We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but we won't go again”
Review of Angel of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angel of the Sea
Ranked #5 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My husband and I, until this trip, had no experience with B&Bs, but I would guess that Angel is one of the better ones. It is very well kept, but kind of on the pricey side. Our room was on the 3rd floor - 34 steep steps up and down. The room was small, but clean and nicely decorated (if you like Victorian). The bathroom had a clawfoot tub which was a bit difficult to get in and out of. The bed was somewhat uncomfortable for us. The room was surprisingly quiet. Would have liked a room with an ocean view but it wasn't available and probably cost more. We did get a "book one night, second night free" deal, but the odd thing about that was that our room rate was listed on the web page as $170/night and we were charged $270 for two nights. What happened to the free night? We should have asked.

We heard people rave about the breakfasts, but we were not impressed. Both mornings that we were there the food seemed underdone. Afternoon tea was nice - but, again, we weren't impressed with the goodies provided. Wine & cheese was good.

We enjoyed being a short walk from the beach and not too close to the shopping district. We used the bicycles that Angel provided to do a little riding in the area. They also provide beach chairs, umbrellas and towels in season.

We realize now that we do not care for the B&B type of accommodation, but I don't think that's the fault of Angel. There were quite a number of people there who said they have been coming back for many years. It was, in general, an older crowd, but that could have been due to the time of year (October). We were also not that impressed with Cape May.

Room Tip: If you have a hard time with stairs, don't take a 3rd floor room - maybe not even a 2nd floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meterman1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeloftheSea, Manager at Angel of the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

It is always nice to see a review from guests.I do appriciate the room tip they give as it true.The third floor rooms are a lot of stairs.We have first floor rooms( 9 )and some of those also have a walk in shower.
I do wish you had inquired about the package as it is 270.00 for both nights.It is a Package based on our summer rate and is listed on both our rate sheets and web site under packages.
Sorry to hear breakfast was a little disappointing and do wish we had a chance to improve the palitability of the meal during your time with us.
We understand a B&B is not everyones cup of tea but appriciate the nice review and opputunity you gave us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was our second trip to the angel we just checked out and was so sad to leave but we booked already for next year. We plan on making this the place to go for our wedding anniversaries. The room was beautiful and immaculately clean. The staff are some of the friendliest people we have ever met. This is the most accommodating place we have ever stayed. Breakfast was amazing with plenty of things on the buffett to try. High tea was great the pastries, cakes, and cookies were so great we had to purchase the Angel of the Sea cook book, and their coffee is some of the best my husband and I ever had. The whole experience was amazing. The porches have beautiful views of the ocean. When coming to the angel you can't help but to relax . We are a young couple but we can apppreciate the charm and everything the angel of the sea has to offer and would recommend to any one interested in staying here book the trip! You wont regret it and when you leave you will truly be sad to say good bye.

Room Tip: room 24 we had our first trip was a suite and beautiful with a fireplace. This trip we had room 15 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Our room had a very old air conditioner which was distracting when we tried to sleep after a long rainy ride to get there. The room looked delightful with the old quilt and the historical charm but upon closer observation in the morning cobwebs hanging in corner of the ceiling and dust covered toilet roll holder and vent in bathroom. We both have dust allergies so we do notice this things. In the daylight, I also saw how thread worn the sheets were.
They offered a very nice fruit and baked goods buffet but the hot dishes were disappointing to me. I am an excellent cook and have prepared the dishes offered at home myself better. The first day was either waffles or a baked egg dish. I tried the baked egg dish and was disappointed it was very dry and overcooked. On the second day, my ham with my french toast was crispy and overcooked.The french toast was something anyone can make at home, simply not spectacular.
For the prices charged, I wasn't pleased with the cost and what we received.

Room Tip: the second floor offers the best ocean view. There are no swimming pools or fitness centers availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quasimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeloftheSea, Manager at Angel of the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

I'm so glad you stopped to let me know of your concerns before you left.I only wish I had a chance to do something for you while you were still here.
We all sometimes forget to look up when cleaning or checking a room and this is one great reminder that dust can gather anywhere.I aploligized for the sheets when you left and the house keeper was horrified she had not caught them and pulled them from use.We all can do a little better job each and every day
Again we always look foreward to hearing from our guests and do wish we could take care of your concerns while you are our guest.Especially any concern during breakfast. We do take pride in our breakfasts, but every one has a diifferent idea of the perfectly made egg.This does let us know we always need to check each and every thing we do to try to get each person who comes through our door thrilled to have been here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Cape May in September and early October is just a lovely place -- beautiful beaches, great food, and no crowds.

The Angel is located very close to the beach and there are shared balconies that provide ocean views. The rooms are classic, elegant Victorian. The building is classic Victorian "gingerbread." The breakfast offered is certainly filling and the staff are very professional and courteous. Excellent mattress.

The inn offers a high tea; we missed this as it didn't work with our schedule but it is supposed to be very good.

There are things that could be improved and one item about which travelers must be aware.

(1) Use a credit card with trip insurance to book this stay. The hotel is completely rigid on its cancellation policies.
(2) Our room was dusty (of course, that's authentic Victorian, I suppose)
(3) Breakfast includes a fruit and baked items buffet (very good, especially the yogurt) and a choice between two hot main dishes (each day, one was very good and one was a "my lovely wife who is a great cook could do better")
(4) Window air conditioners are old and noisy
(5) Worn linens (we mentioned this to staff on leaving, so hopefully this will be addressed)

We expect to spend other shoulder season weekends in Cape May; we may return to the Angel or explore other options, just not sure.

Room Tip: Rooms are very different and have different prices; need to examine options online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chessplayer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We came to Cape May for the first time to celebrate our 9th anniversary. We had done our research online and chose the "Angel". We could not have been more delighted. The Inn, the staff; Chet, Mary, Ann Marie, Katrina and all the others are exceptional. The breakfasts are out of this world. The proximity to the ocean. The use of bicycles, towels, chairs at our disposal. And the porches. What a great spot to enjoy an evening cigar, sitting in a wicker rocker with the roar of the ocean nearby. We were totally relaxed and rejuvenated. We had booked a three night stay and loved the "Angel" so much we stayed a fourth night. We have stayed at many B&Bs in New England and the "Angel" was by far the BEST!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Our 4th visit to the Angel and it happened to be during Hurricane Irene. Had a mandatory evacuation and Angel personnel could not be more helpful. Had a most pleasant tme, as always, with Chet and Katrina being wonderful! Anyone who has not stayed at the Angel, please visit and you will just love it and keep going back year after year. Rooms are clean, (3 of us in a room with a day bed was spacious), amenities are fabulous and the staff is super friendly and family like atmmosphere. We will go back in late November to experience Christmas at Angel of the Sea this year. Do plan a vist and you will be most pleased!

Room Tip: The rooms with daybed are very spacious. We had room 4 and it was large with a great bathroom and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I feel as if any negative reviews were written by people who are not B&B people to begin with. My daughters and I stayed in #3 and it was clean, a good size for 3 people, and very comfortable. This room is on the 1st level and very quiet. There is a ground level ocean view, but we didn't really spend many daylight hours in the room anyhow. The beach is close and it was nice having umbrellas, towels, and chairs provided. The breakfast was excellent and there was something different each day of the 5 we were there. Afternoon tea is great with freshly made pastries and cookies. Then there is wine and and cheese which we took out on the porch while deciding what to do for dinner. It is a bit far from the town center, but that was an advantage for us. There is a shuttle that stops nearby; we did not use it but it is cheap and I believe the return fare is free if you show a receipt for anything purchased in town. Although the hotel was booked most nights we were there, it never felt crowded in the common areas such as the porch and living and dining rooms. As far as price-it is the shore at high season. Nothing decent is cheap. We have already reserved the room for next summer!

Room Tip: For couples, try to get a room with a balcony and ocean view on a higher floor. For 3 people get roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindamarie07825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#17 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Sea

Address: 5 Trenton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £84 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn located opposite the ocean. Your stay includes full breakfast service, afternoon tea service and evening wine and cheese service. We also offer free use of bicycles, beach towels, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Angel of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Of The Sea Hotel Cape May
Angel Of The Sea Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing