We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lace and angels on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Angel of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angel of the Sea
Ranked #5 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfair, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lace and angels on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

First time visit to Cape May so can't comment on other options but this was a delightful find with reasonable off season rates just beginning at the end of September. Room was small but pretty (but why so many pillows that necessarily end up on the floor?); pleasant and helpful staff and, with big breakfasts, tea and cake at 4 and wine and cheese at 5:30, one could almost skip outside meals although good local restaurants abound. Although one house separates this from the beach, all the wonderful porches and many bedrooms make one feel like it is almost beach front. Bicycles are free to borrow; the location is about a mile from the center of the old town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjspringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    93
    41
    23
    10
See reviews for
70
429
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My mother and I arrived and were greeted with a wonderful and informative welcome. Our room was nice, we had our own private entrance and porch. A little dusty and way over decorated with tacky furnishings. It was nice we were right at the beach, so great location! That afternoon we had small desserts and tea and then wine and cheese. We stayed 3 days. So, the breakfasts were very good. Two choices a pancake or waffle selection and then an egg dish. I had the eggs each morning, however very heavy on the cheese. The tea was good, but desserts were average and so was the evening cheese and wine. By our second day, the manager seemed grumpy and not so friendly anymore. it did become more crowded as our days progressed, but isn't that your job, dude?
I would recommend this B&B, but for a short visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was probably the fifth or sixth time we've stayed at the Angel of the Sea in Cape May, but the first time "in season" during the summer. We can't say enough about the hospitality, the beauty of the house and rooms as well as the food. It's always such a relaxing stay there. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that, for guests, they supply beach umbrellas, chairs and towels so we didn't have to bring any of that with us. As well, there's a huge outdoor shower to wash off the sand before you go inside. We will continue our annual stay at the Angel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassidy1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingswood, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This isn't a place where you feel welcome. The girls at the front desk were pleasant, but the Sunday breakfast waiter, who I think was the owner, was both abrupt and unfriendly.
The food was okay but the room was shabby, in particular, the bathroom. The room wasn't 't very clean either. Maybe that's ok for a budget hotel, but not for $275 a night.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had booked this for an overnight stay in July with relatives! It was very friendly and comfortable! I especially enjoyed the wine and cheese spread they offered! Quiet and just what we were looking for that night!

Room Tip: Higher floors off the main level from the porch area, room tended to be very bright all night due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Angel of the Sea is located across the street from a nice section of beach. Downtown Cape May is about an easy 20 - 25 minute walk. The hotel Is decorated in a Victorian/Angel theme, which might be a bit much for some.

Our room was quiet and comfortable. Maybe a little small. It came with a queen bed and an ocean view, for which we paid extra. Because the window opened on a porch where people walked or sat, our choice was view or privacy. We chose privacy.

There is WI-fi service and TV's in the guestrooms. As others have noted in their reviews, the TV in our room was small. This wasn't a problem for us.

Morning coffee was available in the lobby at 7:00 AM. If you want tea or decaf, you need to find someone, ask, and then wait. Breakfast consisted of a choice between an egg dish and waffles, pancakes, or French toast. All were good, but nothing special. Afternoon tea at 4:00 offered a nice selection of excellent cake, cookies, and other pastries. Wine and cheese was at 5:30. I don't drink, so I can't comment on the wines. The other guests seem to enjoy them.

Room Tip: There are great ocean views and ample seating on the porches. Paying extra for a view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeKinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

3rd trip to the Angel and never a disappointment...an excellent, relaxing and romantic trip as usual. This is one of the best b & b's i have ever been to and will continue to go back. The staff is wonderful, the rooms are cozy and clean and the outside decks are wonderfu. Room #9...is fabulous!!! 3rd time...same room...love it.

Room Tip: Room 9 is my favorite...8 is great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlm0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Sea

Property: Angel of the Sea
Address: 5 Trenton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2735
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn located opposite the ocean. Your stay includes full breakfast service, afternoon tea service and evening wine and cheese service. We also offer free use of bicycles, beach towels, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angel of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Of The Sea Hotel Cape May
Angel Of The Sea Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing