glammed up property and the furnishings are old, but if you are looking for a roomy, very clean well stocked place without alot of hub-bub, activity and noise, then you will love this place. My grandson thought it was "awesome" and wants to go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you want to stay in Cape May and can't afford staying on the beach, this is the place to stay. If you have anyone graduating from the Coast Guard this is just a block or two away. The place is very clean and the owners are very friendly. They have grills out back for your use. We go fishing while we are there and they have no problem with us rinsing our rods and cooler out back. The owner even has some fishing tips for you. Mary at the front desk will do anything in her power to make sure you have a nice stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wildamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed at Cape Harbor Motor Inn the weekend of June 18th for a family wedding. The staff was very nice and friendly! We were upgraded to a larger room at no additional charge, which was very nice!
The rooms are small but if you are not picky they are fine. Might be a little tight if staying for more than a few days. Pool is very nice and not crowded!
Room was clean.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missmason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

We like to stay here every summer when we go to Cape May. The prices are fantastic and since you are not on the beach it's a very quiet and relaxing area. the rooms are always neat and clean and we can't complain. it may not be a 4 star hotel but if you are viewing as what it is, a place to sleep and shower, then you can't beat the value.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajl3177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed here ($200 prepaid for 2 nights, OFF season) for a soccer tournament. The owner/manager was beyond rude -- he demanded the balance in CASH (I had prepaid one night) and upon my arrival, he demanded that I go to Wawa at the end of a very long day to get the money right then (I was short @ $25, but he couldn't wait). He then told me that I could NOT stay there. Finally, I called the local police and was "allowed" to stay at this dump. Never again. Be forewarned -- other reviews say the same thing. Don't waste your money. Plus, my pictures say a 1000 words -- no covers on the light bulbs in the bathroom, lots of road noise, moldy smell.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aam1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsmoor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We found it to be very clean and fresh, however, the room is out dated and lacking some conveniences....Like, closet area and hangers, shampoo, coffee for the coffee pot, .......
Mostly,,,,,,We concsder the price to be out of line with the rest of the world.....And so is Cape May...............................

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ric1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

My family and I had the opportunity to stay at Cape Harbor Motor Inn during this past June. The accomodations were clean, comfortable and accurately described by the owners over the phone.

The owners were very nice and accomodating to my and family and I to ensure that they answered all of our questions and provided guidance toward the attractions offered in the Cape May area.

The swimming pool area was also in great condition and was well monitored by site management towards ensuring the safety of everyone poolside.

The grounds were kept clean with beautiful floral arrangements scattered about the property.

The nightly / weekly rates were also far below any of the rates quoted by similar establishments along the beachfront.

If you are looking for a comfortable, clean and affordable motel to stay at while at Cape May, you definately want to check this location out as the accomodations well exceeded our families expectations and we will definately be back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveCapeMay48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.6 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#20 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#16 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetty Motel
Jetty Motel
#33 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Harbor Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Harbor Motor Inn

Property: Cape Harbor Motor Inn
Address: 715 Pittsburg Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Cape Harbor Motor Hotel Cape May
Cape Harbor Hotel
Cape Harbor Motor Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing