We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colton Court Motor Inn
Ranked #35 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
336 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not a bad stay!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After reading all the reviews I was VERY weary about staying at this hotel/motel. I just hitting up Cape May for the night so figured I would deal with it.

When I called they told me that there was a 2 night minimal like most hotels ( starting to see that trend now) but on there website I was allowed to book one night and got my confirmation.

The hotel is located in a perfect location. Right on Beach Ave across the beach, the hotel/motel had plenty of parking and it was well taken care of on the outside. The pool area was clean, nice size pool and plenty chairs ( its off season :)

Booking was very precis that it only started at 2pm, but at 1:37 the young lady at the office came and found me at teh pool and gave me my key. I did find it odd that there we no bathrooms in the courtyard, but there really wasn't a lobby just a small office.

My room was a large size- two beds ( hard but its a motel) a new tv, fridge and microwave. The rooms are VERY outdated but for 100 on the beach I really wouldn't complain. The only issue was my room had a smell- like wet/old smell. Wasn't sure what it was but like I said I stayed a night.

I would stay there again for a night or two again!

Room Tip: I stayed in the 'breezeway" on the first floor, all the difference was two room away froma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    33
    33
    19
    46
See reviews for
78
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glenside, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year and it was what we expected for the price. Clean but a bit outdated. But an excellent location and could not beat the price. Unfortunately, this year they are a refusing to honor a one night reservation even though their booking system accepted it and they have removed all references to a 2 night minimum from their website. Had this problem with another Cape May hotel that accepted a 2 night stay and then tried to force us to book 3 nights. Seems like a scam in the area. Got a nasty email that I would have to book Friday night too or couldn't come. Must be from the crazy owner referenced in other posts.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We've been going to the Colton for a few years now. It is a great location, beachfront, and the best view in all of New Jersey, the cove. Edie, and her staff are always accommodating and very pleasant. The owners have been doing a great job renovating the hotel, and swimming pool. We love it there, feel very much at home, and it's a great place to relax, sit on the beach, and watch the dolphins. You can park your car and walk everywhere.

Sue and Chas

Room Tip: If you're looking for a reasonable place to stay, in an excellent location, then this is the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Musty, old bedspreads, no attention to detail and the prices are sky high. When I made the reservation they said there would be absolutely no refunds and now I know why...if we could have we would have moved to another place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlovercocolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

OH, wow, where to start. We were not given the room that was promised. The lady in charge blamed the computer booking program as if it was not her responsibility. Refused to offer discount, even though the room could not fit the planned number in our party. Got vicious and vile immediately and would not listen to any reason.
So, if all of this were not enough, the rooms were outdated and musty.
Do not go here!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Never coming back here. While the location is perfect and close to the beach, this inn was horrendous. Rooms were extremely old and outdated. TV was actually brand new but was mounted in a terrible spot. The TV was facing the bathroom and imposdible to see if you were in bed. They claim to have free wifi but the signal isnt strong enough to reach the rooms. I had to walk outside and go down to the pool just to get a signal. Also like I said before the owner is a crazy. She tried to water her plants with the hose but instead watered the guests' towels and clothes which were they drying on their balconies. She even intential sprayed the hose at a guest. When the guest complained she said, "I'm just trying to water my plants." As a frequent Cape May vacationer, I know for a fact there are better places. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed from July 20th till the 23rd. It is a good hotel if you are looking for a value. Great location. Room was clean. Only complaint is that the one of the two beds sagged in the middle. We had a breezeway room and the air conditioner was great. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissy0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#22 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#29 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#25 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Court Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Court Motor Inn

Property: Colton Court Motor Inn
Address: 105 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1303
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Colton Court Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Court Motor Hotel Cape May
Colton Court Hotel
Colton Court Motel
Colton Court Motor Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing