We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Angel of the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southern Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondale by the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Virginia Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcott(Cape May)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sea Crest Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
568
109
44
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
568
109
44
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseafternoon teabed and breakfastb bmy husband and inew ownershot entreesfree bicyclescrackersbeach towelsget awayshared balconyother guestschairs and umbrellasbaked goodsacross the streetocean view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
665 - 670 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Enjoyed 4 nights at this very charming, very Victorian B & B...and 4 days worth of tasty breakfasts, afternoon tea & sweets, and evening wine & cheese.
A fabulous location, 2 mansions in from the ocean, with ocean view from our room.
Complimentary bikes were a huge hit with our family, along with beach chairs/umbrellas/towels. Staff was pleasant, with suggestions/directions/restaurant reservations. Mary, especially, was personable, very friendly and helpful. Abundant porches, balconies and cozy seating in the "parlor" made for a relaxing environment. A/C worked well, our room was cozy, but not huge. Old fashioned claw foot tub was charming to look at, but could be a challenge for some, as could be the very steep set of stairs to 2nd floor. All in all, a great place I would return to.
-MJ & Co. from Chicago

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJ-Chicago57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

It is very difficult to believe that Angel of the Sea is rated so low on this site. I usually use trip advisor as my vacation "bible" and must say that some of the reviews appear to be from reviewers not familiar with a Bed and Breakfast experience. I too used to compare the experience to a resort or hotel experience. The experiences are polar opposite and should be considered as such. As always the innkeepers were warm and inviting. They were helpful in every way!
My husband and I spent our honeymoon there 9 and 1/2 years ago during a weekend in January. This was our first stay during the high summer season. We were not disappointed. First of all, for a romantic atmosphere, Angel of the Sea has it all. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the main town, BUT close enough to walk to it or take a 4 minute drive to the square and restaurants.
We loved that the beach was within the block and there were amazing ocean views from the porches and from our room...Room 12. The beach in front of the building is not crowded and this is a surprise this time of year.
They provided brand new comfortable beach chairs and beach towels and we were on the beautiful beach within a couple of minutes.
Other amenities include fresh coffee beginning at 7:00 AM...a full breakfast beginning at 8:00AM.....fresh baked brownies, cookies etc along with tea and coffee around 4:00 and wine and cheese from 5:30 to 7:00. I do not know of any other B&B's that provide all of these special treats. One recommendation would be to upgrade the cheese selection slightly. I appreciated the effort but I believe that a slight upgrade and a warm dip would really put the experience in a different category.
The rooms are obviously Victorian and have a very romantic and cozy feel. Do not expect modern amenities such as a large shower or modern sink. A fresh flower would add to the experience rather than an artificial one in fake water. The feel of the rooms truly bring you to another place and time. We are a couple who normally choose a hotel or resort, and reserve a Bed and Breakfast for a special quick romantic getaway.
Angel of the Sea has it all! We hope to return again for our anniversary in January! I do feel that they should provide something special for repeat guests...a small discount or chocolate and champagne on arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seashellbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This past weekend we spent the 2 nights at the Angel of the Sea. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this B & B. This was our 2nd visit in which we stayed in the same room...room 9 and it was just as perfect as the first time. The staff is wonderful, the accomodations are great, clean and just gorgeous and the food and snacks are wonderful. I would highly recommend this place to anyone lookin for a quient relaxing getaway. They provide beach towls, chairs and umbrellas and the gorgeous beach is just stps away. Along with bikes that you can take all around town. They are so helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations. If you have the opportunity you must visit the Angel of the Sea.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlm0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The welcome and overall service were excellent and the setting, whilst not waterfront, was quiet and relaxing. The food was also very good and the only negative was the maitre D, who is surely of German decendance - with possible links to the Third Reich.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldwidetraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our stay at the Inn was everything we desired. The breakfast was second to none. The afternoon tea and delicacies were sumptuous. The hospitality was one courtesy after another. Angel of the Sea gave us all we desired to share with our mother on her 80th birthday. The victorian charm of the rooms, the manicured beauty of the flower beds, and the night lighting of the inn gave us a memory to last a lifetime. We observed people drive up, stop, and take photos of the inn and then drive off. A 1/2 block walk to the beach couldn't have been more convenient. I read other reviews before we went... a couple with some negativity. They were misleading. Our visit was positive, restful, satisfying and memorable. Thank you, Lorie and all the staff.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews